We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Third Option Audiobook

The Third Option: Mitch Rapp Series

Regular Price:$28.30
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

CIA counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp falls prey to government forces with an agenda of their own after Dr. Irene Kennedy is named the successor to dying CIA Director Thomas Stansfield—a choice that enrages many inside the world’s most powerful intelligence agency. Her detractors will resort to extreme measures to prevent her from taking the reins—which makes Rapp an expendable asset. But Mitch Rapp is no one’s pawn, and he will stop at nothing to find out who has set him up.

Hear Mitch Rapp, the CIA's top operative, battle global terrorism in more of Vince Flynn's political thrillers.

©2011 Vince Flynn (P)2011 Simon & Schuster

What the Critics Say

"Flynn hits his stride in this thriller about high-end Washington politics...[he] has an exciting, Ludlum-like series going here." (Booklist)

"Flynn's latest thriller...is an old-school spy story...updated with heavy helpings of international intrigue and domestic politicking and betrayal." (Library Journal)

"Fans of Ludlum and Clancy will want to check it out.' (Pioneer Press)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (4674 )
5 star
 (2837)
4 star
 (1436)
3 star
 (319)
2 star
 (49)
1 star
 (33)
Overall
4.5 (4044 )
5 star
 (2571)
4 star
 (1159)
3 star
 (265)
2 star
 (35)
1 star
 (14)
Story
4.4 (4071 )
5 star
 (2347)
4 star
 (1174)
3 star
 (379)
2 star
 (109)
1 star
 (62)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Janet C. Walker Summerville, SC 07-06-11
    Janet C. Walker Summerville, SC 07-06-11 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    263
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    955
    43
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    1
    Overall
    "Really?"

    I read this one years ago in print. Now listening to this narrator I find Mitch's fiance is named Anna Really. Huh, certainly lookled like Reilly to me. You learn something every day. Lol

    8 of 12 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Connie Avid Reader 08-27-12

    You are the sum of what you read!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    55
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    791
    31
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    12
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Where is the ending?"
    Would you try another book from Vince Flynn and/or Nick Sullivan?

    I liked this book until I got to the ending. I hate movies and books that don't tie up loose ends. It is an obvious ploy to force me to buy the next book to see how it ends. It's very disappointing end to an otherwise very good book. I did not like Nick Sullivan's voice at normal speed. I needed to listen to it at 1.5 speed. At that speed it was much better.


    How could the performance have been better?

    Get a different narrator.


    Could you see The Third Option being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

    No


    Any additional comments?

    A different narrator would improve the listening pleasure of this book.

    6 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    KD 10-01-13
    KD 10-01-13 Member Since 2009

    kdhkdh

    HELPFUL VOTES
    38
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    65
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "It is a good thing I read the book before"
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    Any other narrator.


    What didn’t you like about Nick Sullivan’s performance?

    When the end of the book said, Hope you have enjoyed listening to Audible.


    Any additional comments?

    I decided to go back and "listen" to a few of the books in the Rapp series that I actually read first time through. It was a good thing I knew the story because if this was my first Audible book, I would have stopped halfway through.

    Top operatives like Mitch Rapp should not sound like an elementary school librarian that is scarred of dust mite. However, the worst part has to be the narrator's failure to correctly annunciate the major characters names. It is a good thing Vince created such good characters and a story that kept me hitting the play button on my iPhone. It was also interesting to hear/see how Vince developed as an author when comparing the dialog and story with some of his early works. He will be missed.

    Save the money, read the book on this one.

    5 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jeanene 07-30-12
    Jeanene 07-30-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    143
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very disappointing"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    Yes, above all the narration.


    Would you ever listen to anything by Vince Flynn again?

    Of course, I am a faithful fan


    Would you be willing to try another one of Nick Sullivan’s performances?

    No


    Do you think The Third Option needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    Yes but one written more sophisticatedly like his other novels. Maybe the narration affected my reaction.


    Any additional comments?

    I felt I was listening to a very simply written novel by a teenager not a seasoned author. Mr. Flynn can and always has done much better.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nancy Palmetto, FL, United States 09-16-11
    Nancy Palmetto, FL, United States 09-16-11 Member Since 2002
    HELPFUL VOTES
    54
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    224
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Terrible reader"
    This book wasn???t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

    I made the mistake of assuming that Scott Brick would be the reader for this book, as he had for the others I had listened to. Bad mistake. This man was so bad I couldn't even listen to most of it. I love this series of books and have listened to most of them. This reader sounds like a regular person from next door who decided he could read novels...he can't.


    Has The Third Option turned you off from other books in this genre?

    No, the reader


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    Yes, he was horrible


    If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from The Third Option?

    Don't know because he was such a bad reader, I turned him off.


    3 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    petwog 01-12-17
    petwog 01-12-17 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "More believable"

    This story line was more believable than the last Mitch Rapp book or maybe it was the reader/actor, I'm not sure. I do know that it was more engaging and help my interest maybe as much as the first in the series; which was by far the best of all I have listened to so far. It seems as if the author has run out of ideas and/or plots to carry the story along.....not so much in this book but in the last few. I can only hope that the rest of the series picks up where this one stops.....at least the actor did a very good job of setting the mood and describing emotions.....hope the next continues or I'm sorry to say but Mitch will drop from my list of reads.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Harold F. Greer. 01-03-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    "The third option"

    The third time is the charm. If at first you do not succeed, try and try again.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Justin Vande 12-09-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great story, I thought the narrator was just fine."

    another great mitch rapp book, and the narrator did a great job. obviously George guidall is the king of audiobooks, but nick held his own, I would happily listen to him read the rest of the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Janine R. 11-11-16
    Janine R. 11-11-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Five stars all the way around!!"

    I am addicted to the author and this Mitch Rapp series!! I can't wait to finish one book and move on to the next!!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    MaxH 11-03-16
    MaxH 11-03-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story, poor narration"

    Not the best story in the Mitch Rapp series but compelling nonetheless. I didn't like the narrator, particularly his attempt at accents. Often times in dialogues it was difficult to discern which character was speaking. Also--huge disclaimer, I'm from Minnesota--his attempt at a Minnesotan accent for the congressman was pathetic and offensive. Like the guy watched Fargo one time and thought it to be sufficient research.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.