We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
The Killing Hour Audiobook

The Killing Hour

A serial killer watches and waits. Each time, he takes two victims, preparing the first's body with all the clues the police need to find the second, who is still alive. The clock ticks, and the second one can still be saved. But the police never make it in time. The second one dies. For years, the killer has plagued the city with the same pattern, but the police never pick up on it quickly enough.
    • 1 audiobook per month
    • 180,000+ titles to choose from
    • $14.95 per month after free trial

Publisher's Summary

A serial killer watches and waits. Each time, he takes two victims, preparing the first's body with all the clues the police need to find the second, who is still alive. The clock ticks, and the second one can still be saved. But the police never make it in time. The second one dies. For years, the killer has plagued the city with the same pattern, but the police never pick up on it quickly enough. Now, two girls have disappeared in the midst of a daunting heat wave. Rookie FBI agent Kimberly Quincy knows the killer's deadline can be met. But she'll have to break some rules in order to beat an exceedingly vicious criminal at a game he's had years to perfect.

©2003 Lisa Gardner, Inc.; (P)2003 Books on Tape, Inc.

What the Critics Say

"With tight plotting, an ear for forensic detail, and a dash of romance, this is a truly satisfying sizzler in the tradition of Tess Gerritsen and Tami Hoag." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (650 )
5 star
 (270)
4 star
 (238)
3 star
 (100)
2 star
 (26)
1 star
 (16)
Overall
4.3 (328 )
5 star
 (171)
4 star
 (104)
3 star
 (42)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.2 (331 )
5 star
 (159)
4 star
 (105)
3 star
 (44)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (16)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Terri Terre Haute, IN, United States 07-12-05
    Terri Terre Haute, IN, United States 07-12-05 Member Since 2001
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    107
    1
    Overall
    "So-so book, horrible narrator"

    I have to agree with others before me, the narrator of this book was awful. Not only was her voice monotone and uninteresting, her attempts at male voices were laughable. As far as the rest of the book goes...I wouldn't know, I couldn't bring myself to sit through more than an hour of it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joanne 06-29-05
    Joanne 06-29-05 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    "great listen- didn't want to stop"

    lisa gardner is now on my favorite author list, the killing hour was great- very suspenseful, you had to keep listening to see if they'd find the girls- kept your interest throughout and now I can't wait to listen to all she wrote!! not too gruesome & just enough love interest thrown in to make you smile.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jerry Ashburn, VA, USA 06-28-05
    Jerry Ashburn, VA, USA 06-28-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Grabs you in the first minutes....."

    And never quite lets you go. The story is tightly woven, the narrator is great. It was especially interesting to be listening to this book during the first heat wave of the summer here in the Washington DC area:) I'll be sure to check out the author's other offerings.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Myron Ferguson, MO, USA 06-22-05
    Myron Ferguson, MO, USA 06-22-05 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    41
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    134
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Enjoyable and Entertaining"

    This is a good book. I have read or listened to better written suspense or mystery novels, but I still found this one enjoyable. It is predictable and somewhat staged. The author suspends reality from time to time to move the plot along. She also added a few pages just to increase the volume of pages. It still has an interesting concept.

    The lead female character is a little too brooding for my taste. I am not interested in her or her family.

    The narrator did a decent job but she should not try to do male voices. Her attempts at trying for a deeper male voice just made all the mail characters sound like they had a head cold. It was more funny than distracting.

    Overall, I did enjoy the book. I may even listen to it again.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Laura E. 06-03-05
    Laura E. 06-03-05
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    "Best I've listened to in a long time"

    I got this book on cd, hoping desperately I would like it, since I'd never heard of the author. It gripped me from the beginning, and kept me till the end. The narrator makes a huge difference, and Anna Fields is terriffic. I liked the way the story focussed on different individuals, and I liked the tenderness the reader feels for each of the characters (except, ultimately, the 'perp'.)Don't hestitate to get this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Edward BROOKLYN, NY, USA 05-29-05
    Edward BROOKLYN, NY, USA 05-29-05 Member Since 2002
    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    267
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "i loved the book"

    i read a negative review but like most critics they had it wrong....this book was enjoyable and entertaining. the critic didn't like the voice and tone of the person performing the audio book and i can understand that "to each his own" when it comes to voices. The story was solid and interesting.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    cat man 05-21-05
    cat man 05-21-05

    Cat Lover

    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Almost a 5 star.........."

    I thoroughly enjoyed the story. The reader, unfortunately, came up short. Her male voices sounded like octogeneranians from " moonshine" country

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Virginia, USA 05-16-05
    Amazon Customer Virginia, USA 05-16-05 Member Since 2012

    Capnmax

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    404
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Well done, unique!"

    This book was written for those who think. If you wish for a book where everything is in outline form and the characters are superhuman and above making mistakes this book is not for you;watch a movie instead. The book seemed slow in the beginning as things were developed and then the launch. Well written, interesting story, beleivable characters, real heart... I will read more of her work. Not the book factory standard mystery.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    D. Cox USA 05-11-05
    D. Cox USA 05-11-05 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "What a waste of time and money"

    First of all the narrator is really bad, her pathetic attempts in voice changes make them sound like cartoon characters instead of humans and does not help the already week and predictable story, her voice is annoying and whining. You try to like the characters but you can't because they lacked depth or continuity, by far this is the worse book I have ever read. I will not pick anything from this author or the narrator ever again. It was BAD, BAD, BAD !!!!

    3 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    PFHugo Winterbach 06-03-05 Member Since 2002
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "I have to go and buy the book!!"

    Great story, but I had to stop listening because of the narrator's irritating attempts to imitate male voices. I can not recall that male narrators try to sound like women, so why Ms Fields try to sound like men is beyond me.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.