We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Third Option Audiobook
The Third Option
Written by: 
Vince Flynn
Narrated by: 
Nick Sullivan
The Third Option Audiobook

The Third Option: Mitch Rapp Series

Regular Price:$28.30
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

CIA counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp falls prey to government forces with an agenda of their own after Dr. Irene Kennedy is named the successor to dying CIA Director Thomas Stansfield—a choice that enrages many inside the world’s most powerful intelligence agency. Her detractors will resort to extreme measures to prevent her from taking the reins—which makes Rapp an expendable asset. But Mitch Rapp is no one’s pawn, and he will stop at nothing to find out who has set him up.

Hear Mitch Rapp, the CIA's top operative, battle global terrorism in more of Vince Flynn's political thrillers.

©2011 Vince Flynn (P)2011 Simon & Schuster

What the Critics Say

"Flynn hits his stride in this thriller about high-end Washington politics...[he] has an exciting, Ludlum-like series going here." (Booklist)

"Flynn's latest thriller...is an old-school spy story...updated with heavy helpings of international intrigue and domestic politicking and betrayal." (Library Journal)

"Fans of Ludlum and Clancy will want to check it out.' (Pioneer Press)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (4048 )
5 star
 (2424)
4 star
 (1268)
3 star
 (283)
2 star
 (43)
1 star
 (30)
Overall
4.5 (3471 )
5 star
 (2187)
4 star
 (1018)
3 star
 (224)
2 star
 (27)
1 star
 (15)
Story
4.4 (3491 )
5 star
 (1973)
4 star
 (1035)
3 star
 (330)
2 star
 (95)
1 star
 (58)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Dana 01-25-16
    Dana 01-25-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    46
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    203
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Distracting narration"

    This narrator distracted from the story- incorrect pronunciation of 2 names and a few of his "voices" were very annoying.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    SJ 01-25-16
    SJ 01-25-16 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    48
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "No ending???"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I enjoy Mitch Rapp but this had no ending. Obviously it is transitioning into the next book, but there could have been a better ending.


    Did the narration match the pace of the story?

    Don't care too much for this narrator.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Scott Coulter 01-24-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great as usual"

    Not my favorite of the Rapp series but still very entertaining. I prefer Guidall but I thought the narrator did a good job.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robert D. Hively California 01-10-16
    Robert D. Hively California 01-10-16 Member Since 2016

    Fun times in Costa Rica. Eco tour and learned so much. Oversees Adventure Travel is the way to go if you want to visit somewhere

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    126
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nicely done."
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Great twist by the author.Had me going huh? What? at the end. Well done Vince RIP


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Experienced and Learning Daily!!!! Lebanon, TN, US 01-06-16
    Experienced and Learning Daily!!!! Lebanon, TN, US 01-06-16 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    55
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Great book regardless of who ever read it to uus"

    Exciting with international travel, bad guys revealed and colorful characters. Some killed. Some spared. The nucleus of favorite characters remain. All narrators are similar so stop fussing the reading of such great words of great writing/spoken word

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Linda United States 12-28-15
    Linda United States 12-28-15 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    1
    Overall
    "Vince Flynn"

    Love Vince Flynn's Mitch Rapp series. This is my third time to listen to them. Never get tired of them.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kathy Peterson Torrance, CA USA 12-09-15
    Kathy Peterson Torrance, CA USA 12-09-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story."

    I always like Vince Flynn's books. However, this was a different reader and sometimes I couldn't tell who was talking because the reader didn't have enough change in the voices. I enjoyed the other reader more.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sandra 11-27-15
    Sandra 11-27-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Rapp is the best"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Absolutely and have recommended series to all my "listening" friends.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Flynn's characters are well balanced.


    Did the narration match the pace of the story?

    Sullivan does a very nice job. However, Guidall is my favorite


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Much to my embarrassment find myself talking to the characters while listening no matter the surroundings. People have actually responded "beg your pardon" or "you're talking to yourself again."


    Any additional comments?

    On to the next title.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Terry 11-05-15
    Terry 11-05-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not as good as the first couple of books"

    I personally don't like this narrator, and the book is a lot slower than the others with no real ending just a... At the end

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jennifer Johnson 10-21-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Horrible narration for 12 hours"

    I love Vince Flynn but Nick Sullivan is horrible. He sounds so bored and literally put me to sleep. Listening to him was truly painful... Great book, amazing story, please get a new narrator!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Amazon Customer
    LONDON, United Kingdom
    1/7/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Third Option"

    I read this book back in the early 2000's and enjoyed it then. I have just purchased the audio version and have again found the characters engaging, the story intriguing and the political infighting very disturbing!

    If you are new to Vince Flynn read the books in order. He is a writer who will be missed.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • B
    6/19/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thoroughly entertaining"

    Loved this book. Clever "political" thriller revolving around the secretive world of the CIA and the protection of "the Land of The Free". While dirty deeds and treachery are the corner stones of the "Intelligence" world there is a clear distinction made between the " baddies and the good guys" . A thoroughly entertaining yarn not as cerebrally challenging as a John le Carre but more substantial, believable and rewarding than a typical James Bond.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • gunner548
    1/30/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not bad!"

    A little too intricate in the upper levels of Washington and not enough Mitch Rapp action! Still a good story though!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Lotus
    PERTH, United Kingdom
    3/11/13
    Overall
    "Another great Mitch adventure"

    Another fast pace adventure for Mitch, found myself driving the long way home just to be in the car longer.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.