We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
The Third Option: Mitch Rapp Series | [Vince Flynn]

The Third Option: Mitch Rapp Series

CIA counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp falls prey to government forces with an agenda of their own after Dr. Irene Kennedy is named the successor to dying CIA Director Thomas Stansfield—a choice that enrages many inside the world’s most powerful intelligence agency. Her detractors will resort to extreme measures to prevent her from taking the reins—which makes Rapp an expendable asset. But Mitch Rapp is no one’s pawn, and he will stop at nothing to find out who has set him up.
Regular Price:$28.30
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

CIA counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp falls prey to government forces with an agenda of their own after Dr. Irene Kennedy is named the successor to dying CIA Director Thomas Stansfield—a choice that enrages many inside the world’s most powerful intelligence agency. Her detractors will resort to extreme measures to prevent her from taking the reins—which makes Rapp an expendable asset. But Mitch Rapp is no one’s pawn, and he will stop at nothing to find out who has set him up.

Hear Mitch Rapp, the CIA's top operative, battle global terrorism in more of Vince Flynn's political thrillers.

©2011 Vince Flynn (P)2011 Simon & Schuster

What the Critics Say

"Flynn hits his stride in this thriller about high-end Washington politics...[he] has an exciting, Ludlum-like series going here." (Booklist)

"Flynn's latest thriller...is an old-school spy story...updated with heavy helpings of international intrigue and domestic politicking and betrayal." (Library Journal)

"Fans of Ludlum and Clancy will want to check it out.' (Pioneer Press)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (2622 )
5 star
 (1507)
4 star
 (858)
3 star
 (195)
2 star
 (37)
1 star
 (25)
Overall
4.5 (2184 )
5 star
 (1348)
4 star
 (668)
3 star
 (133)
2 star
 (24)
1 star
 (11)
Story
4.3 (2199 )
5 star
 (1212)
4 star
 (670)
3 star
 (210)
2 star
 (71)
1 star
 (36)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Joseph 02-09-15
    Joseph 02-09-15 Member Since 2005
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Plan on marathon listening."

    You won't want to hit the pause button. Narration was weak at times, e.g uses nearly the same voice for a frail elderly man and the head of the President's Secret Service detail. DC place names are mispronounced e.g. McLean, Virginia (McLANE) is pronounced like the healthy McDonald's sandwich (McLEE). But it's a passable job.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jay Pruitt Ruston, La 12-05-14
    Jay Pruitt Ruston, La 12-05-14 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    26
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    140
    68
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Magnanimous Book By Vince Flynn!"

    Mitch Rapp gets caught in the crossfire of politics, doesn't trust his closest allies. So now Mitch must do what he does best.......!!!

    I miss George Guidall but Nick Sullivan does a fine job. I've found that if it's a great story it sometimes does not matter who narrates.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    nicholas 12-03-14
    nicholas 12-03-14 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Book - AWFUL Narrator"
    If you could sum up The Third Option in three words, what would they be?

    Insight into Rapp's beginning


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Third Option?

    How awful the narrator was


    Would you be willing to try another one of Nick Sullivan’s performances?

    Absolutely not! He needs to find a new profession!


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    It made me angry because Vince is an amazing writer and the narrator ruined the story!! His voice for every character was horrible except the french guy but even he sounded like Kermit the frog!


    Any additional comments?

    I don't know if this guy has ever done a narration before but he is AWFUL!! Especially if you've listened to any of the books narrated by George Guidall!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Francis BELLINGHAM, WA, United States 12-02-14
    Francis BELLINGHAM, WA, United States 12-02-14 Member Since 2011

    Tell us about yourself! I am retired. I was born January 27, 1945. I enjoy listening and read books. Mystery/thrillers are my favorite.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    78
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story, but I miss George Guidall"
    Any additional comments?

    I have enjoyed the Mitch Rapp series so far. I miss George Guidall as narrator, however,Nick Sullivan read me the story, so, I thank him. I am hanging in there with this series,looking forward to the return of George Guidall in book 6.Vince Flynn is great at writing the story. Mitch Rapp is a very believable dark hero.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    C J 10-21-14
    C J 10-21-14 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Abrupt Ending"
    If you could sum up The Third Option in three words, what would they be?

    I was a little caught off guard with the ending. Thought it seemed sudden without all "things" taken care of. Overall, still pretty good.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tim W. Tipton 09-03-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story.....not reader."
    Would you listen to The Third Option again? Why?

    Yes, The Third Option was a excellent story as are all the stories in the Mitch Rapp series. Good story line and the characters are developed throughout this story which plays to connect dots in the previous stories and set up for the following book as well as the rest of the life and career of Mithch Rapp.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Third Option?

    The book really was good throughout the whole. Vince Flynn has a great knack in the Rapp series of setting the stage in the beginning and setting up the end throughout the Middle of the book. The whole book flows together with the plot thickening and characters developing without losing the reader in the middle from monotony. Great read.


    Would you be willing to try another one of Nick Sullivan’s performances?

    I would listen to one of his stories if it was FREE, but defiantly not if I had to pay for it OR if it was a series that I was very much invested in. His narrating defiantly took away from the experience of the story. It was hard to take the characters seriously when he changed his voice for the various characters.


    Any additional comments?

    I have listened to at least 6 of the Mitch Rapp books from audible and have literally enjoyed everyone and have listened to each of them at least 2x. Sadly this one does not stack up compared to the other primary because if the reader. George Guidall is a EXCELLENT narrator for the Rapp series, and it was hard to listen to Nick Sullivan. If the story was not so great I perhaps would have not even finished it because of the reading. The series itself could not be better as a series and as individual books, however I would highly recommend A listener to listen to one if the stories that are narrated by George Guidall.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jerry Pare 08-03-14
    Jerry Pare 08-03-14 Member Since 2007
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Action..Good; Relationships...Awful"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    Flynn should stick to the thriller story line. His attempts to give Rapp a love life are feeble and boring. The narrator is not as good as the person on previous books in this series.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    GiGi Ft Washington, MD, United States 06-02-14
    GiGi Ft Washington, MD, United States 06-02-14 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    60
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Always a Fan"
    What did you love best about The Third Option?

    The way the story comes together. In the end this series never disappoints. Plus I love how the books overlap.


    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    You never knew who was going to make it out alive.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    The scene where he breaks into the Director of the CIA home.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    He love for Anna


    Any additional comments?

    I've never really been a fan of the narration of this series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Hill Bedford, TX, United States 05-03-14
    Hill Bedford, TX, United States 05-03-14 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    128
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    157
    53
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    36
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "As good as it gets."

    I read some of the other reviews before I bought this book. I have listened to several of the Mitch Rapp series and enjoyed everyone of them. Some of the complaints that other reviewers had were in regards to the narrator. I saw nothing wrong with Nick Sullivan's narration as a matter of fact I think he is one of the better readers that I have heard.
    I grew up in the era of weekly serials and I loved them. I personally like the way Mr. Flynn builds for a series. The Third Option is fine entertainment and worth the price. Enjoy, I certainly did.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Leslie West Roxbury, MA, United States 04-29-14
    Leslie West Roxbury, MA, United States 04-29-14 Member Since 2004

    Like mainly mystery and suspense with a bit of chick lit and non-fiction thrown in. Severe addiction going on 10 years to Audiobooks.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    90
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    83
    47
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "If you have never read a Vince Flynn book..."
    Any additional comments?

    You don't know what you are missing. His books are amazing and I am listening to them now a second time around. It saddens me that the world lost such an amazing author at such a young age. I first did the Mitch Rapp series out of order, which you can do...The second time around I am doing the series in order. I am appreciating the development of the characters more doing it in order.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 21-30 of 83 results PREVIOUS12349NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.