We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
The Killing Hour | [Lisa Gardner]

The Killing Hour

A serial killer watches and waits. Each time, he takes two victims, preparing the first's body with all the clues the police need to find the second, who is still alive. The clock ticks, and the second one can still be saved. But the police never make it in time. The second one dies. For years, the killer has plagued the city with the same pattern, but the police never pick up on it quickly enough.
Regular Price:$31.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

A serial killer watches and waits. Each time, he takes two victims, preparing the first's body with all the clues the police need to find the second, who is still alive. The clock ticks, and the second one can still be saved. But the police never make it in time. The second one dies. For years, the killer has plagued the city with the same pattern, but the police never pick up on it quickly enough. Now, two girls have disappeared in the midst of a daunting heat wave. Rookie FBI agent Kimberly Quincy knows the killer's deadline can be met. But she'll have to break some rules in order to beat an exceedingly vicious criminal at a game he's had years to perfect.

©2003 Lisa Gardner, Inc.; (P)2003 Books on Tape, Inc.

What the Critics Say

"With tight plotting, an ear for forensic detail, and a dash of romance, this is a truly satisfying sizzler in the tradition of Tess Gerritsen and Tami Hoag." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (536 )
5 star
 (209)
4 star
 (202)
3 star
 (87)
2 star
 (22)
1 star
 (16)
Overall
4.3 (231 )
5 star
 (113)
4 star
 (79)
3 star
 (30)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.1 (236 )
5 star
 (108)
4 star
 (79)
3 star
 (31)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (12)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Capnmax Virginia, USA 05-16-05
    Capnmax Virginia, USA 05-16-05

    Capnmax

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    398
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Well done, unique!"

    This book was written for those who think. If you wish for a book where everything is in outline form and the characters are superhuman and above making mistakes this book is not for you;watch a movie instead. The book seemed slow in the beginning as things were developed and then the launch. Well written, interesting story, beleivable characters, real heart... I will read more of her work. Not the book factory standard mystery.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    D. Cox USA 05-11-05
    D. Cox USA 05-11-05 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "What a waste of time and money"

    First of all the narrator is really bad, her pathetic attempts in voice changes make them sound like cartoon characters instead of humans and does not help the already week and predictable story, her voice is annoying and whining. You try to like the characters but you can't because they lacked depth or continuity, by far this is the worse book I have ever read. I will not pick anything from this author or the narrator ever again. It was BAD, BAD, BAD !!!!

    3 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Hugo Midrand, South Africa 06-03-05
    Hugo Midrand, South Africa 06-03-05 Member Since 2002
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "I have to go and buy the book!!"

    Great story, but I had to stop listening because of the narrator's irritating attempts to imitate male voices. I can not recall that male narrators try to sound like women, so why Ms Fields try to sound like men is beyond me.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ann Newington, GA, USA 04-29-05
    Ann Newington, GA, USA 04-29-05
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    Overall
    "GREAT BOOK!!!"

    WOW , I REALLY ENJOYED!!

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 61-64 of 64 results PREVIOUS167NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.