We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Ice Child Audiobook

The Ice Child

Regular Price:$16.42
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Number-one international best seller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg's new psychological thriller featuring Detective Patrik Hedström and Erica Falck - irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.

January, Fjällbacka. A seminaked girl wanders through the woods in freezing cold weather. When she finally reaches the road, a car comes out of nowhere. It doesn't manage to stop. By the time Detective Patrik Hedström receives word of the accident, the girl has already been identified. Four months ago she disappeared on her way home from the local riding school, and no one has seen her since. It quickly becomes clear that she has been subjected to unimaginably brutal treatment. And it's likely she's not the only one.

Meanwhile, Patrik's wife, crime writer Erica Falck, is looking into an old case - a family tragedy that led to a man's death. His wife was convicted of murder, but Erica senses that something isn't right. What is the woman hiding? As Erica digs deeper, the past starts to cast a shadow over the present, and Patrik is forced to see his investigation in a whole new light.

©2015 Camilla Lackberg (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the Critics Say

"The hottest female writer in Sweden." (Independent)
"Heart-stopping and heart-warming...a masterclass in Scandinavian crime writing." (Val McDermid)
"Pacy...with flashing insight into the dark places of the psyche." (Sunday Times)
"Lackberg is an expert at mixing scenes of domestic cosiness with blood-curdling horror." (Guardian)
"Both chilling and thrilling." (Sun)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (3 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.0 (2 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.0 (3 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
Sort by:
  • LMV
    3/23/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Audiobook is disappointing - rush job?"

    I love Camilla Lackberg books but the audio version of the latest is a bit frustrating.
    Firstly the narrator gets the authors name wrong ('Camilla Lackberry', more than once), he messed up pronouns of characters, and says a few words incorrectly.
    Also the editing is clearly a rush job & there are hardly any pauses when scenes change so it's confusing.
    Lastly I don't know if it is the translation or if Camilla Lackberg is not up to par for this book, but the writing, phrases used & descriptions seem a bit lazy (the same sentence used within pages of each other).
    The story itself is enjoyable but these annoying issues have really spoiled this for me.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • D
    suffolk, United Kingdom
    3/18/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story but a bit too much domestic detail"

    This was a good atmospheric story slowed down somewhat by the author's focus on the rather unbelievably cosy domestic life of the married couple who are the main protagonists. As often happens with audio books any repetition or slow patches in the narrative are more obvious than when you read them yourself, well, I think. Still, this is better than lots of other crime offerings in the audible shop.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • S
    4/24/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Questionable translation"
    Any additional comments?

    I agree with the review from LMV. I have listened to all the previous books in the series and enjoyed them. For this one the translation is weak and with Robin Bowerman's mellifluous tone it made the whole experience like listening to an Enid Blyton Famous Five book. The editing too was clearly rushed with hardly a breath taken by Robin Bowerman between scenes so that you lose track of where and when you are in the story. However, the storyline was intriguing if a little far fetched at the end.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Jessica
    4/2/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I could not stop listening!!!"

    Loved it. Although the jumping around got a bit confusing due to the lack of pauses or breaks between chapters/scenes. Amazing twist at the end.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    9/16/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "As always, a stunning story"

    Great story. I was very surprised that Camilla was introduced as Camilla Lackberry though! Very sloppy and unprofessional.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.