We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
The Second Opinion | [Michael Palmer]

The Second Opinion

Here, Michael Palmer has created a cat-and-mouse game where one woman must confront a conspiracy of doctors to uncover an evil practice that touches every single person who ever has a medical test. With unforgettable characters and twists and betrayals that come from the most unlikely places, The Second Opinion will keep you guessing...and looking over your shoulder.
Regular Price:$27.29
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Dr. Thea Sperelakis has always been an outsider. She has a brilliant medical mind and a remarkable ability to recall details, but her difficulty in dealing with hidden agendas and interpersonal conflicts has led her to leave the complex, money-driven dynamics of a hospital and to embrace working with the poor. Her father, Petros, is one of the most celebrated internal medicine specialists in the world and the founder of the cutting-edge Sperelakis Center for Diagnostic Medicine at Boston's sprawling, powerful Beaumont Clinic.

When Petros is severely injured by a hit-and-run driver, no one thinks he will survive. Two of Petros's other children, both physicians, battle Thea and their eccentric brother, Dimitri, by demanding that treatment for their father be withheld. Meanwhile, Petros lingers in the Beaumont Clinic's intensive care unit, where Thea is his only advocate.

As Thea uncovers the facts surrounding the disaster, it seems more and more to be no accident. Petros himself is the only witness. Who would want him dead? The answers are trapped in his brain...until he looks at Thea and begins to slowly blink a terrifying message.

In The Second Opinion, Michael Palmer has created a cat-and-mouse game where one woman must confront a conspiracy of doctors to uncover an evil practice that touches every single person who ever has a medical test. With unforgettable characters and twists and betrayals that come from the most unlikely places, The Second Opinion will keep you guessing...and looking over your shoulder.

©2009 Michael Palmer; (P)2009 Brilliance Audio, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.7 (290 )
5 star
 (67)
4 star
 (115)
3 star
 (84)
2 star
 (13)
1 star
 (11)
Overall
3.8 (94 )
5 star
 (32)
4 star
 (27)
3 star
 (25)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (5)
Story
3.8 (95 )
5 star
 (30)
4 star
 (35)
3 star
 (18)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (5)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    05-26-09
    05-26-09 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    291
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    56
    36
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    "great story line; unnecessary love affair"

    I liked the story line and underlying theme. Great suspense and drama, integrated with interesting medical and technical backdrop. But the whole thing was spoiled because of the totally unnecessary, woefully predictable, and wholly gratuitous love affair, between the intellient and wealthy protagonist and bumbling "hunk type" security guard. The "Sappy" love affair sticks out, and distracts from the interest and intrigue otherwise generated by the otherwise intreguing substance underlying the story line.

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lia Sutton, Australia 10-25-09
    Lia Sutton, Australia 10-25-09 Member Since 2009

    I love all genres of books. However, when I listen to audio books as I clean, garden, drive they are better with a lot of heat!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1581
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    482
    417
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    269
    29
    Overall
    "Enjoyable"

    I really enjoyed this book. I didn't know until the end of the book what was going to happen. The only thing that annoyed me was all the accents. I don't think they were necessary.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dorrit Chesterland, OH, USA 06-09-09
    Dorrit Chesterland, OH, USA 06-09-09 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "review of narrator"

    I thoroughly enjoyed the book. The book was so good that the somewhat irritating voice and accents of the narrator failed to dim my enjoyment. I would have much preferred another "voice".

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lisa St. Paul, MN, USA 03-27-09
    Lisa St. Paul, MN, USA 03-27-09 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    60
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "A caricature of a detective novel"

    Very very very formulaic. But the premise of a detective hero with Aspergers is very interesting. Done much more effectively, however, in "The curious incident of the dog in the night." I kept hoping that the plot twists would be more than the inevitable, but alas they followed the googlemap route to a conclusion: Interstate whenever possible, no interesting diversions as that would add travel time and reduce gas mileage. The idea of the experience of sex from the point of view of Aspergers could have been particularly intriguing, but instead we get a blend of 50's sanitized romance and bodice-buster allegorical descriptions that was cartoonish.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rachel Atascadero, CA, United States 03-06-12
    Rachel Atascadero, CA, United States 03-06-12 Member Since 2010

    I own a small shop selling custom/costume Jewelry. I love to listen to audio books while I create jewelry. I love all animals and get very upset when they aren't treated well, even in fiction.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    104
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    147
    44
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unexpected twists"
    What made the experience of listening to The Second Opinion the most enjoyable?

    Hearing the truth about the medical profession.


    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    I really enjoyed the main Character... I found myself rooting for her!


    What does Franette Liebow bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Great job speaking for the different characters, varying speeds of speech, and accents brought this book to life!


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    The main character's refreshing honesty was wonderful, made me laugh and lifted my mood.


    Any additional comments?

    A very hard act to follow!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dennis Mazama, WA, United States 08-07-10
    Dennis Mazama, WA, United States 08-07-10 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    469
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    179
    166
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    96
    2
    Overall
    "A heroine you are really rooting for"

    A plot that nudges you out of your world and lets you look into a window on another. I liked the twist on the lead character and thought the book built a steady tension around a truly sinister plot, whose finnish was unexpected and surprising in a good way. The story is a good one and worth listening to.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anthony Denton, TX, United States 06-04-09
    Anthony Denton, TX, United States 06-04-09 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Best book of the Year!"

    I wish Michael Palmer wrote more books! This is a great novel with much to do about life as well as murder. The characters truly come alive. This is my favorite book of the year and I loved the plot twists!

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brendan westerly, RI, USA 03-22-09
    Brendan westerly, RI, USA 03-22-09 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    65
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    198
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Not good"

    This is one of the three or four books I had to stop listening to because the narration was so bad. I can only comment on the first half, but the plot wasn't much better than the narration. It seems Asperger's is the new popular thing to feature in novels, and that's fine when done right. This wasn't.

    5 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Andrew Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada 04-05-09
    Andrew Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada 04-05-09 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Ridiculous, formulaic potboiler"

    This is one of those books which one completes, reluctantly, in the hope that it can't really remain as bad as it is - wrong. It can.

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Donna United States 12-08-13
    Donna United States 12-08-13 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    73
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    340
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent story"

    Excellent portrayal of two characters dealing with Aspergers syndrome. The story was not about their Aspergers per se, but instead the Aspergers made for fascinating characters in a medical mystery.

    I do have a medical background, but you don't have to be a medical person to follow the story, although the more you know, the more passionate you may feel about the storyline. Palmer explains everything in layman's terms so nothing is lost. His topics are generally hot buttons in the medical world, often on the injustices of insurance or medical politics.

    My imagination is a lot like Michael Palmer so I love his books. The narrator was great. I didn't feel like he was reading and there was a lot of expression in his voice.

    I highly recommend this book. Fun, interesting, suspenseful, page turner. :)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-10 of 17 results PREVIOUS12NEXT
Sort by:
  • Leslie
    loughboroughUnited Kingdom
    4/22/09
    Overall
    "Got me gripped"

    I have only just finished the first half, but so far i am gripped. from the start deep into the medical problems and mystery. cannot wait for the second half

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.