We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
23 Things They Don't Tell You about Capitalism | [Ha-Joon Chang]

23 Things They Don't Tell You about Capitalism

If you've wondered how we did not see the economic collapse coming, Ha-Joon Chang knows the answer: We didn't ask what they didn't tell us about capitalism. This is a lighthearted book with a serious purpose: to question the assumptions behind the dogma and sheer hype that the dominant school of neoliberal economists-the apostles of the freemarket-have spun since the Age of Reagan.
Regular Price:$24.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Thing 1: There is no such thing as the free market.
Thing 4: The washing machine has changed the world more than the Internet.
Thing 5: Assume the worst about people, and you get the worst.
Thing 13: Making rich people richer doesn't make the rest of us richer.

If you've wondered how we did not see the economic collapse coming, Ha-Joon Chang knows the answer: We didn't ask what they didn't tell us about capitalism. This is a lighthearted book with a serious purpose: to question the assumptions behind the dogma and sheer hype that the dominant school of neoliberal economists - the apostles of the freemarket - have spun since the Age of Reagan.

Chang, the author of the international best seller Bad Samaritans, is one of the world's most respected economists, a voice of sanity - and wit - in the tradition of John Kenneth Galbraith and Joseph Stiglitz.

23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism equips listeners with an understanding of how global capitalism works - and doesn't. In his final chapter, "How to Rebuild the World", Chang offers a vision of how we can shape capitalism to humane ends, instead of becoming slaves of the market.

Ha-Joon Chang teaches in the Faculty of Economics at the University of Cambridge. His books include the best-selling Bad Samaritans: The Myth of Free Trade and the Secret History of Capitalism. His Kicking Away the Ladder received the 2003 Myrdal Prize, and, in 2005, Chang was awarded the Leontief Prize for Advancing the Frontiers of Economic Thought.

©2011 Ha-Joon Chang (P)2011 Audible, Inc.

What the Critics Say

"Shaking Economics 101 assumptions to the core … Eminently accessible, with a clearly liberal (or at least anticonservative) bent, but with surprises along the way—for one, the thought that markets need to become less rather than more efficient." (Kirkus Reviews)

"An advocate of big, active government and capitalism as distinct from a free market, Chang presents an enlightening précis of modern economic thought - and all the places it's gone wrong, urging us to act in order to completely rebuild the world economy: 'This will make some readers uncomfortable... it is time to get uncomfortable.'" (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (575 )
5 star
 (222)
4 star
 (211)
3 star
 (90)
2 star
 (28)
1 star
 (24)
Overall
4.0 (433 )
5 star
 (173)
4 star
 (156)
3 star
 (62)
2 star
 (19)
1 star
 (23)
Story
4.1 (435 )
5 star
 (158)
4 star
 (177)
3 star
 (75)
2 star
 (17)
1 star
 (8)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Benjam!n 12-26-11
    Benjam!n 12-26-11 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very interesting and enlightening"
    What did you love best about 23 Things They Don't Tell You about Capitalism?

    A great informative book, that helped me see deeper into economics and policies. I saw it as a center of the isle view into what is going on.


    2 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Choon Seoul, Korea (South) 12-19-11
    Choon Seoul, Korea (South) 12-19-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wows and hmms"
    What did you love best about 23 Things They Don't Tell You about Capitalism?

    Gives you new insight on free market capitalism and as you read along you start to realize about the problems that lied underneath our current economic crisis isn't just a coincidence. Offers you new sight and viewpoints on current


    2 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    R.S. Saint-Laurent, Quebec, Canada 10-13-11
    R.S. Saint-Laurent, Quebec, Canada 10-13-11 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    76
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    279
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Lucid and Clear"

    This book is a lucid and clear disquisition on what goes for "free market" thinking. It examines 23 commonly expressed platitudes about economics and where they fail to explain economic and financial processes. It thereby provides interesting insights to the financial failures of 2008 and the present days. The reading matches the writing, making it difficult to put down. I now want to review the arguments on paper, as they are worthy of closer study.

    5 of 20 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mrs West Pymble, Australia 10-24-12
    Mrs West Pymble, Australia 10-24-12 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    68
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "23 Things .. I don't think so"
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    I might be a little impatient and I did start flicking through chapters at the end, I would recommend listening to the book but only the first 5 min of last 14 points. I have to say I did take away a few really good points and questions on process, and what I though some solid arguments for the points being raised. The book was detracted from however in the second half as the view for the justifications started to get less factual and more "evangelical" in my view.

    All in all I think a 4 star book if you do the "Abridged" version by listening to the first few chapters in full and then just the opening, as the reasoning becomes repetitive and the points less relevant.

    I listened to this and then "The Age of Turbulence" gave an interesting view into some of the comments.


    What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

    There were some great points raised that I think sparked the thought process and will continue to float in the back of my mind, especially when the discussion of "free markets", "wage control" etc arise.


    0 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    HeatherTwist 02-14-12 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Um, yeah, they don't tell you!"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I'd recommend it to anyone interested in economics. I don't personally read nonfiction much, nor do friends I know. This one though, is something people should hear.


    What was the most compelling aspect of this narrative?

    We've been getting a load of bull **** about what works for a thriving economy. The concepts here are really easy to understand, and make a lot more sense than most of what you've been hearing lately. It's not a manifesto for a welfare state, or for the disregulation of everything. Just a talk about


    Which character – as performed by Joe Barrett – was your favorite?

    There is only one character, the writer. I was surprised when, some hours into the book, I discovered the author is Korean. But the author is not the narrator: Joe Barrett does not sound at all Korean. However, Joe made it very easy to understand, which I appreciated.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    It would be a documentary, for sure.


    Any additional comments?

    All voters should read it.

    1 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robert Carrien 07-21-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    455
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very Informative!"

    This is a "Must Read!" Ha-Joon Chang points out some very interesting facts. If it would do any good I would propose that every member of congress read this book.

    3 of 24 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Hector DORAL, FL, United States 10-25-11
    Hector DORAL, FL, United States 10-25-11 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enlightening"

    From one idea to the next, Chang presented facts and reasoning that clarifies the mind from ideological propaganda. This is a MUST read for all interested in politics and economy.

    2 of 18 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Thomas Nedreberg Eureka, Utah 11-12-11
    Thomas Nedreberg Eureka, Utah 11-12-11 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    26
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    183
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Book!!"

    I really enjoyed this book. There were numbers, statistics, history, trends, and comparisons that were used to show their 23 points. It made sense.

    1 of 18 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 31-38 of 38 results PREVIOUS134NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.