We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Prime Minister's Secret Agent Audiobook

The Prime Minister's Secret Agent: A Maggie Hope Mystery, Book 4

World War II rages on across Europe, but Maggie Hope has finally found a moment of rest on the pastoral coast of western Scotland. Home from an undercover mission in Berlin, she settles down to teach at her old spy training camp, and to heal from scars on both her body and heart. Yet instead of enjoying the quieter pace of life, Maggie is quickly drawn into another web of danger and intrigue.
Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry, The Prime Minister's Secret Agent is a gripping new mystery featuring intrepid spy and code breaker Maggie Hope. And this time, the fallout of a deadly plot comes straight to her own front door.

World War II rages on across Europe, but Maggie Hope has finally found a moment of rest on the pastoral coast of western Scotland. Home from an undercover mission in Berlin, she settles down to teach at her old spy training camp, and to heal from scars on both her body and heart. Yet instead of enjoying the quieter pace of life, Maggie is quickly drawn into another web of danger and intrigue. When three ballerinas fall strangely ill in Glasgow - including one of Maggie's dearest friends - Maggie partners with MI-5 to uncover the truth behind their unusual symptoms. What she finds points to a series of poisonings that may expose shocking government secrets and put countless British lives at stake. But it's the fight brewing in the Pacific that will forever change the course of the war - and indelibly shape Maggie's fate.

©2014 Susan Elia MacNeal (P)2014 Random House Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (227 )
5 star
 (99)
4 star
 (83)
3 star
 (34)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.1 (206 )
5 star
 (89)
4 star
 (70)
3 star
 (31)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (7)
Story
4.1 (206 )
5 star
 (99)
4 star
 (58)
3 star
 (28)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (12)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Margaret Vance 07-06-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    288
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The narration spoils the book"
    What made the experience of listening to The Prime Minister's Secret Agent the most enjoyable?

    The series is interesting and the time period and history described makes for a good read.


    Would you be willing to try another book from Susan Elia MacNeal? Why or why not?

    I like the author but some else needs to narrate.


    What didn’t you like about Susan Duerden’s performance?

    Her cadence and breathy deliver is hard to listen to. There are emphasis where there shouldn't be and her raspy whispery voice is annoying.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No


    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Deirdre 08-22-14
    Deirdre 08-22-14 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Dissapointed"
    If you could sum up The Prime Minister's Secret Agent in three words, what would they be?

    Waste of time


    What could Susan Elia MacNeal have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    This book is basically about Maggie working through her issues so she can go do spy work again. I felt like this could have been condensed into a couple chapters at most and then get on with the story.


    Any additional comments?

    I've really enjoyed the series so far. I was looking forward to this book, but was disappointed because the whole book felt like an interlude between stories rather than a story in itself. I kept waiting for the story to pick up speed, by the time it started gaining momentum it was over.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    M. Chesapeake, VA, United States 11-23-14
    M. Chesapeake, VA, United States 11-23-14 Member Since 2013

    mmc

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "slow...."

    slow story line, slow reading, slow developing the story line. just hated the section on Clara's mother - really? just not as exciting as the other books by far. was a dialed in story, dialed in performance. will give serious thought before purchasing the next one, maybe borrow from the local library instead. oh and let me add boringly slow.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cynthia 09-06-14
    Cynthia 09-06-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Revisionary History"
    What disappointed you about The Prime Minister's Secret Agent?

    Long dragged out conversations that appear to be US and British hate-baiting. Listened for over 2 hours of the nice hour book and and never found out what the mystery was. Depression and anger run rampant


    What could Susan Elia MacNeal have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    Quit writing made up conversations that last 30 minutes about philosophy (Churchhill rants on and on )


    Which scene was your favorite?

    Could not find a favorite scene because I could not tolerate listening for HOURS with out a story to follow.


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tracy L. Platz Caddo Mills, TX United States 03-28-15
    Tracy L. Platz Caddo Mills, TX United States 03-28-15 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Definatly a transition story"

    This was a transition story. By the time things finally got interesting, the book ended. I'm looking forward to the next in the series because I hope MacNeal has all her characters back where she wants them.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. Roderick 08-21-14
    J. Roderick 08-21-14

    JLR

    HELPFUL VOTES
    31
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    163
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    A different narrator. Her style is breathless and bumpy.


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Susan Duerden?

    Davina Porter


    Do you think The Prime Minister's Secret Agent needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    Yes, of course. We need to see Maggie in the US, find out what path her mother follows, and see how her half sister gets released from Germany.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Judy 01-23-16
    Judy 01-23-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    116
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narrator Spoiled It for Me"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    I found the narrator's voice really grating. Her Churchill voice and German accent were both heavy-handed and dreadful. I guess imitating Churchill's blustery style and a German accent are more "authentic" but I don't want them blasting away in my head


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    I like Maggie, of course.


    Would you be willing to try another one of Susan Duerden’s performances?

    No way.


    Do you think The Prime Minister's Secret Agent needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    I think this series has more life in it.


    Any additional comments?

    I love the historical setting. I'm looking forward to the next one with Mrs. Roosevelt. Of course, I'll be reading the hard copy!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Maine Knitter 12-25-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    295
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    585
    244
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I rate this a 2.5"

    Hmmm...I give this a 2.5. I like the characters but I was hoping for a resolution to threads. I felt this book was just taking us from the last book to the next with no real story. Sure, the secret disease could be considered a "mystery" that Maggie had to solve but it was pretty much unsatisfying. I have to admit I like Hugh. I hope we hear more about him.

    Oh, and I'm annoyed by blatant errors. In one scene "... a sailor - a private-..." is introduced. There ARE no privates in the Navy. I have a tendency to question other research when I see something like this. Maybe I'm hypercritical in this regard. Frankly, I was disappointed by this minor slip.

    The narrator is still annoying. I have listened to other books that she's read (other authors' books) and she's been quite good. I really don't like the way she portrays Maggie especially.

    I will read subsequent books because I care about what happens to the characters. I wish the author and/or editors would tighten things up a bit.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    pamela cardone 11-26-15 Member Since 2007
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    45
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "First and LAST time I listen to this reader!"

    This book came highly recommended, but was ultimately a disappointment.
    I wish I'd read the reviews because this reader nearly had me giving up after 1/2 hour! Her inflection is puzzling & incredibly annoying, and Maggie is voiced like a 12-yo? I was thankful the final 1/3 or so had little narration, because at least the dialog was less grating.
    I'm a big fan of Her Spyness (whose reader is stellar!) & enjoy Maisie Dobbs, so the concept is cool but poorly executed, and barely fulfills its title.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jack's Mum Nazareth, PA United States 06-03-15
    Jack's Mum Nazareth, PA United States 06-03-15 Member Since 2014

    Gump's Mom

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    33
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Series!"

    This is a great series - loved the first two books. This one was very good, but it seemed more like a set-up for the next installment. Character development was a little shallower, plot a little lighter, but it was still very good. The narration was EXCELLENT!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.