We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Ex Audiobook

The Ex: A Novel

Regular Price:$20.78
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder - but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.

Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it.

Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene ever since the shooting of his wife, Molly, by a 15-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman in last night's party dress, barefoot, enjoying a champagne picnic alone, reading his favorite novel. Everything about her reminds him of what he used to have with Molly. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a message on a popular website after he mentions the encounter. Days later, that same beautiful stranger responds and invites Jack to meet her in person at the waterfront. That's when Jack's world falls apart.

Olivia Randall is one of New York City's best criminal defense lawyers. When she hears that her former fiancé, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide - and that one of the victims was connected to his wife's murder - there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is, who would go to such great lengths to frame him - and why?

For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, to absolve herself of guilt from a tragic decision, a secret she has held for 20 years. But as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?

©2016 Alafair Burke (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (534 )
5 star
 (196)
4 star
 (205)
3 star
 (99)
2 star
 (25)
1 star
 (9)
Overall
4.0 (483 )
5 star
 (179)
4 star
 (160)
3 star
 (100)
2 star
 (38)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.2 (485 )
5 star
 (232)
4 star
 (152)
3 star
 (70)
2 star
 (20)
1 star
 (11)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Laura McCollough FAIRBANKS, AK, US 02-17-16
    Laura McCollough FAIRBANKS, AK, US 02-17-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A must listen!"

    Loved it! Kept me engaged in trying to figure out who done it. The narrator was very easy to listen to and had great differences between the characters.

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Krissy 02-07-16
    Krissy 02-07-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Pretty fun"

    I liked The Ex. It was fun and fast. The narrator is one of my favorites. Great vacation listen!

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mary D. 05-02-16
    Mary D. 05-02-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Page turner"

    Excellent story. The author takes you swiftly through a multilayered mystery toward an ending that surprises! Highly recommend.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elizabeth Talbott 02-15-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "compelling...an audio "page turner""

    excellent narration, nice variety in the voices. interesting and clever story. hope to read more from this author.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Julie 01-29-16
    Julie 01-29-16 Member Since 2016

    Say something about yourself!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    45
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    485
    37
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent, really excellent story"
    Any additional comments?

    I find it difficult to try to review this story without giving away many of the surprises of the story. I found the plot really suspenseful and could feel the ending coming but like the proverbial "train wreck" I couldn't put the brakes on to avoid the ending. Alafair Burke is an excellent writer and a really talented storyteller.

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jean K. Grant Ormond Beach, Fl. United States 03-22-16
    Jean K. Grant Ormond Beach, Fl. United States 03-22-16 Member Since 2016

    book lover

    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    134
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Irritating narrator"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    I haven't finished the book but will buy the print version because I think it is a good story but I can't stand listening to the narrator.


    6 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Leawood, Kansas, United States 02-06-16
    Amazon Customer Leawood, Kansas, United States 02-06-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "not worth it"

    Struggled to finish. The story line was obscured by the annoying narration. I would not recommend this one

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lana Lee Plum PORTLAND, OR, US 05-07-16
    Lana Lee Plum PORTLAND, OR, US 05-07-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    51
    50
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Old loves can be hard to prove innocent."

    The examination of relationships from the past which become tangled in a case of a defence attorney in New York city. Broken engagements could be bewildering in defending a well known author.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michelle Souza 05-05-16 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hope to see more by this Author!"
    What did you love best about The Ex?

    It was a great story that unfolded slowly.


    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    Made you want to keep listening to uncover more of the story


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brittany Hill 03-10-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story! Wish it was longer"

    I didn't want to stop listening! The narrator was simply amazing. The end, I kind of knew who it was but the story had many twist and turns. I only wish it was longer and gave a little more backstory on Olivia. She was so like-able and relatable. I'm interested in listening to more from this author.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.