We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Third Option Audiobook

The Third Option: Mitch Rapp Series

Regular Price:$28.30
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

CIA counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp falls prey to government forces with an agenda of their own after Dr. Irene Kennedy is named the successor to dying CIA Director Thomas Stansfield—a choice that enrages many inside the world’s most powerful intelligence agency. Her detractors will resort to extreme measures to prevent her from taking the reins—which makes Rapp an expendable asset. But Mitch Rapp is no one’s pawn, and he will stop at nothing to find out who has set him up.

Hear Mitch Rapp, the CIA's top operative, battle global terrorism in more of Vince Flynn's political thrillers.

©2011 Vince Flynn (P)2011 Simon & Schuster

What the Critics Say

"Flynn hits his stride in this thriller about high-end Washington politics...[he] has an exciting, Ludlum-like series going here." (Booklist)

"Flynn's latest thriller...is an old-school spy story...updated with heavy helpings of international intrigue and domestic politicking and betrayal." (Library Journal)

"Fans of Ludlum and Clancy will want to check it out.' (Pioneer Press)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (5033 )
5 star
 (3084)
4 star
 (1520)
3 star
 (344)
2 star
 (51)
1 star
 (34)
Overall
4.5 (4367 )
5 star
 (2792)
4 star
 (1233)
3 star
 (287)
2 star
 (41)
1 star
 (14)
Story
4.4 (4393 )
5 star
 (2544)
4 star
 (1256)
3 star
 (405)
2 star
 (118)
1 star
 (70)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Avid Reader 08-27-12
    Avid Reader 08-27-12

    You are the sum of what you read!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    55
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    848
    31
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    12
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Where is the ending?"
    Would you try another book from Vince Flynn and/or Nick Sullivan?

    I liked this book until I got to the ending. I hate movies and books that don't tie up loose ends. It is an obvious ploy to force me to buy the next book to see how it ends. It's very disappointing end to an otherwise very good book. I did not like Nick Sullivan's voice at normal speed. I needed to listen to it at 1.5 speed. At that speed it was much better.


    How could the performance have been better?

    Get a different narrator.


    Could you see The Third Option being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

    No


    Any additional comments?

    A different narrator would improve the listening pleasure of this book.

    6 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    KD 10-01-13
    KD 10-01-13 Member Since 2009

    kdhkdh

    HELPFUL VOTES
    38
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    68
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "It is a good thing I read the book before"
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    Any other narrator.


    What didn’t you like about Nick Sullivan’s performance?

    When the end of the book said, Hope you have enjoyed listening to Audible.


    Any additional comments?

    I decided to go back and "listen" to a few of the books in the Rapp series that I actually read first time through. It was a good thing I knew the story because if this was my first Audible book, I would have stopped halfway through.

    Top operatives like Mitch Rapp should not sound like an elementary school librarian that is scarred of dust mite. However, the worst part has to be the narrator's failure to correctly annunciate the major characters names. It is a good thing Vince created such good characters and a story that kept me hitting the play button on my iPhone. It was also interesting to hear/see how Vince developed as an author when comparing the dialog and story with some of his early works. He will be missed.

    Save the money, read the book on this one.

    5 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jeanene 07-30-12
    Jeanene 07-30-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    146
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very disappointing"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    Yes, above all the narration.


    Would you ever listen to anything by Vince Flynn again?

    Of course, I am a faithful fan


    Would you be willing to try another one of Nick Sullivan’s performances?

    No


    Do you think The Third Option needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    Yes but one written more sophisticatedly like his other novels. Maybe the narration affected my reaction.


    Any additional comments?

    I felt I was listening to a very simply written novel by a teenager not a seasoned author. Mr. Flynn can and always has done much better.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    majview 03-22-17
    majview 03-22-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Poor Performance"

    Mr. Sullivan needs to find other work. The narration is nearly monotone and has no timing. The character voices are not believable and detract from the story. The plot is good, but its all plot. The writing is superficial. Doesn't go very deep into the why and how. Same things I thought about An Order to Kill so i guess Vince Flynn is not for me. Certainly, Nick Sullivan isn't for me.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Randy F Duval Hampton 03-16-17
    Randy F Duval Hampton 03-16-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "another great read"

    Mitch Rapp saves the day again, I can't get enough of the stories about this character.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Arizona, U.S.A. 03-01-17
    Amazon Customer Arizona, U.S.A. 03-01-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic!"

    I loved it! This is why Vince Flynn was the best! Can't wait to start the next one!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Saitem 03-01-17
    Saitem 03-01-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The end came quite suddenly"

    The book as such was very entertaining and delivered what I'd expect from a Mitch Rapp novel. What I didn't like was the cliffhanger end that forces you to buy the next one...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cogitor Eklo 02-25-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great story as usual!"

    Nick is good but Roger is better. classic series. enjoyed the story. keep it coming!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Plundered treasure 02-21-17 Member Since 2017

    Nothing better than a entertaining story line that entwines historically true events & the character of humans that influence the outcome.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    48
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    73
    46
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another great story"

    I think it's very interesting to read these espionage books that were written at the very beginning of this country's terrible experiences.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mike wilson 02-16-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another good Rapp story but..."

    The story ended and seemed like it had so much more to tell.

    The performance was absolutely horrible. The presentation was bad, mispronounced names, and the characters were amateurish. Where are you George Guidal?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.