We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Warlord: An Alex Hawke Thriller | [Ted Bell]

Warlord: An Alex Hawke Thriller

Alex Hawke has all but given up on life. The British-American MI6 counterterrorism operative lost the woman he loved almost a year ago and has sought refuge at the bottom of a rum bottle ever since. But late one night at his home on Bermuda, he receives a wake-up call... literally. His Royal Highness Prince Charles, an old friend, desperately needs his help. The prince has discovered a not-so-subtle threat directed toward the British royal family.
Regular Price:$27.29
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Alex Hawke has all but given up on life. The British-American MI6 counterterrorism operative lost the woman he loved almost a year ago and has sought refuge at the bottom of a rum bottle ever since. But late one night at his home on Bermuda, he receives a wake-up call... literally.

His Royal Highness Prince Charles, an old friend, desperately needs his help. The prince has discovered a not-so-subtle threat directed toward the British royal family. What’s more, the evidence reveals an ominous connection to Charles’s godfather, Lord Mountbatten - the beloved family patriarch assassinated by an ingeniously designed bomb 30 years before. A shadowy figure from the past has the British crown in his sights, and has proven once before that his warnings are not to be taken lightly. Several clues point to IRA involvement, but the authorities have little to go on and answers are scarce. This is just the call to duty Hawke needs to get back into action - if the madman doesn’t strike first.

Take another thrill ride with Alex Hawke.

©2010 Brilliance Audio, Inc.

What the Critics Say

"Bell's fine sixth thriller featuring swashbuckling British spy Alex Hawke mixes action and suspense with just the right amount of humor and old-fashioned boys-book adventure." (Publishers Weekly)

“A James Bondish adventure brought up to date…. A meaty, entertaining thriller…just the thing for fans of Ludlum, Trevanian and Fleming.” (Kirkus Reviews)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (574 )
5 star
 (210)
4 star
 (201)
3 star
 (105)
2 star
 (32)
1 star
 (26)
Overall
3.9 (318 )
5 star
 (115)
4 star
 (114)
3 star
 (50)
2 star
 (28)
1 star
 (11)
Story
4.2 (320 )
5 star
 (141)
4 star
 (114)
3 star
 (48)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (8)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Rocky Amarillo, TX, United States 12-20-11
    Rocky Amarillo, TX, United States 12-20-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Book"

    I love the Alex Hawke series. These are great books. I can't wait until the next one.
    Ted Bell masterfully threads the needle between drama and intense action. This would make a really good movie.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael 03-07-11
    Michael 03-07-11 Listener Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    56
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "keeps the interest up"

    i liked the character and the story, much better than the Riley stuff, more believable, good ride, nothing challenging but will not disappoint on a long drive.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nino Mohan-Saini 11-03-10 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Narration was one of worst"

    Narration of this book was an absolute disaster. There is never been any book that I wanted to leave so many times right in the middle of some dramatic event in the book just because the narrators attempt at different accents were so poor. The greatest narrator of them all so far is Humphrey Bower and he makes every book come alive like a living play. Sorry with this one I wasted my precious credits.

    1 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Saikungbob Hong Kong 11-15-10
    Saikungbob Hong Kong 11-15-10 Member Since 2002

    saikungbob

    HELPFUL VOTES
    60
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    43
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "purely an airplane book!"

    I have several categories into which I slot audio books. One of those is "airplane books." These are fast-paced, keep-you-awake-during-a-trans-pacific-flight books. Well, this is one of those, it is fast and action packed. You really don't want to think about this book as it falls apart pretty quickly. And it's politics are well to the right of Attila the Hun and Dick Cheny (water-boarding is considered the most reliable of interrogation techniques. Every now and then the author puts words into the mouth of some character that you think just must be ironic. Alas, I don't think that Ted Bell can spell irony.

    Anyway, if you can just think of it as an over the top, swashbuckler, it is okay.

    2 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    P 11-11-10
    P 11-11-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Warlord Review"

    Really Good Read! Another exciting adventure with Alex Hawke and his friends......enjoyed this book on my MP3 player.

    0 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 21-25 of 25 results PREVIOUS123NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.