We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Code of the Street Audiobook

Code of the Street: Decency, Violence, and the Moral Life of the Inner City

Regular Price:$29.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Inner-city black America is often stereotyped as a place of random violence; in fact, violence in the inner city is regulated through an informal but well-known code of the street. How you dress, talk, and behave can have life-or-death consequences, with young people particularly at risk.

The most powerful force counteracting this code and its reign of terror is the strong, loving, decent family, and we meet many heroic figures in the course of this narrative. Unfortunately, the culture of the street thrives and often defeats decency because it controls public spaces, so that individuals with higher, better aspirations are often entangled in the code and its self-destructive behaviors.

Writing in the tradition of Jane Jacobs and William Julius Wilson, the author delineates the true workings of city streets. His most interesting characters are not the bullies and dealers, but the decent folks, young and old, who through entrepreneurship and creative self-help strategies are forging a viable alternative, an escape from the code of the street.

Winner of the Komarovsky Book Award, this incisive book examines the code as a response to the lack of jobs that pay a living wage, to the stigma of race, to rampant drug use, to alienation and lack of hope. An individual's safety and sense of worth are determined by the respect he commands in public - a deference frequently based on an implied threat of violence. Unfortunately, even those with higher aspirations can often become entangled in the code's self-destructive behaviors.

©1999 Elijah Anderson (P)2014 Audible Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (26 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.2 (25 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Story
3.5 (24 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    rg 08-14-16
    rg 08-14-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "a bit truthful but unnecessary "

    there was sum humor but still not sure y author wrote it or pe4son who shared it with me did so. def would nvr b attracted to it on my own& almost just stop lostening several times... reader has done other audiobooks ive listened to, this by far is his best read.

    some parts of book completely took new story line without notice at points where it seemed to become interesting. oneexample is: during the part where Dad was telling story of getting revenge on gang for killing his son.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rob 10-21-15
    Rob 10-21-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "ok book"

    i needed this book for a class. the narrator talked so slow i had to listen to it at double speed.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ricardo 04-09-15
    Ricardo 04-09-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome research"

    This really gives me a better understanding of life in some of the most impoverished communities. I teach in S.E. Washington D.C and this definitely helps me cope with the way students operate. Thank you so much Mr. Anderson, I am looking forward to more of your books.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Maria T. New Haven, CT 02-24-15
    Maria T. New Haven, CT 02-24-15 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    85
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Listen on double speed!"

    Not sure if this option is available on non-Apple devices but if you are a lucky user of iPhone or iPod, listen to this book on double speed (click on a little red "speed" line in the bottom right corner of your screen). Then it's perfect!!! The book is absolutely riveting, deep, and thought-provoking. Changes your views by adding new perspectives. Totally worth it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.