We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Third Option Audiobook

The Third Option: Mitch Rapp Series

Regular Price:$28.30
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

CIA counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp falls prey to government forces with an agenda of their own after Dr. Irene Kennedy is named the successor to dying CIA Director Thomas Stansfield—a choice that enrages many inside the world’s most powerful intelligence agency. Her detractors will resort to extreme measures to prevent her from taking the reins—which makes Rapp an expendable asset. But Mitch Rapp is no one’s pawn, and he will stop at nothing to find out who has set him up.

Hear Mitch Rapp, the CIA's top operative, battle global terrorism in more of Vince Flynn's political thrillers.

©2011 Vince Flynn (P)2011 Simon & Schuster

What the Critics Say

"Flynn hits his stride in this thriller about high-end Washington politics...[he] has an exciting, Ludlum-like series going here." (Booklist)

"Flynn's latest thriller...is an old-school spy story...updated with heavy helpings of international intrigue and domestic politicking and betrayal." (Library Journal)

"Fans of Ludlum and Clancy will want to check it out.' (Pioneer Press)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (4271 )
5 star
 (2566)
4 star
 (1333)
3 star
 (295)
2 star
 (46)
1 star
 (31)
Overall
4.5 (3680 )
5 star
 (2324)
4 star
 (1073)
3 star
 (238)
2 star
 (31)
1 star
 (14)
Story
4.4 (3701 )
5 star
 (2110)
4 star
 (1081)
3 star
 (350)
2 star
 (99)
1 star
 (61)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Janet C. Walker Summerville, SC 07-06-11
    Janet C. Walker Summerville, SC 07-06-11 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    262
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    955
    43
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    1
    Overall
    "Really?"

    I read this one years ago in print. Now listening to this narrator I find Mitch's fiance is named Anna Really. Huh, certainly lookled like Reilly to me. You learn something every day. Lol

    8 of 12 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Connie Avid Reader 08-27-12

    You are the sum of what you read!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    55
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    713
    30
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    11
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Where is the ending?"
    Would you try another book from Vince Flynn and/or Nick Sullivan?

    I liked this book until I got to the ending. I hate movies and books that don't tie up loose ends. It is an obvious ploy to force me to buy the next book to see how it ends. It's very disappointing end to an otherwise very good book. I did not like Nick Sullivan's voice at normal speed. I needed to listen to it at 1.5 speed. At that speed it was much better.


    How could the performance have been better?

    Get a different narrator.


    Could you see The Third Option being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

    No


    Any additional comments?

    A different narrator would improve the listening pleasure of this book.

    6 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    KD 10-01-13
    KD 10-01-13 Member Since 2009

    kdhkdh

    HELPFUL VOTES
    38
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    64
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "It is a good thing I read the book before"
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    Any other narrator.


    What didn’t you like about Nick Sullivan’s performance?

    When the end of the book said, Hope you have enjoyed listening to Audible.


    Any additional comments?

    I decided to go back and "listen" to a few of the books in the Rapp series that I actually read first time through. It was a good thing I knew the story because if this was my first Audible book, I would have stopped halfway through.

    Top operatives like Mitch Rapp should not sound like an elementary school librarian that is scarred of dust mite. However, the worst part has to be the narrator's failure to correctly annunciate the major characters names. It is a good thing Vince created such good characters and a story that kept me hitting the play button on my iPhone. It was also interesting to hear/see how Vince developed as an author when comparing the dialog and story with some of his early works. He will be missed.

    Save the money, read the book on this one.

    5 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jeanene 07-30-12
    Jeanene 07-30-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    140
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very disappointing"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    Yes, above all the narration.


    Would you ever listen to anything by Vince Flynn again?

    Of course, I am a faithful fan


    Would you be willing to try another one of Nick Sullivan’s performances?

    No


    Do you think The Third Option needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    Yes but one written more sophisticatedly like his other novels. Maybe the narration affected my reaction.


    Any additional comments?

    I felt I was listening to a very simply written novel by a teenager not a seasoned author. Mr. Flynn can and always has done much better.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nancy Palmetto, FL, United States 09-16-11
    Nancy Palmetto, FL, United States 09-16-11 Member Since 2002
    HELPFUL VOTES
    54
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    224
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Terrible reader"
    This book wasn???t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

    I made the mistake of assuming that Scott Brick would be the reader for this book, as he had for the others I had listened to. Bad mistake. This man was so bad I couldn't even listen to most of it. I love this series of books and have listened to most of them. This reader sounds like a regular person from next door who decided he could read novels...he can't.


    Has The Third Option turned you off from other books in this genre?

    No, the reader


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    Yes, he was horrible


    If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from The Third Option?

    Don't know because he was such a bad reader, I turned him off.


    3 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David H. Van Loon Waterford, MI United States 09-22-16
    David H. Van Loon Waterford, MI United States 09-22-16 Member Since 2012

    Dave

    HELPFUL VOTES
    26
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another great Vince Flynn ruined by Nick Sullivan"

    Great storyline and very interesting progression. Excellent character development as well bit once again Nick Sullivan ruins the party. Sullivan not only does a severely poor job conveying the author's intent and feeling bit he can't even get the words printed in front of him correct. Incorrect pronouns (she for Rapp and he for Kennedy) making listening to his narration insufferable. Nick belongs on a road crew holding the "SLOW/STOP" sign and certainly not reading spy novels. I could go on for hours but i will not. Two in a row is enough Nick. Let's just hope we get George back for the next one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Eric J. Toll 09-18-16

    Desert Aries

    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    71
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "If you're a Flynn fan, you need to read this"

    The third option was one of Flynn's early books, and it's necessary in order to pick up on a number of characters and events that will come to greater life later in the series.
    "The Third Option" is well written, as are all Flynn's books, but the narration is excruciatingly bad. This may be a book better as an eBook or print book.
    Sullivan mispronounces Anna Reilly's name as Anna "Really," which is fingernails on the blackboard. Most of the narration and characters are prissy as men, and whiny as women. His foreign accents are, well foreign accents, but I don't know which countries he had hoped the would be representative.
    The plot is critical for the next two books, and I still recommend reading or listening to it, just know that George Guidall it isn't.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nice 08-21-16
    Nice 08-21-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Similar to Kill Shot, fairly good though"

    The plot is quite similar to Kill Shot, but it entertaining and elaborates something bigger to be finished later (hopefully :))

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. Graham earth 08-18-16
    J. Graham earth 08-18-16 Member Since 2015

    J. Graham

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good, except - is this missing the final chapter?"

    Wonder if the author got tired and gave up at end? Or the last chapter is lost ???
    Otherwise good read until chap 25

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alexander S. Loa Salt Lake City, UT 08-15-16
    Alexander S. Loa Salt Lake City, UT 08-15-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great installment with a cliff hanger of an ending"

    Another great addition to the Mitch Rapp series. A great cliffhanger about political espionage and intrigue. If you like Mitch Rapp, you won't be disappointed!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.