We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Yard Audiobook

The Yard

Regular Price:$24.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only 12 detectives - known as “The Murder Squad” - to investigate thousands of murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own... one of the 12....

When Walter Day, the squad’s newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard’s first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley. Together they track the killer, who clearly is not finished with The Murder Squad.... but why?

Filled with fascinating period detail, and real historical figures, this spectacular debut in a new series showcases the depravity of late Victorian London, the advent of criminology, and introduces a stunning new cast of characters sure to appeal to fans of The Sherlockian and The Alienist.

©2012 Alex Grecian (P)2012 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (1458 )
5 star
 (580)
4 star
 (574)
3 star
 (216)
2 star
 (48)
1 star
 (40)
Overall
4.1 (1302 )
5 star
 (520)
4 star
 (495)
3 star
 (208)
2 star
 (51)
1 star
 (28)
Story
4.3 (1303 )
5 star
 (697)
4 star
 (426)
3 star
 (129)
2 star
 (32)
1 star
 (19)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    A Reader from Somerville Somerville, MA USA 01-26-16
    A Reader from Somerville Somerville, MA USA 01-26-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Listen at 1.25x speed and this is a winner"
    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    Yes, the author did a great job of handling several narratives at once and pacing them well.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    At first, the narration made me crazy. The narrator pauses a little too long between paragraphs and it was enough to be noticeable and irritating. But listening at 1.25x speed solves the problem completely.


    Any additional comments?

    Great listen. I will be downloading more from this author.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rose 03-30-13
    Rose 03-30-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    93
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellant"
    What did you love best about The Yard?

    The story held your attention.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    I enjoyed all 3 of the main characters Day, Hammersmith and the Doctor


    What about Toby Leonard Moore’s performance did you like?

    A very good reader that brings the story mood and interest.


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Solange 06-13-12
    Solange 06-13-12

    Mixed media artist, drummer, and Audible listener - 863 titles and counting!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    138
    25
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great listen!"
    If you could sum up The Yard in three words, what would they be?

    Engaging, authentic, compelling


    What other book might you compare The Yard to and why?

    To some degree, the Anne Perry series set in a similar (maybe a bit later) era. This one was deeper, though, and really made you feel you were in at the start of a great series, and at the start of modern forensics.


    Which character – as performed by Toby Leonard Moore – was your favorite?

    The main guy, of course! Walter!


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Ahhhh....nothing! Very enjoyable listen. I like strong voices that handle different characters and accents well - male or female.


    Any additional comments?

    Hope to see more from this author!

    6 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    carina 07-06-16
    carina 07-06-16 Member Since 2010

    Retired teacher

    HELPFUL VOTES
    68
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    98
    83
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Gruesome Good Story"

    London was truly tough and grizzly in the 1800s. Crime was rampant, murders unsolved, no respect for police, morgues over crowded, child laborers and ridiculous medical practices. In spite of the horrors described in this book, the characters at the Yard seem real, doing their best in impossible situations. I appreciated their distinct personalities and began to pull for them in their investigations. The depth of the story was enjoyable enough to get me through the the gruesome parts. Worth the read.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    DebVan 05-29-16
    DebVan 05-29-16

    davan7

    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    280
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too anachronistic to really enjoy"

    The beginning of this story was quite promising, with an excellent narrator making up for what seemed at first like minor glitches, such as well-bred Victorians addressing servants and one another by their first names, and describing a London home as a "brownstone" of "golden bricks". That last leads me to suspect that the author has never been to London, and certainly never seen a brownstone. But I eventually found myself listening more for the next faux-pas than the next plot development, a decidedly bad sign. I so wanted to like this book, being in the mood for a new historical mystery series, but alas, it won't be this one. In addition to anachronisms, the plot became increasingly diffuse just when one least expected (or wanted) it to. I considered trying the second book of the series to see whether it might improve, but only if I can borrow it from the library, as I have better things on which to spend money or credits.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Virginia Tucson, AZ 02-11-16
    Virginia Tucson, AZ 02-11-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    93
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    58
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Violent and dry"

    Just too many disturbing elements in this book to be enjoyable. I enjoy mysteries and detective stories, particularly those set in Victorian times. I am well aware of the dark side of that period of time in London. Still, the violence described here made me not want to finish the book. As I debated whether to go on, I realized I didn't care about most of the characters, with the exception of Highsmith. The author doesn't go into much detail about the personal aspects of the main characters; what they looked like, or anything that made me want to get to know them better. I can't think of a better word to describe the story but dry. Violent and dry. I am on chapter 32, so must be close to the end, but just do not want to go any further. That never happens!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Susan Iowa City, IA, United States 12-31-14
    Susan Iowa City, IA, United States 12-31-14 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    55
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    195
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    20
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wanted to like"

    I should have taken seriously a couple of reader comments but liking the era so much I thought surely it would work for me. It just did not. Some may be the narration which I found stolid and flat. Perhaps it was the pacing of the writing and story. What ever it was it just did not hold my interest. Also the time spent with the murder and his particular interests was just too grim for me.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ted Lancaster, PA, United States 05-03-14
    Ted Lancaster, PA, United States 05-03-14 Member Since 2010

    Don't know what I want to be when I grow up. Trip's cool though. Use Audible to make gym-training sane... And rip my imagination.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2980
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    489
    408
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    308
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Sense Of Puzzling Place… And Time"

    A police procedural just as police were emerging as professionals. Set in 1890s London smack at the Sherlockian moment… Alex Grecian creates a fascinating ensemble after a murky killer-of-cops. By combining emerging forensic sciences with dogged deductive police work, all with a supporting cast of culturally constrained characters who channel the action.. well the result's a fun read, um…. listen.

    And Toby Leonard Moore creates emotionally credible and distinct characters. I liked this enough to almost immediately download "The Black Country" so I could stay in this great place. Unfortunately, as you'll see from my review of the second book in this Scotland Yard Murder Squad series… That was not my best decision.

    Still, this book is worth the time… It's a true time machine.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Wildwood, MO, United States 09-24-12
    Amazon Customer Wildwood, MO, United States 09-24-12 Member Since 2010

    I love to read, fly and play tennis. I always have a book and an audible book going at the same time. I'm a mystery/thriller junky.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    52
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    76
    43
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What terrible times"

    I could hardly get through the beginning.....I knew there was a child involved, that bothered me a lot and I was immediately afraid. The atmosphere & period of time when this is set (late 1800's) was terrible. Jack the Ripper was still on everyone's mind. The conditions, the way the police handled evidence and the way citizens treated the police astonished me. How did they survive? How did they ever solve a crime. The story ran in 3 parts at least....the murder of police detectives, the constable and chimney sweep, and the boy all meshed together in a miraculous way that kept me on the edge throughout. It made me want to shake some sense into these people. It was real, gut wrenching, high anxiety "reading". It was always difficult to stop listening. Well worth it. Be prepared to be either amazed or appalled.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tom DOVER, PA, United States 08-09-12
    Tom DOVER, PA, United States 08-09-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    145
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very Very Poor Narration"

    Due to the narrator I can not rate the book/storyr. I have listened to many books the last couple years and this guy is absolutly the WORST. He reads a sentence pauses, then takes a very audible breath. This narrative stye carried on as far into the book as I could stand. His repetative cadence ruined what other wise started to feel like a good story.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.