We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Queen's Accomplice Audiobook

The Queen's Accomplice: A Maggie Hope Mystery, Book 6

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Spy and code breaker extraordinaire Maggie Hope returns to war-weary London, where she is thrust into the dangerous hunt for a monster as the New York Times best-selling mystery series for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry continues.

England, 1942. The Nazis' relentless Blitz may have paused, but London's nightly blackouts continue. Now, under the cover of darkness, a madman is brutally killing and mutilating young women in eerie and exact re-creations of Jack the Ripper's crimes. What's more, he's targeting women who are reporting for duty to be Winston Churchill's spies and saboteurs abroad.

The officers at MI5 quickly realize they need the help of Special Agent Maggie Hope to find the killer dubbed "the Blackout Beast". A trap is set. But once the murderer has his sights on Maggie, not even Buckingham Palace can protect the resourceful spy from her fate.

©2016 Susan Elia MacNeal (P)2016 Random House Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (91 )
5 star
 (56)
4 star
 (19)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.6 (79 )
5 star
 (51)
4 star
 (22)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.3 (81 )
5 star
 (52)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (5)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Jodi Muller Olympia, Washington United States 10-06-16
    Jodi Muller Olympia, Washington United States 10-06-16 Member Since 2009

    Teacher-Librarian, an a avid audible listener:)

    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    65
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I love these books, but had to stop listening...."
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    The reader is terrible!! I love these books but could not remember why I only listened to the first one and read the rest myself. I purchased the latest and listened for 5 minutes and remembered why I read the rest myself. She does great voices but the rest is so sing songy I could not take it!!


    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Maine Knitter 10-07-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    423
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    691
    336
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    11
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I really dislike the narrator"

    This would have warranted a higher rating but for the narration. It spoils the book which is a shame for the author's hard work.

    The story itself, in spite of a few negatives, is my favorite of the series so far. It was interesting with several plot lines (not all of which were resolved) and returning characters. The plight of women at the time was laid on a bit thick. I understand the importance of highlighting what women had to endure and I'm as feminist as can be, but I think there was a bit of overkill.

    There were a few "I'm going to have nightmares" tense moments. I found the final confrontation scenes confusing with the hallucinations. All that being said, I found the book entertaining. I'm not a fan of cliffhangers but it's the author's style. I'll buy the next book but maybe not the audio version.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer 11-13-16 Member Since 2016

    Lbeverage

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    2
    Overall
    "Storyline and Reader"

    The storyline is good, but the dialogue is made worse by the reader. I like the stories, but really, the dialogue is really kind of lame.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mysterybuff Seattle, WA USA 10-31-16
    Mysterybuff Seattle, WA USA 10-31-16

    Ella

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not the best Maggie Hope."

    First, the reader has an annoying sing-song deliver that absolutely detracts & actually diminishes the story in places. This story sets Maggie up as too single-handed a heroine. And it's a bloody awful story - literally- about violence against women. Quite a slog.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Beverly 10-26-16
    Beverly 10-26-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "End of the line for me on this series."

    I loved the setting and the story line in the early books, but with this book the extensive violence, dark tangents, and foul language has gone too far. I'm sorry to see the author chose to take a worthwhile topic of women's rights and this fascinating historic setting to a level I don't want to read. No longer recommend.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cindy 10-19-16
    Cindy 10-19-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    41
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Back on track"

    Thank heavens Maggie Hope is back in England. Her last outing--a trip to America in Mrs. Roosevelt's Confidante--was dismal. But back on English soil, Maggie is in top form. With historical throwbacks and "modern" issues as sub plots, a possible new romantic interest, and even a red herring lead or two, The Queen's Accomplice is a great read. Long Live the English Murder Mystery!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JoAnn 10-08-16
    JoAnn 10-08-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    226
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    288
    94
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    11
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just ok"

    I continue to listen to books in this series because I love historical fiction. This one hammered home the mistreatment of women in a far from subtle way which got quite old after awhile. Easy to determine who the culprit was as well. And I really dislike the speaking style of the narrator.

    All that said, I will probably return for the next one because, in spite of everything, I care about the characters.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    patricia 11-09-16
    patricia 11-09-16 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Please get another narrator"

    The story was good but could have been better with another narrator. Please get get another narrator,

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Judith
    11/6/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good if slightly stereotyped wartime mystery"

    Like the previous Maggie Hope mysteries, this is an enjoyable, easy listen. The plot smartly entwines several different strands, all set in 1940s London. As such the story is held back a little by trying to enforce its historical setting a little too much, and is certainly not the most realistic of books- but if you enjoy a good crime novel which follows the path of Agatha Christie this is probably for you.

    One thing that really irritated me was the narrator's attempts at various accents. This is probably just a personal preference, but I found her attempt at a Scottish accents particularly inaccurate and annoying- and unfortunately one of the main characters is Scottish. This definitely detracted from the enjoyment of listening, though did not stop me finishing the book- so don't let that put you off unless you are particularly sensitive to accents!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.