We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Killing Hour Audiobook

The Killing Hour

Regular Price:$31.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A serial killer watches and waits. Each time, he takes two victims, preparing the first's body with all the clues the police need to find the second, who is still alive. The clock ticks, and the second one can still be saved. But the police never make it in time. The second one dies. For years, the killer has plagued the city with the same pattern, but the police never pick up on it quickly enough. Now, two girls have disappeared in the midst of a daunting heat wave. Rookie FBI agent Kimberly Quincy knows the killer's deadline can be met. But she'll have to break some rules in order to beat an exceedingly vicious criminal at a game he's had years to perfect.

©2003 Lisa Gardner, Inc.; (P)2003 Books on Tape, Inc.

What the Critics Say

"With tight plotting, an ear for forensic detail, and a dash of romance, this is a truly satisfying sizzler in the tradition of Tess Gerritsen and Tami Hoag." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (909 )
5 star
 (439)
4 star
 (300)
3 star
 (116)
2 star
 (34)
1 star
 (20)
Overall
4.4 (556 )
5 star
 (328)
4 star
 (152)
3 star
 (56)
2 star
 (14)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.2 (560 )
5 star
 (304)
4 star
 (154)
3 star
 (63)
2 star
 (13)
1 star
 (26)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Marie Stevens 07-06-08 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    189
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "good author"

    glad I found this author. really enjoyed the story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 06-13-08 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    29
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Found another good one"

    I have been listening to books for quite some time so it is nice when you discover a different author to listen to.
    Having lived in VA for nearly 15 yrs, I was impressed with the reality of this book.
    Great story line that kept you guessing almost to the end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sandra S. Anderson Orinda, CA USA 04-09-08
    Sandra S. Anderson Orinda, CA USA 04-09-08 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Kept Me Enthralled"

    A very interesting twist. Vintage Lisa Gardner.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Scarlett 03-07-08
    Scarlett 03-07-08
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    78
    1
    Overall
    "disappointing"

    The reviews I read for this book and others by this author made me hopeful that I had found another mystery writer with a series I had not read or listened to. I was very disappointed by this book though. It is really a good story that has some good plot twists and lots of suspense. I even liked the characters. That's what made it so disappointing!! The worst thing is that the narrator really is terrible! It would have been much better if she wouldn't have tried to imitate male voices. The male voices were laughable at first and irritating as time went on. Another thing I found irritating was that there were some hyper-emotional scenes that didn't really seem necessary to the story. I'm not sure if they would have been as irritating if the narrator had been better though. I found myself wishing for scenes to end and just get back to the story. I think I will try one of this author's later books because writers do improve with experience, and the newer ones are read by a different narrator. It looked like this was the authors first or at least an early book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Oma Conroe, TX, USA 05-31-07
    Oma Conroe, TX, USA 05-31-07 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Roadtrip worthy"

    The Killing Hour was filled with twists and turns along with a multitude of interesting facts about Virginia. What I enjoyed the most was Anna Fields’ style of narration. It took a few minutes for me to adjust to her vocal changes but once I did, they really added to the novel's appeal. She uses accents, volume and tonal changes to enhance the story and put the listener into the novel. I did not find this distracting and am going to check out what else she has narrated.

    Overall listening to this little novel was a fun diversion from the everyday grind. If your going on a road trip I recommend it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kathleen Burbank, CA, USA 05-23-07
    Kathleen Burbank, CA, USA 05-23-07
    HELPFUL VOTES
    43
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "A wonderful read!"

    Although I am not a great fan of murder mysteries, this one is excellently crafted and many times had me on the edge of my seat. The characters were appealing and fully fleshed out, and the story was intricately plotted but totally believable. Anna Fields did a wonderful job as always with the reading. I can't recommend this too highly.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pal*Joey 07-29-06
    Pal*Joey 07-29-06 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    122
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    818
    54
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    1
    Overall
    "Very Good!"

    Keeps you on your toe's and guessing. I was listening at every possible moment and enjoyed the ride.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dana Knecht Wayne, PA USA 05-08-06
    Dana Knecht Wayne, PA USA 05-08-06 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "awesome"

    I thought this book was awesome, a great listen.
    I was on the edge of my seat.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lynne Mililani, HI, USA 01-17-06
    Lynne Mililani, HI, USA 01-17-06
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Virginia"

    I learned a lot about the state of Virginia while listening to this book. I was so intrigued that I followed the clues by researching places mentioned on the Internet. I have discussed this book with people more than I have any other books I've listened to. Lisa Gardner made me see a different Virginia than I am use to.

    I'm giving this 4 stars due to the above.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lisa Santee, CA, USA 10-09-05
    Lisa Santee, CA, USA 10-09-05 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    101
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    84
    38
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    "Wonderful!"

    I loved this book, the narrator was perfect, the plot was good, the action fast-paced, the characters likable. Great listen! I've already ordered more from this writer/reader team.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.