We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Warlord Audiobook

Warlord: An Alex Hawke Thriller

Regular Price:$27.29
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Alex Hawke has all but given up on life. The British-American MI6 counterterrorism operative lost the woman he loved almost a year ago and has sought refuge at the bottom of a rum bottle ever since. But late one night at his home on Bermuda, he receives a wake-up call... literally.

His Royal Highness Prince Charles, an old friend, desperately needs his help. The prince has discovered a not-so-subtle threat directed toward the British royal family. What’s more, the evidence reveals an ominous connection to Charles’s godfather, Lord Mountbatten - the beloved family patriarch assassinated by an ingeniously designed bomb 30 years before. A shadowy figure from the past has the British crown in his sights, and has proven once before that his warnings are not to be taken lightly. Several clues point to IRA involvement, but the authorities have little to go on and answers are scarce. This is just the call to duty Hawke needs to get back into action - if the madman doesn’t strike first.

Take another thrill ride with Alex Hawke.

©2010 Brilliance Audio, Inc.

What the Critics Say

"Bell's fine sixth thriller featuring swashbuckling British spy Alex Hawke mixes action and suspense with just the right amount of humor and old-fashioned boys-book adventure." (Publishers Weekly)

“A James Bondish adventure brought up to date…. A meaty, entertaining thriller…just the thing for fans of Ludlum, Trevanian and Fleming.” (Kirkus Reviews)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (629 )
5 star
 (251)
4 star
 (212)
3 star
 (108)
2 star
 (32)
1 star
 (26)
Overall
4.0 (369 )
5 star
 (150)
4 star
 (125)
3 star
 (55)
2 star
 (28)
1 star
 (11)
Story
4.2 (373 )
5 star
 (179)
4 star
 (127)
3 star
 (50)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (8)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Concerned Reader Stamford, CT, USA 11-26-10
    Concerned Reader Stamford, CT, USA 11-26-10 Listener Since 2003

    Michael

    HELPFUL VOTES
    178
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    43
    33
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    "right wing bodice ripping cartoon epic"

    The book often devolves into a right wing vehicle used to rant about the greater fanatical Islamic conspiracy. The heroic cartoon characters are courageous and extremely well proportioned. Somehow Hawke, our thirty-eight year old hero has been everywhere and done everything even though some of those things are only possible with time travel given his youth. Think James Bond, the author did but Hawke falls short just as the prose would embarrass Ian Fleming. Stoke, a secondary character, was a medic in Vietnam and still in the prime of life circa 2009. In sum, if you can suspend disbelief, get past stock characters, sex scenes that border on comedic bodice rippers and right wing ranting, this book is for you.

    7 of 16 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rocky Centennial CO 12-20-11
    Rocky Centennial CO 12-20-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Book"

    I love the Alex Hawke series. These are great books. I can't wait until the next one.
    Ted Bell masterfully threads the needle between drama and intense action. This would make a really good movie.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael 03-07-11
    Michael 03-07-11 Listener Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    56
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "keeps the interest up"

    i liked the character and the story, much better than the Riley stuff, more believable, good ride, nothing challenging but will not disappoint on a long drive.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Emily 02-13-11
    Emily 02-13-11 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    206
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    309
    41
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    21
    4
    Overall
    "Author's unreasonable fear has ruined the series."

    With this book, Ted Bell has ruined what had been a mostly entertaining series. The other books, of course, have veins of right wing fanaticism running in them, but this book crosses the line. When he has Stokely take a prisoner into international waters just so he can torture him for information -- that's when I turned the book off. Save your money and turn on Fox news if you need a right wing fear fix.

    3 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    john Herndon, VA, United States 09-25-11
    john Herndon, VA, United States 09-25-11 Member Since 2001
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    488
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "So-so. Wouldn't recommend"

    Wouldn't recommend to a friend.

    Author seemed to tire and run out of creative "gas" with several parts of the book (rescue in the desert, etc.). The dialog of some characters, especially ethnic characters, lacked authenticity, depth and were cartoon-ish.

    Narrator's voice and characterizations for Afro-American (especially for the character Stokley) and other ethnic characters was remarkably poor.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nino Mohan 11-03-10
    Nino Mohan 11-03-10 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Narration was one of worst"

    Narration of this book was an absolute disaster. There is never been any book that I wanted to leave so many times right in the middle of some dramatic event in the book just because the narrators attempt at different accents were so poor. The greatest narrator of them all so far is Humphrey Bower and he makes every book come alive like a living play. Sorry with this one I wasted my precious credits.

    1 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Saikungbob 11-15-10
    Saikungbob 11-15-10

    saikungbob

    HELPFUL VOTES
    86
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    58
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "purely an airplane book!"

    I have several categories into which I slot audio books. One of those is "airplane books." These are fast-paced, keep-you-awake-during-a-trans-pacific-flight books. Well, this is one of those, it is fast and action packed. You really don't want to think about this book as it falls apart pretty quickly. And it's politics are well to the right of Attila the Hun and Dick Cheny (water-boarding is considered the most reliable of interrogation techniques. Every now and then the author puts words into the mouth of some character that you think just must be ironic. Alas, I don't think that Ted Bell can spell irony.

    Anyway, if you can just think of it as an over the top, swashbuckler, it is okay.

    2 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    P 11-11-10
    P 11-11-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Warlord Review"

    Really Good Read! Another exciting adventure with Alex Hawke and his friends......enjoyed this book on my MP3 player.

    0 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.