We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
Fire Season: Field Notes from a Wilderness Lookout | [Philip Connors]

Fire Season: Field Notes from a Wilderness Lookout

In the tradition of Desert Solitaire and Shop Class as Soulcraft, this is a remarkable debut from a major new voice in American nonfiction—a meditation on nature and life, witnessed from the heights of one of the last fire-lookout towers in America.
Regular Price:$17.47
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Desert Solitaire and Shop Class as Soulcraft, this is a remarkable debut from a major new voice in American nonfiction—a meditation on nature and life, witnessed from the heights of one of the last fire-lookout towers in America.

For nearly a decade, Philip Connors has spent half of each year in a seven-by-seven foot fire-lookout tower, ten thousand feet above sea level in one of the most remote territories of New Mexico. One of the least developed parts of the country, the first region designated as an official wilderness area in the world, the section he tends is also one of the most fire-prone, suffering more than thirty thousand lightning strikes each year. Written with gusto, charm, and a sense of history, Fire Season captures the wonder and grandeur of this most unusual job and place: the eerie pleasure of solitude, the strange dance of communion and mistrust with its animal inhabitants, and the majesty, might, and beauty of untamed fire at its wildest.

Connors’ time up on the peak is filled with drama—there are fires large and small; spectacular midnight lightning storms and silent mornings awakening above the clouds; surprise encounters with long-distance hikers, smokejumpers, bobcats, black bears, and an abandoned, dying fawn.

Filled with Connors’ heartfelt reflections on our place in the wild, on other writers who have worked as lookouts—Jack Kerouac, Edward Abbey, Norman Maclean, Gary Snyder—and on the ongoing debate over whether fires should be suppressed or left to burn, Fire Season is a remarkable homage to the beauty of nature, the blessings of solitude, and the freedom of the independent spirit.

As Connors writes, “I’ve seen lunar eclipses and desert sandstorms and lightning that made my hair stand on end…I’ve watched deer and elk frolic in the meadow below me and pine trees explode in a blue ball of smoke. If there’s a better job anywhere on the planet, I’d like to know what it is.”

©2011 Philip Connors (P)2011 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What the Critics Say

“An excellent, informative, and delightful book.” (Annie Proulx, Pulitzer Prize–winning author)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.7 (29 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
3.8 (23 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.0 (23 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Gary M Texas 12-05-12
    Gary M Texas 12-05-12 Member Since 2012

    Rancher

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Could have been Awsome"
    Would you try another book from Philip Connors and/or Sean Runnette?

    Great opportunity for an experienced ranger lookout to delve into the details of 24 hour a day experiences in one of the most unique wilderness areas in the country. But no, this old boring wanna be hippie goes on and on slamming the very people who love the land and PAY for its conservation, ranchers and foresters!


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    Disapointment


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lynn BEAUMONT, TX, United States 09-21-11
    Lynn BEAUMONT, TX, United States 09-21-11 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    669
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    161
    144
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    373
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Meditation"

    Philip Connors left the Wall Street Journal as a reporter and worked for the Forest Service. In Fire Season: Field Notes from a Wilderness Lookout, Connors presents a meditation on what it is like to live such a life of solitude. Along the way, the reader learns about the Gila National Forest, land and wildlife policy, and what is like in the tower. The book is entertaining and informative, but it is more of a meditation than a reporter’s notebook. Readers will catch a “feel” for the emotional side of working the tower more than technical aspects of the work. The writing just drew me in and the prose caught my imagination right away. The reading of Sean Runnette is excellent.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Matthew United States 02-20-13
    Matthew United States 02-20-13 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    53
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "For What it's worth...."

    I think this book deserves more credit than some reviews give it. It's more than a meditation on solitude and its less of a political rant then people say. Phil Connors is not only descriptive enough to bring you into the Gila, but also gives some history and yes his political views. Whether you agree with them or not he's just stating his point and leaving it at that. The little musings are also interesting, everything from a high school graduates choice of beverage to Jack Kerouac and his smokes.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    George SANTA FE, NM, United States 12-02-12
    George SANTA FE, NM, United States 12-02-12 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    195
    145
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Solitude"
    Would you listen to Fire Season again? Why?

    Why listen again? It's done


    What was the most compelling aspect of this narrative?

    This was a good read that kept me listening to the audible book. I especially liked the 10 rules for lookouts and the three characteristics of a good one...including a love for solitude. I tired of the political discussion and some of the wildlife issues, but I suppose they will raise awareness among those who are not of the West. And, I liked his sense of humor, a necessary trait for that kind of work.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cole Maryville, TN, United States 01-02-12
    Cole Maryville, TN, United States 01-02-12 Member Since 2010

    I am a 34-year old litigator, father of three young sons. I listen to a lot of business books, suspense/thrillers, bios, and history.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Worth listening to, but not great."
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    How do you answer this?


    Would you recommend Fire Season to your friends? Why or why not?

    Probably not. Just isn't that interesting. If you are interested in the roles and history of fires, then it is a worthwhile read. If you just want the outdoor memoirs type book the are better works out there.


    What did you like about the performance? What did you dislike?

    Performance was not noteworthy one way or the other.


    Was Fire Season worth the listening time?

    Sound have been abridged to about 3:30. Probably not.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-5 of 5 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.