We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
On the Burning Edge Audiobook

On the Burning Edge: A Fateful Fire and the Men Who Fought It

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Sebastian Junger's The Perfect Storm and Robert Kurson's Shadow Divers comes a true and heartbreaking tale of courage, difficult decisions, and ultimate sacrifice. On the Burning Edge, by award-winning journalist and former wildland firefighter Kyle Dickman, is the definitive account of the Yarnell Hill Fire.

On June 28, 2013, a single bolt of lightning sparked an inferno that devoured more than 8,000 acres in Northern Arizona. Twenty elite firefighters - the Granite Mountain Hotshots - walked together into the blaze, tools in their hands and fire shelters on their hips. Only one of them walked out.

Dickman brings to the story a professional firefighter's understanding of how wildfires ignite, how they spread, and how they are fought. He understands hotshots and their culture: the pain and glory of a rough and vital job, the brotherly bonds born of dangerous work. Drawing on dozens of interviews with officials, families of the fallen, and the lone survivor, he describes in vivid detail what it's like to stand inside a raging fire - and shows how the increased population and decreased water supply of the American West guarantee that many more young men will step into harm's way in the coming years.

©2015 Kyle Dickman (P)2015 Random House Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (47 )
5 star
 (34)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.7 (41 )
5 star
 (31)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (42 )
5 star
 (30)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Eric 06-13-16
    Eric 06-13-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "being firefighter myself,this book hit my heart."

    Exceptional book, great insight to fighting wildland fires and how to become a hot shot.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Desiree May 04-29-16
    Desiree May 04-29-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Be on the fire line, and in their heads."
    Would you consider the audio edition of On the Burning Edge to be better than the print version?

    Although the technical information provided about the crew, fire equipment and field terms is easy to understand, reading the same at a study pace, and having a written outline (provided by the author of men, squads, fires, etc.) provided a better touch-stone. The audio version is "better" because the narrator, Will Damron, provides the emotion and sense of urgency that is the backbone of this story.


    What was the most compelling aspect of this narrative?

    Learning about the mens' lives, dreams, family and motivations.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    Favorite? Well, impressive and mind boggling. The telling of the Dude Fire. I couldn't believe what I was reading. I had no idea of the risk involved, and how the situations can change in the blink of an eye. They all train so hard to be ready. Ready. I cried.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    This book is based on actual events. The aftermath of any tragedy claiming human life, leaves those left behind empty at all levels of emotion and understanding. The eulogy read by Granite Mountain Firefighter Brendan McDonough is one of those moments.


    Any additional comments?

    Kyle Dickmans' book is well written, and very interesting. The language and tools of firefighting are made easy for anyone to understand. I enjoyed learning the history of wild land fire fighting and how it came to be in the fabric of our nation.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bro 03-24-16
    Bro 03-24-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Now what I expected"

    Went more into the before and less into the after. But all and all it was a good book. In my opinion, being a fire fighter, it had a couple technical flaws.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 01-07-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "a great book"
    What did you love best about On the Burning Edge?

    I was skeptical of this book. I didn't really care for the article in Outside that was it's beginning and I thought a whole book on the subject might turn out to be some Sebastian Younger style trash. However, I'm friends with the authors brother so I thought I had better check it out in for conversation sake. My skepticism was completely obliterated! This is such a well written book. It's a respectfully told story of a terrible tragedy, general fire fighting techniques and an interesting look into current forest management policy. The book find an exceptional balance covering a very tough subject.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.