We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Prime Minister's Secret Agent Audiobook

The Prime Minister's Secret Agent: A Maggie Hope Mystery, Book 4

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry, The Prime Minister's Secret Agent is a gripping new mystery featuring intrepid spy and code breaker Maggie Hope. And this time, the fallout of a deadly plot comes straight to her own front door.

World War II rages on across Europe, but Maggie Hope has finally found a moment of rest on the pastoral coast of western Scotland. Home from an undercover mission in Berlin, she settles down to teach at her old spy training camp, and to heal from scars on both her body and heart. Yet instead of enjoying the quieter pace of life, Maggie is quickly drawn into another web of danger and intrigue. When three ballerinas fall strangely ill in Glasgow - including one of Maggie's dearest friends - Maggie partners with MI-5 to uncover the truth behind their unusual symptoms. What she finds points to a series of poisonings that may expose shocking government secrets and put countless British lives at stake. But it's the fight brewing in the Pacific that will forever change the course of the war - and indelibly shape Maggie's fate.

©2014 Susan Elia MacNeal (P)2014 Random House Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (302 )
5 star
 (146)
4 star
 (104)
3 star
 (39)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (6)
Overall
4.2 (276 )
5 star
 (133)
4 star
 (89)
3 star
 (37)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (8)
Story
4.1 (275 )
5 star
 (135)
4 star
 (82)
3 star
 (32)
2 star
 (13)
1 star
 (13)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Margaret Vance 07-06-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    301
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The narration spoils the book"
    What made the experience of listening to The Prime Minister's Secret Agent the most enjoyable?

    The series is interesting and the time period and history described makes for a good read.


    Would you be willing to try another book from Susan Elia MacNeal? Why or why not?

    I like the author but some else needs to narrate.


    What didn’t you like about Susan Duerden’s performance?

    Her cadence and breathy deliver is hard to listen to. There are emphasis where there shouldn't be and her raspy whispery voice is annoying.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No


    5 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Deirdre 08-22-14
    Deirdre 08-22-14 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Dissapointed"
    If you could sum up The Prime Minister's Secret Agent in three words, what would they be?

    Waste of time


    What could Susan Elia MacNeal have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    This book is basically about Maggie working through her issues so she can go do spy work again. I felt like this could have been condensed into a couple chapters at most and then get on with the story.


    Any additional comments?

    I've really enjoyed the series so far. I was looking forward to this book, but was disappointed because the whole book felt like an interlude between stories rather than a story in itself. I kept waiting for the story to pick up speed, by the time it started gaining momentum it was over.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. Roderick 08-21-14
    J. Roderick 08-21-14

    JLR

    HELPFUL VOTES
    34
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    164
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    A different narrator. Her style is breathless and bumpy.


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Susan Duerden?

    Davina Porter


    Do you think The Prime Minister's Secret Agent needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    Yes, of course. We need to see Maggie in the US, find out what path her mother follows, and see how her half sister gets released from Germany.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    M. Chesapeake, VA, United States 11-23-14
    M. Chesapeake, VA, United States 11-23-14 Member Since 2013

    mmc

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "slow...."

    slow story line, slow reading, slow developing the story line. just hated the section on Clara's mother - really? just not as exciting as the other books by far. was a dialed in story, dialed in performance. will give serious thought before purchasing the next one, maybe borrow from the local library instead. oh and let me add boringly slow.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cynthia 09-06-14
    Cynthia 09-06-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Revisionary History"
    What disappointed you about The Prime Minister's Secret Agent?

    Long dragged out conversations that appear to be US and British hate-baiting. Listened for over 2 hours of the nice hour book and and never found out what the mystery was. Depression and anger run rampant


    What could Susan Elia MacNeal have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    Quit writing made up conversations that last 30 minutes about philosophy (Churchhill rants on and on )


    Which scene was your favorite?

    Could not find a favorite scene because I could not tolerate listening for HOURS with out a story to follow.


    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    GGT 03-01-17
    GGT 03-01-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great series
    "

    Good plot, character and intrigue in the whole Maggie Hope mystery series. Thoroughly enjoyed them all.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Maggie Zadikov 11-01-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    11
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love that Maggie"

    I really have enjoyed the Maggie Hope mysteries. A great way to get a handle on the history of the world war era. The writing is great and the performance, other than all the shouting male voices, was quite wonderful. The cliff-hanger endings leave me wanting more.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jack's Mum Nazareth, PA United States 06-03-15
    Jack's Mum Nazareth, PA United States 06-03-15 Member Since 2014

    Gump's Mom

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Series!"

    This is a great series - loved the first two books. This one was very good, but it seemed more like a set-up for the next installment. Character development was a little shallower, plot a little lighter, but it was still very good. The narration was EXCELLENT!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Susan Tipton Portland, Or United States 05-20-15
    Susan Tipton Portland, Or United States 05-20-15 Listener Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Lackluster Story in Usually Good Series"
    What did you like best about The Prime Minister's Secret Agent? What did you like least?

    I have enjoyed these stories previously for the atmosphere of camaraderie among the young people doing espionage work during WWII and that is what I enjoyed about this book once it got going. I did not at all like the first part with the draconian Maggie; I understand the plot device, how she comes out of her depression but this first part seemed to drag. I also was disappointed in how Maggie, who is as a character written to be so smart didn't tumble to the black sores on her friends' bodies and their mysterious death being somehow related to the black sores she saw on a dead sheep early in the story There was also an odd interjection of she and her partner investigating the lab where Anthrax is being tested and they both pop a sugar cube they find on a table into their mouths. I did expect that they would start showing symptoms of Anthrax but no- no more mentioned. What was this about?


    How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

    I would have shortened that first part in some way to show her depression and dispiritedness without having it take up so much of the story. I also would have eliminated that sugar cube incident-it added nothing to the narrative- maybe some tension was intended as we wondered if they would have contracted Anthrax? I would have had Maggie begin to have a glimmer of suspicion about symptoms being related between the sheep and people.


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    The narrator was extremely difficult to listen to; She narrated in three or four tones that never varied in their tone levels. It created a little tune that I found my self repeating in my head while listening. The male voices, no matter whom was represented had one voice- a raspy contralto. She did the female voices OK in dialogue but that repetitive inflection in ongoing narrative was hard to listen to.


    If this book were a movie would you go see it?

    Doubtful. There was not enough of a plot.


    Any additional comments?

    A different narrator is needed. I could not listen to another book narrated by Susan Duerden. Maybe the Maggie stories have run their course. They have for me.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tracy L. Platz Caddo Mills, TX United States 03-28-15
    Tracy L. Platz Caddo Mills, TX United States 03-28-15 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Definatly a transition story"

    This was a transition story. By the time things finally got interesting, the book ended. I'm looking forward to the next in the series because I hope MacNeal has all her characters back where she wants them.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.