We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Yard Audiobook

The Yard

Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only 12 detectives - known as “The Murder Squad” - to investigate thousands of murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. When Walter Day, the squad’s newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard’s first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley.
Regular Price:$24.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only 12 detectives - known as “The Murder Squad” - to investigate thousands of murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own... one of the 12....

When Walter Day, the squad’s newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard’s first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley. Together they track the killer, who clearly is not finished with The Murder Squad.... but why?

Filled with fascinating period detail, and real historical figures, this spectacular debut in a new series showcases the depravity of late Victorian London, the advent of criminology, and introduces a stunning new cast of characters sure to appeal to fans of The Sherlockian and The Alienist.

©2012 Alex Grecian (P)2012 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (1216 )
5 star
 (474)
4 star
 (487)
3 star
 (183)
2 star
 (35)
1 star
 (37)
Overall
4.1 (1086 )
5 star
 (426)
4 star
 (420)
3 star
 (174)
2 star
 (41)
1 star
 (25)
Story
4.3 (1086 )
5 star
 (553)
4 star
 (378)
3 star
 (110)
2 star
 (28)
1 star
 (17)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Rose 03-30-13
    Rose 03-30-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    83
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellant"
    What did you love best about The Yard?

    The story held your attention.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    I enjoyed all 3 of the main characters Day, Hammersmith and the Doctor


    What about Toby Leonard Moore’s performance did you like?

    A very good reader that brings the story mood and interest.


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Solange 06-13-12
    Solange 06-13-12

    Mixed media artist, drummer, and Audible listener - 863 titles and counting!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    131
    24
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great listen!"
    If you could sum up The Yard in three words, what would they be?

    Engaging, authentic, compelling


    What other book might you compare The Yard to and why?

    To some degree, the Anne Perry series set in a similar (maybe a bit later) era. This one was deeper, though, and really made you feel you were in at the start of a great series, and at the start of modern forensics.


    Which character – as performed by Toby Leonard Moore – was your favorite?

    The main guy, of course! Walter!


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Ahhhh....nothing! Very enjoyable listen. I like strong voices that handle different characters and accents well - male or female.


    Any additional comments?

    Hope to see more from this author!

    6 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Virginia Tucson, AZ 02-11-16
    Virginia Tucson, AZ 02-11-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    89
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    52
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Violent and dry"

    Just too many disturbing elements in this book to be enjoyable. I enjoy mysteries and detective stories, particularly those set in Victorian times. I am well aware of the dark side of that period of time in London. Still, the violence described here made me not want to finish the book. As I debated whether to go on, I realized I didn't care about most of the characters, with the exception of Highsmith. The author doesn't go into much detail about the personal aspects of the main characters; what they looked like, or anything that made me want to get to know them better. I can't think of a better word to describe the story but dry. Violent and dry. I am on chapter 32, so must be close to the end, but just do not want to go any further. That never happens!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Susan Iowa City, IA, United States 12-31-14
    Susan Iowa City, IA, United States 12-31-14 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    51
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    168
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    20
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wanted to like"

    I should have taken seriously a couple of reader comments but liking the era so much I thought surely it would work for me. It just did not. Some may be the narration which I found stolid and flat. Perhaps it was the pacing of the writing and story. What ever it was it just did not hold my interest. Also the time spent with the murder and his particular interests was just too grim for me.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ted Lancaster, PA, United States 05-03-14
    Ted Lancaster, PA, United States 05-03-14 Member Since 2010

    Don't know what I want to be when I grow up. Trip's cool though. Use Audible to make gym-training sane... And rip my imagination.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2022
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    438
    360
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    249
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Sense Of Puzzling Place… And Time"

    A police procedural just as police were emerging as professionals. Set in 1890s London smack at the Sherlockian moment… Alex Grecian creates a fascinating ensemble after a murky killer-of-cops. By combining emerging forensic sciences with dogged deductive police work, all with a supporting cast of culturally constrained characters who channel the action.. well the result's a fun read, um…. listen.

    And Toby Leonard Moore creates emotionally credible and distinct characters. I liked this enough to almost immediately download "The Black Country" so I could stay in this great place. Unfortunately, as you'll see from my review of the second book in this Scotland Yard Murder Squad series… That was not my best decision.

    Still, this book is worth the time… It's a true time machine.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Wildwood, MO, United States 09-24-12
    Amazon Customer Wildwood, MO, United States 09-24-12 Member Since 2010

    I love to read, fly and play tennis. I always have a book and an audible book going at the same time. I'm a mystery/thriller junky.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    51
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    74
    41
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What terrible times"

    I could hardly get through the beginning.....I knew there was a child involved, that bothered me a lot and I was immediately afraid. The atmosphere & period of time when this is set (late 1800's) was terrible. Jack the Ripper was still on everyone's mind. The conditions, the way the police handled evidence and the way citizens treated the police astonished me. How did they survive? How did they ever solve a crime. The story ran in 3 parts at least....the murder of police detectives, the constable and chimney sweep, and the boy all meshed together in a miraculous way that kept me on the edge throughout. It made me want to shake some sense into these people. It was real, gut wrenching, high anxiety "reading". It was always difficult to stop listening. Well worth it. Be prepared to be either amazed or appalled.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tom DOVER, PA, United States 08-09-12
    Tom DOVER, PA, United States 08-09-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    145
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very Very Poor Narration"

    Due to the narrator I can not rate the book/storyr. I have listened to many books the last couple years and this guy is absolutly the WORST. He reads a sentence pauses, then takes a very audible breath. This narrative stye carried on as far into the book as I could stand. His repetative cadence ruined what other wise started to feel like a good story.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kelli Mountain View, CA, United States 04-30-16
    Kelli Mountain View, CA, United States 04-30-16 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    151
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Suspenseful, but gruesome."

    This was a gripping book (occasionally predictable), but be warned that it is not for anyone with a weak stomach. I read a lot of mysteries and this is the first time I've seriously considered putting down an interesting story because of the gore. It's too the author's credit his descriptions are so powerful, but I don't think I can move forward with this series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lynne R. 04-23-16
    Lynne R. 04-23-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Quite thrilling"

    The reader is excellent and it was easy to know which character was speaking. The story is a bit to long and convoluted for my taste. I got confused with the subplots, but I suspect that is because I sometimes had to stop and start too often and in short sequences.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charles Clifton Park, NY, USA 04-18-16
    Charles Clifton Park, NY, USA 04-18-16 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good book but too long"

    Good story with all the pieces solved at the end but too long getting there. Trying to weave numerous plots together makes it disjointed especially if you cannot listen to the whole book at one sitting.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.