We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Tuesday's Gone Audiobook

Tuesday's Gone: A Frieda Klein Novel, Book 2

Regular Price:$30.98
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Nicci French, the best-selling author of What to do When Someone Dies and Losing You, returns with the second book in the gripping new series that began with top-ten best seller Blue Monday. Fans of Peter James’ Roy Grace series and Peter Robinson’s DCI Banks series will love the central character, psychotherapist Frieda Klein, who is consulted on a grisly and seemingly unsolvable crime.

For Frieda the days get longer, the cases darker…. She thought she was done with the police. But once more DCI Karlsson is knocking at her door. A man’s decomposed body has been found in the flat of Michelle Doyce, a woman trapped in a world of strange mental disorder. The police don’t know who it is, how he got there, or what happened - and Michelle can’t tell them. But Karlsson hopes Frieda can get access to the truths buried beneath her confusion. Painstakingly, Frieda uncovers a possible identity for the corpse: Robert Poole, a jack of all trades and master conman. But the deeper Frieda and Karlsson dig into Poole’s past, the more of his victims they encounter - and the more motives they find for murder.

Meanwhile, violent ghosts from Frieda’s own past are returning to threaten her. Unable to discover quite who is telling the truth and who is lying, they know they are getting closer to a killer. But whoever murdered Poole is determined to stay free - and anyone that gets too close will meet the same fate.

A gritty heroine, a gruesome crime, and a terrifying hunt for a psychotic killer, Tuesday’s Gone is not to be missed by fans of psychological thrillers.

Nicci French is the pseudonym for Nicci Gerrard and Sean French. The couple live in Suffolk and have written 12 other best-selling novels, including Beneath the Skin and Blue Monday, the first thrilling instalment in the Frieda Klein series.

©2012 Nicci French (P)2012 Penguin Books Ltd

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (25 )
5 star
 (7)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
3.7 (24 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.0 (23 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Eva Claremont, Australia 12-01-12
    Eva Claremont, Australia 12-01-12 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "so well perfomed, makes up for a complicated story"
    What did you love best about Tuesday's Gone?

    I just love the way Nicci French describes the characters


    What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

    The relationship between the inspector and Frieda Klein


    Have you listened to any of Beth Chalmers’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I read Blue Monday and found her performance as brilliant as in Tuesday's gone.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I just couldn't stop listening


    Any additional comments?

    Such a meticulous description of live in London

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anet South Africa 10-08-12
    Anet South Africa 10-08-12 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Riveting"
    If you could sum up Tuesday's Gone in three words, what would they be?

    Riveting, engaging, empathic


    What does Beth Chalmers bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    She captures each character's personality perfectly. I could listen to her for hours! Her accents are also very convincing.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    But he's still out there


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anne Brisbane, Australia 08-23-12
    Anne Brisbane, Australia 08-23-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "* More Brilliance! *"

    Make sure you listen to Blue Monday before listening to this. That had me looking for more and I found Tuesday's Gone.

    I felt that some of this one was a little unrealistic in that Frieda Klein does a little too much of the police work. But that's the only negative to this story. Again, you're drawn into the story until the end. It has it's twists like Blue Monday. Characters with their distinct personalities.

    Beth Chalmers is an excellent narrator. She gives great expression, and the characters are differentiated very well. Nice smooth listening.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • jacks247
    9/2/12
    Overall
    "Painful and boring"

    The worst book I've downloaded, slow and far fetched... Have you ever heard of a mental Heath specialist who gets a call and goes immediately to help a stranger evn though he didn't want to? No, me either.... I'm giving up, just can't finish it. This is a first... I adore my books and usually choose wisely

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Jill
    Roermond, Netherlands
    8/15/12
    Overall
    "Grisly but enjoyable"

    A well-read book that is up to the standard that you expect from this duo. I presume the series format of the books has been chosen to allow them to develop characters more deeply than is possible in a one-off. I made the mistake of listening to this without having first read 'Blue Monday' (searched for it as an audio book, but it doesn't seem to be available - a bit odd!). With some series this doesn't matter too much, but you really do need to read these in correct order, or far too much is given away to make the earlier book enjoyable if you read it later. That aside, I enjoyed the story and the reading, and look forward to Wednesday!

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful
  • Lucy
    Ramsgate, United Kingdom
    7/21/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Quite enjoyable"

    I actually quite enjoyed this book - a bit sceptical after some of the other reviews but I have now listened to all in the series and did enjoy them all. The background follows through the books so probably best to read in order!

    Granted they weren't up to the Nesbo or Robotham standards in my eyes but I think Sean Barrett does an excellent job and personally I think he's a very hard narrator to match!

    All in all though a good series.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • S
    Swanley, United Kingdom
    8/26/12
    Overall
    "Had its moments, but not many."

    My opinion. The scenes and characters were not as well described as they could have been. Characters introduced were not done so very well and as a results left you forgetting them, and not knowing who was being referred to whenever they were mentioned later on. The plot was weak, and the story dragged out - you feel like you're listening to a real-time police enquiry, boring bits included. A different scene and character is described in brief at the beginning of some chapters, which means nothing at the time, and even when you discover what this is about, it's pointless - added nothing except confusion. There were a few parts to this book that were intriguing, but they were quickly over and ended with disappointment. The book didn't draw me in, and I didn't once wan't to keep listening - I just pushed though it. Overall 2 stars from me. I'd recommend The Hunger Games trilogy, Nobody True, and His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Patricia
    MORPETH, United Kingdom
    8/13/12
    Overall
    "When's Wednesday coming?"

    Loved it - great twist - followed on well from first book without too much going over stuff.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Mrs
    Truro, United Kingdom
    9/1/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "it's great when you find a good series"

    I happened upon one of this series and started listening, became hooked and now I am catching up with the previous ones that I missed. It's great the way some characters and themes are woven through the series, whilst allowing the individual books to also be read as self-contained stories. Good narration too. Length of books is ideal for long journeys or just immersing yourself over a period of days.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Tweedledum
    UK
    7/14/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A heady mix"

    I've become quite caught up with Frieda Klein and her maverick investigations. Klein begins this story being investigated or at any rate harangued for malpractice and ends up .... Well let's not give the story away. Psychology, counselling, police procedure, little nuggets of London's history surface as the novel twists and turns. Combine this with excellent narration... What's not to appreciate?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mr. P. Russell
    BFPO 47
    1/28/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A brilliant follow on"

    Great story. I loved the way it carried the story on from the first book. The narration is excellent. Easy listening.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Richard Burt
    9/23/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thoroughly enjoyable"
    What made the experience of listening to Tuesday's Gone the most enjoyable?

    The fact that I has read Monday's Child. It's essential!


    What aspect of Beth Chalmers’s performance might you have changed?

    The male voices all sound irritable...and much the same as each other.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • MISS
    OXFORD, United Kingdom
    9/17/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very enjoyable!"

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book, which is the second in a series. Good twists and turns that weren't obvious to me at all so it kept me guessing to the very end. Will definitely download #3.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.