We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Trap Audiobook

The Trap

Regular Price:$21.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In this twisted debut thriller, a reclusive author sets the perfect trap for her sister's murderer - but is he really the killer?

For 11 years, best-selling author Linda Conrads has mystified fans by never setting foot outside her home. Haunted by the unsolved murder of her younger sister - who she discovered in a pool of blood - and the face of the man she saw fleeing the scene, Linda's hermit existence helps her cope with debilitating anxiety. But the sanctity of her oasis is shattered when she sees her sister's murderer on television.

Hobbled by years of isolation, Linda resolves to use the plot of her next novel to lay an irresistible trap for the man. As the plan is set in motion and the past comes rushing back, Linda's memories - and her very sanity - are called into question. Is this man a heartless killer or merely a helpless victim?

©2016 Melanie Raabe (P)2016 Hachette Audio

What the Critics Say

"A fast, twisty read for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn." (Booklist)

"Intricately constructed...nicely done twists and turns." (Kirkus Reviews)

"A superb psychological thriller with a storyline that will have you hooked. Not suitable for sensitive constitutions." [AR (Spain)]

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (171 )
5 star
 (54)
4 star
 (55)
3 star
 (38)
2 star
 (16)
1 star
 (8)
Overall
3.7 (153 )
5 star
 (45)
4 star
 (51)
3 star
 (33)
2 star
 (16)
1 star
 (8)
Story
4.1 (153 )
5 star
 (69)
4 star
 (51)
3 star
 (22)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (4)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Kelly Colorado Springs 07-07-16
    Kelly Colorado Springs 07-07-16 Member Since 2016

    Reading allows me to travel through time; to visit the world's unique and stunning places. To become somebody I am not... It is glorious.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    188
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    243
    239
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    9
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Clever & Character-Driven, but No Empathy 4 Linda."

    My favorite stories are character-driven and this book certainly is. Unfortunately, though, Linda - the protagonist - doesn't inspire the kind of empathy and compassion that I should feel for a woman in her place. There was a time in my past when I struggled with severe panic attacks which made it impossible for me leave my home for a few weeks. That overwhelming fear of the outside world is something I can never forget. And, yet, Linda's fear isn't enough to trigger those memories or to arouse sympathy. The book tells us of her many years of self-imposed house-arrest but it doesn't show us the emotions behind it. I heard the story without feeling it. I fully expected for this story to make me think and feel long after it ended. Instead I was ready to end the book a full three chapters before it ended. So the best I can give it is 2 stars.

    Julie Teal does a decent job with what she is given. She voices Linda and Lenson with such differences that there is never any confusion about who is speaking. I am not able to say that she voices the fear and anxiety well enough -- but I believe that is more about the words on the page than on her ability to voice the feelings.

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rachel 07-14-16
    Rachel 07-14-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Entertaining Read"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    The story inside the story as a way to let us know what happened was well done!


    What did you like best about this story?

    The way the story was laid out made it clear that something would be revealed about the murder, but the suspense was done in a way that you were never quite sure how it would play out!


    Any additional comments?

    Like the main character who authored a different kind of book in the story, this novel was a different kind of story than I normally listen to. It was entertaining and I kept wanting to go back to it - not like the edge of my seat suspense, but just entertaining to listen to and the overall story development.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Debbie De Georgia 09-10-16
    Debbie De Georgia 09-10-16

    Author DeAnn DeVille

    HELPFUL VOTES
    59
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    65
    37
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Forever Going Maze"

    I struggled to finish this novel
    It definitely had too many highs and lows.
    The am I crazy as a bat or smart as a cat ?
    Really come on ? I was feeling trapped listening to this.
    ..Good Try but pass by the trap I'd rather read something from Dr. Seuss?
    The Narrator's voice is the only thing that pulled me to the end of the novel.
    If I didn't turn books back in so much that are horrible. .......
    I would have turned it back in for my credit
    however to be fair I did finish the entire book thanks to the narrator not to the writer.
    Author DeAnn DeVille review.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ethna M. O'Shea 07-31-16

    bookworm

    HELPFUL VOTES
    32
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    84
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I felt trapped"

    Narration seemed to be too melodramatic at times. Very repetitive dialog. Very disappointed. Want my credit back!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dr. William J. Kass Albuquerque, NM USA 07-24-16
    Dr. William J. Kass Albuquerque, NM USA 07-24-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    51
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "a bit overwrought for my taste"
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    No. I prefer a direct, simple writing style. This seemed to me to be unnecessarily convoluted.


    Would you be willing to try another book from Melanie Raabe and Imogen Taylor - translator ? Why or why not?

    No. The translator seems fine. The writing, as I said, was not my cup of tea. I found myself fast forwarding through whole chapters. I never developed any feelings but annoyance toward any of the characters except the fictional police detective.


    Have you listened to any of Julie Teal’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    Not that I am aware of. She seemed a talented performer.


    Did The Trap inspire you to do anything?

    No


    Any additional comments?

    None

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Booking in GA Georgia, USA 07-23-16
    Booking in GA Georgia, USA 07-23-16 Listener Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interminable"

    I thought it would never end. Could have been half the length. Needed an actual editor.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Noah Ringle, WI, United States 07-19-16
    Noah Ringle, WI, United States 07-19-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fairly weak for a suspense novel."

    Starts slow and pretty much stays that way. Character depth outside of the main character was well below expectations. I wouldn't recommend it over all. This one fits into the bottom 25% of books I've listened to on audible.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    EBONEE WINDSOR MILL, MD, United States 07-11-16
    EBONEE WINDSOR MILL, MD, United States 07-11-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "could have been longer"

    the story line was good but could have Been dragged out longer. the second part was rushed out . great performance tho.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Daniel Riviera Beach, Fl, United States 07-09-16
    Daniel Riviera Beach, Fl, United States 07-09-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    48
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    626
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book"
    Any additional comments?

    I was not sure if if I was gonna like this book.To my surprise I did enjoy it very much great storyline .Julie Teal was a good narrator .First novel by the German author I can not wait to see where will she go whit her next novel. perfect Summer novel .

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    john johnson 07-08-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Whew"

    What a ride! This well written well presented book is everything I love about books.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.