We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Vanishing Point | [Patricia Wentworth]

Vanishing Point

Nothing much ever seemed to happen in the sleepy village of Hazel Green apart from the occasional tea party, spiced with local gossip. Until Maggie Bell went out one evening for a breath of fresh air and never came back. Could Maggie's disappearance be linked to security leaks at the nearby Air Ministry? Or is a sinister scheme being hatched closer to home? Miss Silver is called in to solve the mystery, just as a second person goes missing....
Regular Price:$18.85
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Nothing much ever seemed to happen in the sleepy village of Hazel Green apart from the occasional tea party, spiced with local gossip. Until Maggie Bell went out one evening for a breath of fresh air and never came back.

Could Maggie's disappearance be linked to security leaks at the nearby Air Ministry? Or is a sinister scheme being hatched closer to home? Miss Silver is called in to solve the mystery, just as a second person goes missing....

©1955 Patricia Wentworth (P)2012 Isis Publishing Ltd

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (68 )
5 star
 (36)
4 star
 (23)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.4 (58 )
5 star
 (32)
4 star
 (20)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.6 (59 )
5 star
 (42)
4 star
 (12)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Constance New York, NY, United States 09-21-12
    Constance New York, NY, United States 09-21-12 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    320
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    92
    68
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    79
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thoroughly Engrossing British Mystery"
    Any additional comments?

    For fans of Agatha Christie, Patricia Wentworth's classic British mysteries are a real find. Miss Silver is the retired governess turned private sleuth whose Victorian manners and morals are pure, proper, and good, and whose gimlet mind fastens vise-like on the telling details that explode the mystery. In this story, a wicked witch-like older woman terrorizes and bullies her young niece and the niece's little sister. Enter a strong, sensible, knight in shining armor and Miss Silver to put things right. The old fashioned charm of Wentworth's books is by no means sentimental or unintelligent; great word smithery is evident in each paragraph. This narrator was born to read these books--her tones and inflections are exactly right for the period and the atmosphere, and each character has a distinct, consistent voice. Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy.

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John L Knoxville, TN USA 08-25-12
    John L Knoxville, TN USA 08-25-12 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    47
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent Listen"
    If you could sum up Vanishing Point in three words, what would they be?

    Interesting characters (both good and bad!), romance, a good mystery.


    What does Diana Bishop bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    She gets the characters just right and brings the era to life. Very pleasant listen.


    Any additional comments?

    I love the way the romance was handled. You pulled for them, and I loved hating the "bad guy". Patricia Wentworth is an excellent writer. This book is very much along Agatha Christie lines. A terrific listen.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    lynda 04-22-13
    lynda 04-22-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Easy Listening"

    This was a most enjoyable book. It was easy listening - I listen in the car on the way to work. It made me chickle in bits. The reader is excellent. Well worth buying.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Frieda Smyrna, TN 37167 05-25-14
    Frieda Smyrna, TN 37167 05-25-14 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    48
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of Ms. Wentworth's Best!!"
    What made the experience of listening to Vanishing Point the most enjoyable?

    I have read most of Ms. Wentworth's books and can say with certainty this is one of her best. I would be hard pressed to say which one is the very best. This story is everything you want for a cozy mystery ... great characters, village life in England, the wicked Aunt, love intrigue and surprises as well. And Ms. Silver in her edgiest sleuthing. Don't miss this one.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-4 of 4 results
Sort by:
  • R
    BRISTOL, United Kingdom
    11/28/12
    Overall
    "A must for fans of Miss Silver"

    This is definitely one of the best Miss Silver mysteries. Less predictable than some of her books and a really solid plot. Whether you are new to the delights of Patricia Wentworth's work, or whether you are a seasoned Miss Silver fan, I would heartily recommend you give this one a go if you are in the market for a cosy murder mystery.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.