We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Scent of Secrets Audiobook

The Scent of Secrets

Regular Price:$31.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Set in Europe in 1938, during the tense run-up to war, and perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, this gripping historical novel features the half-British, half-German actress (and wholly covert spy) Clara Vine, who finds herself enmeshed in a dangerous game of subterfuge.

The colorful, lively streets of Paris come as a welcome relief to Clara Vine after the dour countenance of Berlin, where bunkers and bomb shelters are being dug, soldiers march the streets in their high boots, and Jewish residents rush to make it home before curfew. Though Clara is in Paris to make a film, her true work is never far from her mind. Approached by a British intelligence officer, Clara is initially confounded by his request: Get close to Eva Braun and glean as much as she can about the Fuhrer's plans and intentions. Clara has already established friendships with several high-ranking Nazi wives, but Eva Braun is another matter altogether. Hitler keeps his "secret" girlfriend obsessively hidden, fiercely guarding their relationship as well as Eva's delicate psychological state. From the gilded halls of the decadent City of Light to the cobbled, quaint streets of Munich, and even to the chilling, rarefied air of the Berghof, Hitler's private mountaintop retreat, Clara flirts with discovery at every turn - and a dangerous, devious plot unfolds.

©2014 Thynker Ltd (P)2015 W.F. Howes

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (21 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.2 (19 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (20 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Katherine Georgetown, Ontario, Canada 02-15-16
    Katherine Georgetown, Ontario, Canada 02-15-16 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    199
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    152
    149
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    14
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A cozy WW2 spy story"

    I stumbled on this series of books from WW2 or just before the war and am quite delighted. I would call the spy genre my favourite one, but when there was finally one written in a gentler, more female style, I thought I'd found the best ever. It was something I'd craved and never realized! As others have said, it isn't fast moving, but there is an authentic suspenseful story line that is resolved, but it's well mixed with lots of history and description, with a little romance and girly gossip thrown in for fun too. I haven't yet determined how the 3 books she has written with this heroine fit together in terms of sequence and perhaps they don't, but I've started another of the 3 already. Interestingly enough, Jane Thynne is married to Philip Kerr of the Bernie Gunther WW2 series. Can't you picture them travelling to Berlin for research! The narrator, Julie Teal,seems to have improved her French a bit since the last time I heard her and overall, she is a wonderful narrator, bringing all the characters to life. In another review, some of the accuracy of the author's historical details were questioned, such as the personalities of Eva Braun and Goebbels, but from what I've read, they were portrayed accurately, albeit in a fictionalized situation.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Duncan Mackechnie
    3/23/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "WARNING This is the same book as the War of Flowe"
    Would you try another book written by Jane Thynne or narrated by Julie Teal?

    this is the same book as War of Flowers under another name i need a refund


    What could Jane Thynne have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    nothing


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    nothong


    Any additional comments?

    nothing

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.