We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture Audiobook

Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture: A Novel of Mathematical Obsession

Regular Price:$14.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Fermat's Last Theorem and Einstein's Dreams, a novel about mathematical obsession.

Petros Papachristos devotes the early part of his life to trying to prove one of the greatest mathematical challenges of all time: Goldbach's Conjecture, the deceptively simple claim that every even number greater than two is the sum of two primes. Against a tableau of famous historical figures-among them G. H. Hardy, the self-taught Indian genius Srinivasa Ramanujan, and a young Kurt Godel-Petros works furiously to prove the notoriously difficult conjecture. Decades later, his ambitious young nephew drives the defeated mathematician back into the hunt to prove Goldbach's Conjecture...but at the cost of the old man's sanity, and perhaps even his life.

©1992, 2000, 2010 Apostolos Doxiadis (P)2012 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (19 )
5 star
 (11)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.3 (19 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.4 (19 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Avid Reader 10-01-15
    Avid Reader 10-01-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fascinating story"

    Well written and easily read (or maybe listened to), will keep you good company. One should not fear its mathematical "scent" as it just adds to the mystery.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.