We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Killing Hour Audiobook

The Killing Hour

Regular Price:$31.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A serial killer watches and waits. Each time, he takes two victims, preparing the first's body with all the clues the police need to find the second, who is still alive. The clock ticks, and the second one can still be saved. But the police never make it in time. The second one dies. For years, the killer has plagued the city with the same pattern, but the police never pick up on it quickly enough. Now, two girls have disappeared in the midst of a daunting heat wave. Rookie FBI agent Kimberly Quincy knows the killer's deadline can be met. But she'll have to break some rules in order to beat an exceedingly vicious criminal at a game he's had years to perfect.

©2003 Lisa Gardner, Inc.; (P)2003 Books on Tape, Inc.

What the Critics Say

"With tight plotting, an ear for forensic detail, and a dash of romance, this is a truly satisfying sizzler in the tradition of Tess Gerritsen and Tami Hoag." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (806 )
5 star
 (366)
4 star
 (281)
3 star
 (109)
2 star
 (31)
1 star
 (19)
Overall
4.4 (463 )
5 star
 (261)
4 star
 (136)
3 star
 (52)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.2 (467 )
5 star
 (237)
4 star
 (139)
3 star
 (56)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (24)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Kathleen Burbank, CA, USA 05-23-07
    Kathleen Burbank, CA, USA 05-23-07
    HELPFUL VOTES
    43
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "A wonderful read!"

    Although I am not a great fan of murder mysteries, this one is excellently crafted and many times had me on the edge of my seat. The characters were appealing and fully fleshed out, and the story was intricately plotted but totally believable. Anna Fields did a wonderful job as always with the reading. I can't recommend this too highly.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pal*Joey 07-29-06
    Pal*Joey 07-29-06 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    118
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    789
    52
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    1
    Overall
    "Very Good!"

    Keeps you on your toe's and guessing. I was listening at every possible moment and enjoyed the ride.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dana Knecht Wayne, PA USA 05-08-06
    Dana Knecht Wayne, PA USA 05-08-06 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "awesome"

    I thought this book was awesome, a great listen.
    I was on the edge of my seat.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lynne Mililani, HI, USA 01-17-06
    Lynne Mililani, HI, USA 01-17-06
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Virginia"

    I learned a lot about the state of Virginia while listening to this book. I was so intrigued that I followed the clues by researching places mentioned on the Internet. I have discussed this book with people more than I have any other books I've listened to. Lisa Gardner made me see a different Virginia than I am use to.

    I'm giving this 4 stars due to the above.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lisa Santee, CA, USA 10-09-05
    Lisa Santee, CA, USA 10-09-05 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    98
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    84
    38
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    "Wonderful!"

    I loved this book, the narrator was perfect, the plot was good, the action fast-paced, the characters likable. Great listen! I've already ordered more from this writer/reader team.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lori Anchorage, AK, United States 08-17-05
    Lori Anchorage, AK, United States 08-17-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    91
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    109
    24
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Riveting"

    Stop, hear this audiobook - I enjoyed this tremendously. The voices were a little cheesy but consistent. Lisa Garnder is a great mystery writer.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Donn Shumway 07-14-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    355
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    "Painful to listen to..."

    The story is weak, the dialog is juvenile, and the plot is threadbare. There were a few characters I liked, but very little depth to any of them. The narrator was AWFUL. All the male voices sounded like constipated women. The accents were pitiful. Do not bother with this book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Terri Terre Haute, IN, United States 07-12-05
    Terri Terre Haute, IN, United States 07-12-05 Member Since 2001
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    110
    1
    Overall
    "So-so book, horrible narrator"

    I have to agree with others before me, the narrator of this book was awful. Not only was her voice monotone and uninteresting, her attempts at male voices were laughable. As far as the rest of the book goes...I wouldn't know, I couldn't bring myself to sit through more than an hour of it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joanne 06-29-05
    Joanne 06-29-05
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    "great listen- didn't want to stop"

    lisa gardner is now on my favorite author list, the killing hour was great- very suspenseful, you had to keep listening to see if they'd find the girls- kept your interest throughout and now I can't wait to listen to all she wrote!! not too gruesome & just enough love interest thrown in to make you smile.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jerry Ashburn, VA, USA 06-28-05
    Jerry Ashburn, VA, USA 06-28-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Grabs you in the first minutes....."

    And never quite lets you go. The story is tightly woven, the narrator is great. It was especially interesting to be listening to this book during the first heat wave of the summer here in the Washington DC area:) I'll be sure to check out the author's other offerings.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.