We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Warlord: An Alex Hawke Thriller | [Ted Bell]

Warlord: An Alex Hawke Thriller

Alex Hawke has all but given up on life. The British-American MI6 counterterrorism operative lost the woman he loved almost a year ago and has sought refuge at the bottom of a rum bottle ever since. But late one night at his home on Bermuda, he receives a wake-up call... literally. His Royal Highness Prince Charles, an old friend, desperately needs his help. The prince has discovered a not-so-subtle threat directed toward the British royal family.
Regular Price:$27.29
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Alex Hawke has all but given up on life. The British-American MI6 counterterrorism operative lost the woman he loved almost a year ago and has sought refuge at the bottom of a rum bottle ever since. But late one night at his home on Bermuda, he receives a wake-up call... literally.

His Royal Highness Prince Charles, an old friend, desperately needs his help. The prince has discovered a not-so-subtle threat directed toward the British royal family. What’s more, the evidence reveals an ominous connection to Charles’s godfather, Lord Mountbatten - the beloved family patriarch assassinated by an ingeniously designed bomb 30 years before. A shadowy figure from the past has the British crown in his sights, and has proven once before that his warnings are not to be taken lightly. Several clues point to IRA involvement, but the authorities have little to go on and answers are scarce. This is just the call to duty Hawke needs to get back into action - if the madman doesn’t strike first.

Take another thrill ride with Alex Hawke.

©2010 Brilliance Audio, Inc.

What the Critics Say

"Bell's fine sixth thriller featuring swashbuckling British spy Alex Hawke mixes action and suspense with just the right amount of humor and old-fashioned boys-book adventure." (Publishers Weekly)

“A James Bondish adventure brought up to date…. A meaty, entertaining thriller…just the thing for fans of Ludlum, Trevanian and Fleming.” (Kirkus Reviews)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (555 )
5 star
 (201)
4 star
 (196)
3 star
 (101)
2 star
 (31)
1 star
 (26)
Overall
3.9 (304 )
5 star
 (108)
4 star
 (110)
3 star
 (47)
2 star
 (28)
1 star
 (11)
Story
4.2 (305 )
5 star
 (134)
4 star
 (109)
3 star
 (45)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (8)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Sonja Hilton, South Africa 12-01-10
    Sonja Hilton, South Africa 12-01-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Light entertainment"

    I enjoyed listening to this novel. It was pure escapism, not the best plot I've ever heard, but still one that kept me interested. I thought the narration was very good, the accents exceptional, especially "Hawk" and "Stoke".

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David Hagerstown, MD, United States 08-22-12
    David Hagerstown, MD, United States 08-22-12 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unexpectedly Entertaining"
    What did you love best about Warlord?

    This is my first book by Ted Bell or the narrator John Shea. I had minimal expectations before beginning, but was immediately immersed into a great story by an excellent reader.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Warlord?

    Since this is very similar to the epic adventures on a great James Bond book, you can say there is a single moment. The twists and turns, different venues, and outrageous situations are all memorable.


    Have you listened to any of John Shea’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I have not listened to any of John Shea's work. However, half way through the book I did a search to find other works he has done. One of the best I have listened to so far.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    The book had some extreme action sequences and situations. I cannot believe that these books have not be good candidates for Hollywood action movies.


    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nino Newport Beach, CA, United States 11-03-10
    Nino Newport Beach, CA, United States 11-03-10 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Narration was one of worst"

    Narration of this book was an absolute disaster. There is never been any book that I wanted to leave so many times right in the middle of some dramatic event in the book just because the narrators attempt at different accents were so poor. The greatest narrator of them all so far is Humphrey Bower and he makes every book come alive like a living play. Sorry with this one I wasted my precious credits.

    1 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Saikungbob Hong Kong 11-15-10
    Saikungbob Hong Kong 11-15-10 Member Since 2002

    saikungbob

    HELPFUL VOTES
    60
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "purely an airplane book!"

    I have several categories into which I slot audio books. One of those is "airplane books." These are fast-paced, keep-you-awake-during-a-trans-pacific-flight books. Well, this is one of those, it is fast and action packed. You really don't want to think about this book as it falls apart pretty quickly. And it's politics are well to the right of Attila the Hun and Dick Cheny (water-boarding is considered the most reliable of interrogation techniques. Every now and then the author puts words into the mouth of some character that you think just must be ironic. Alas, I don't think that Ted Bell can spell irony.

    Anyway, if you can just think of it as an over the top, swashbuckler, it is okay.

    2 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    P Anniston, AL, United States 11-11-10
    P Anniston, AL, United States 11-11-10 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Warlord Review"

    Really Good Read! Another exciting adventure with Alex Hawke and his friends......enjoyed this book on my MP3 player.

    0 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 21-25 of 25 results PREVIOUS123NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.