We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Third Option Audiobook

The Third Option: Mitch Rapp Series

Regular Price:$28.30
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

CIA counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp falls prey to government forces with an agenda of their own after Dr. Irene Kennedy is named the successor to dying CIA Director Thomas Stansfield—a choice that enrages many inside the world’s most powerful intelligence agency. Her detractors will resort to extreme measures to prevent her from taking the reins—which makes Rapp an expendable asset. But Mitch Rapp is no one’s pawn, and he will stop at nothing to find out who has set him up.

Hear Mitch Rapp, the CIA's top operative, battle global terrorism in more of Vince Flynn's political thrillers.

©2011 Vince Flynn (P)2011 Simon & Schuster

What the Critics Say

"Flynn hits his stride in this thriller about high-end Washington politics...[he] has an exciting, Ludlum-like series going here." (Booklist)

"Flynn's latest thriller...is an old-school spy story...updated with heavy helpings of international intrigue and domestic politicking and betrayal." (Library Journal)

"Fans of Ludlum and Clancy will want to check it out.' (Pioneer Press)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (4256 )
5 star
 (2557)
4 star
 (1327)
3 star
 (296)
2 star
 (45)
1 star
 (31)
Overall
4.5 (3666 )
5 star
 (2315)
4 star
 (1068)
3 star
 (239)
2 star
 (30)
1 star
 (14)
Story
4.4 (3687 )
5 star
 (2102)
4 star
 (1077)
3 star
 (348)
2 star
 (99)
1 star
 (61)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    steve wilcox 04-08-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "1/2 a story!"

    This is a great start of a story but it's like a TV series. The author has clear designs on making this a two or more book series. That's fine but that should be indicated prior to buying the book. I feel cheated. Bo Hiss Mr Flynn just handed me a "Mickey Flynn" and you know it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 03-01-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Flynn is the best"

    I intend to read all of the rest of the Flynn series I wish he was still here to create some more great stories

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. Brown NEWPORT NEWS, VA, US 03-01-16
    J. Brown NEWPORT NEWS, VA, US 03-01-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    "book leaves you hanging with no end."

    the book leaves you with no ending and all of a sudden it's a great book but no ending

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ali 02-17-16
    Ali 02-17-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointed"

    The over all plot was fun and a good pace. But the swearing was unnecessary!!!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mark 02-04-16
    Mark 02-04-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Weakest Flynn so far but still good"

    This was the weakest of the Flynn books I've read so far (in chronological story order) but it was still very good.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    bill berezowitz 01-31-16 Member Since 2009
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wish Armand Schultz would have read this"
    This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

    I bought the unabridged version before listening to Transfer of Power - Nick Sullivan is NOT the voice to use for Mitch Rapp. Although the end of book left you hang... just getting to the end is a painful process when listening to someone who cannot convey the intensity of what these stories need. GET ARMAND TO DO ALL YOUR UNABRIDGED WORK!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Laura Brown 01-27-16
    Laura Brown 01-27-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This book continues a great spy series."
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Third Option to be better than the print version?

    Never read the print version but I definitely love the audiobook.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Third Option?

    The ending was to me the most memorable part of the book because it was not really an ending.


    Have you listened to any of Nick Sullivan’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No I have not listened to another one of his audios but he did a good job.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    It kept me on the edge of my seat and also frustrated me at times because of how the action was played out. That frustration or anxiousness was a good thing!


    Any additional comments?

    Yes, for the mere fact that you don't expect the ending.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dana 01-25-16
    Dana 01-25-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    46
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    225
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Distracting narration"

    This narrator distracted from the story- incorrect pronunciation of 2 names and a few of his "voices" were very annoying.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    SJ 01-25-16
    SJ 01-25-16 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    48
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "No ending???"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I enjoy Mitch Rapp but this had no ending. Obviously it is transitioning into the next book, but there could have been a better ending.


    Did the narration match the pace of the story?

    Don't care too much for this narrator.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Scott Coulter 01-24-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great as usual"

    Not my favorite of the Rapp series but still very entertaining. I prefer Guidall but I thought the narrator did a good job.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.