We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Third Option Audiobook

The Third Option: Mitch Rapp Series

Regular Price:$28.30
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

CIA counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp falls prey to government forces with an agenda of their own after Dr. Irene Kennedy is named the successor to dying CIA Director Thomas Stansfield—a choice that enrages many inside the world’s most powerful intelligence agency. Her detractors will resort to extreme measures to prevent her from taking the reins—which makes Rapp an expendable asset. But Mitch Rapp is no one’s pawn, and he will stop at nothing to find out who has set him up.

Hear Mitch Rapp, the CIA's top operative, battle global terrorism in more of Vince Flynn's political thrillers.

©2011 Vince Flynn (P)2011 Simon & Schuster

What the Critics Say

"Flynn hits his stride in this thriller about high-end Washington politics...[he] has an exciting, Ludlum-like series going here." (Booklist)

"Flynn's latest thriller...is an old-school spy story...updated with heavy helpings of international intrigue and domestic politicking and betrayal." (Library Journal)

"Fans of Ludlum and Clancy will want to check it out.' (Pioneer Press)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (4824 )
5 star
 (2939)
4 star
 (1472)
3 star
 (330)
2 star
 (50)
1 star
 (33)
Overall
4.5 (4181 )
5 star
 (2664)
4 star
 (1191)
3 star
 (275)
2 star
 (37)
1 star
 (14)
Story
4.4 (4206 )
5 star
 (2422)
4 star
 (1207)
3 star
 (393)
2 star
 (115)
1 star
 (69)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Ziia1 07-17-16
    Ziia1 07-17-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    60
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thanks Vince flynn"

    Great reading by Nick enjoyed the story I'm ready to move on to the next book

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dennis United States 07-05-16
    Dennis United States 07-05-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    91
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    82
    47
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Really disappointing, bad ending !"

    I have read or listened to most of the Mitch Rapp series and enjoyed all but this one. Too predictable and the ending is really disappointing. Cannot recommend this one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 07-02-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    52
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Another Great Book"

    Love this book, it was so good I immediately ordered the next book in the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    g e l 06-27-16
    g e l 06-27-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    40
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Left Hanging"

    Loved how the story started, intriguing details and a quick surprise. But, then the build up to a .... dropped ending, where we are left holding for an ending. Nuts!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cyndi Torres 06-17-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love Mitch"

    Great story. Can't wait for next book in series. Love the reader. Great story. Great!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sean C. Smith Milwaukee, WI 06-09-16
    Sean C. Smith Milwaukee, WI 06-09-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent Story & Suspense! "

    Another kick ass Mitch Rapp book by Flynn. Can't wait to start the next one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    doug 06-02-16
    doug 06-02-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    93
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good listen, doesn't end"

    if you don't plan on getting the next in the series, don't get this one. it's s really good story, but unlike the previous ones, it does not have any resolutions.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    A User Magnolia, NJ, United States 05-30-16
    A User Magnolia, NJ, United States 05-30-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One bad listen"

    I love Vince Flynn (RIP). I loved all the books. In the series's except this one. I gave it 3 stars because of Flynn and Rapp. I listened to all the other bulks before this one. I only read it because I was joesin for more Rapp however there was noooooo character development. It's like all the characters were thrown in a blender and they came out with no identity. Do not read this first it may sour you away from a great series. Leave it for last

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    alxhllr 05-25-16
    alxhllr 05-25-16 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can't stand narrator"

    Bad Midwest accents, mispronounced words, awkward story-interrupting pauses. Just plain bad, especially compared to George Guidall who has read other books in this series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Trudy Owens Orem, UT, US 05-20-16
    Trudy Owens Orem, UT, US 05-20-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    431
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    288
    250
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    17
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "by itself--meh; for continuity of story--okay"

    This is more about Washington politics than Rapp's special talents. It really describes how you can never know when you will be on the other end of the hit list. And it ends on a cliff-hanger, so isn't very satisfying as a stand-alone book. However, if you are into this series, then you need this just for continuity. And I don't know where the years went. Rapp was in Europe in love with Greta, then here's Rapp with 10 years under his belt, and no more mention of Greta. It's all about the reporter from the Olympus White House Has Fallen Down previous book. Feels as if there were about 3 books missing.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.