We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
The Yard | [Alex Grecian]

The Yard

Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only 12 detectives - known as “The Murder Squad” - to investigate thousands of murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. When Walter Day, the squad’s newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard’s first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley.
Regular Price:$24.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only 12 detectives - known as “The Murder Squad” - to investigate thousands of murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own... one of the 12....

When Walter Day, the squad’s newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard’s first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley. Together they track the killer, who clearly is not finished with The Murder Squad.... but why?

Filled with fascinating period detail, and real historical figures, this spectacular debut in a new series showcases the depravity of late Victorian London, the advent of criminology, and introduces a stunning new cast of characters sure to appeal to fans of The Sherlockian and The Alienist.

©2012 Alex Grecian (P)2012 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (848 )
5 star
 (312)
4 star
 (342)
3 star
 (140)
2 star
 (27)
1 star
 (27)
Overall
4.0 (747 )
5 star
 (277)
4 star
 (292)
3 star
 (129)
2 star
 (32)
1 star
 (17)
Story
4.2 (746 )
5 star
 (349)
4 star
 (274)
3 star
 (91)
2 star
 (21)
1 star
 (11)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Rose United States 03-30-13
    Rose United States 03-30-13 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    63
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellant"
    What did you love best about The Yard?

    The story held your attention.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    I enjoyed all 3 of the main characters Day, Hammersmith and the Doctor


    What about Toby Leonard Moore’s performance did you like?

    A very good reader that brings the story mood and interest.


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Susan Iowa City, IA, United States 12-31-14
    Susan Iowa City, IA, United States 12-31-14 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    147
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wanted to like"

    I should have taken seriously a couple of reader comments but liking the era so much I thought surely it would work for me. It just did not. Some may be the narration which I found stolid and flat. Perhaps it was the pacing of the writing and story. What ever it was it just did not hold my interest. Also the time spent with the murder and his particular interests was just too grim for me.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Wildwood, MO, United States 09-24-12
    Amazon Customer Wildwood, MO, United States 09-24-12 Member Since 2010

    I love to read, fly and play tennis. I always have a book and an audible book going at the same time. I'm a mystery/thriller junky.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    49
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    64
    36
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What terrible times"

    I could hardly get through the beginning.....I knew there was a child involved, that bothered me a lot and I was immediately afraid. The atmosphere & period of time when this is set (late 1800's) was terrible. Jack the Ripper was still on everyone's mind. The conditions, the way the police handled evidence and the way citizens treated the police astonished me. How did they survive? How did they ever solve a crime. The story ran in 3 parts at least....the murder of police detectives, the constable and chimney sweep, and the boy all meshed together in a miraculous way that kept me on the edge throughout. It made me want to shake some sense into these people. It was real, gut wrenching, high anxiety "reading". It was always difficult to stop listening. Well worth it. Be prepared to be either amazed or appalled.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tom DOVER, PA, United States 08-09-12
    Tom DOVER, PA, United States 08-09-12 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    137
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very Very Poor Narration"

    Due to the narrator I can not rate the book/storyr. I have listened to many books the last couple years and this guy is absolutly the WORST. He reads a sentence pauses, then takes a very audible breath. This narrative stye carried on as far into the book as I could stand. His repetative cadence ruined what other wise started to feel like a good story.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Marie Woodville, TX, United States 06-29-12
    Marie Woodville, TX, United States 06-29-12 Member Since 2013

    I love mysteries in the style of P.D. James, Rex Stout, Elizabeth Peters, Dave Duncan, etc. I love sci fi written by Issac Asimov (the robot books), Douglas Adams, Jack McDevitt (Alex Benedict series) and Susan Collins. I love fantasy written by Terry Pratchett, and Kim Harrison. I love Kate Morton. I don't like graphic descriptions of violence.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    394
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1154
    39
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    14
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Did not listen long"

    I stopped reading after 4 hours. Murdered children and mutilated women can quickly become too much for me. This is a dark and ugly world ??? no cozy mystery. I feared the worst at the beginning when the horribly scared face of a woman was described by a policeman as ???a bit fetching??? lending ???character.??? The scar was later described as ???began under Esme???s hair and ran diagonally across her forehead, jumped over her left eye and exploded in a starburst on her cheek before commencing down over her chin, her throat, and disappearing under the top of her ??? nightgown. The endpoint ??? was a crater where Esme???s left breast had once been.??? ???Fetching.??? Perhaps the author needs ???character.???

    9 of 17 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Inyokern, CA, United States 08-07-15
    Amazon Customer Inyokern, CA, United States 08-07-15 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    86
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "challenging"

    police procedural that shows the very human detectives trying to solve a difficult pair of cases in post ripper London. excellently well done

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mr-Gibs Columbus, OH 07-25-15
    Mr-Gibs Columbus, OH 07-25-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Coincidences galore"

    It's always a bad sign when a story requires amazing coincidences to work out - and this one piles them on top of each other until my eyes hurt from rolling so often. Too bad, because the premise and characters were pretty good. Hopefully the author will get better with more experience - I may check out the next one in the series before I give up entirely.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lindsay 07-16-15
    Lindsay 07-16-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    58
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I struggled with this one..."
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    So very many subplots that intertwined as if London was only 4 square miles assuring everyone would run into one another, thus making each subplot tangle up with another. Just a bit too much to tolerate at times.


    If you’ve listened to books by Alex Grecian before, how does this one compare?

    N/A


    Which scene was your favorite?

    None in particular


    Do you think The Yard needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    yes - fairly decent Yard characters.


    Any additional comments?

    I think the author needs to spend more time developing the main plot and it's subtle aspects and minimize the subplots. A side-bar now and again is nice, but there is too much competition for the listeners attention. I think the main characters from the Yard are well done and hold my interest, but the two whores were a complete waste of time and listening. I give it a B minus.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alcairha Brooklyn, NY 06-24-15
    Alcairha Brooklyn, NY 06-24-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    109
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    237
    61
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Scotland Yard in the Victorian Era"

    If you love Victorian era novels, then you will love this book! Tremendously atmospheric, populated by likable, believable characters and fast moving plot with highly satisfying ending- this story has it all. The depiction of the horrendous conditions of the poor and of many children in those times is not for the faint of heart, but it does make one appreciate the wealth of our current society and our social service network in spite of its failings. I had a bit of trouble with the narrator's habit of pausing after every sentence, but once I adjusted, I really liked him. His accent was perfect for the story and he managed to bring each of characters to life in their own way. Can't wait to listen to the next book in the series!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Julie Chicagoland Area 06-05-15
    Julie Chicagoland Area 06-05-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it!"

    I love the English Murder Squad book series genre - so I wasn't sure I'd like this style. But I loved it! This was really entertaining - and didn't get bogged down trying to explain the period in time. A little graphic - but I knew what I was getting into before I started listening. Good stuff!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.