We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Devil You Know: A Novel Audiobook

The Devil You Know: A Novel

Regular Price:$24.47
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In the vein of Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects and A.S.A. Harrison's The Silent Wife, The Devil You Know is a thrilling debut about a rookie reporter whose memories of the murder of her childhood best friend bring danger - and a stalker - right to her doorstep.

The year is 1993. Rookie crime-beat reporter Evie Jones is haunted by the unsolved murder of her best friend Lianne Gagnon, who was killed in 1982, back when both girls were eleven. The suspected killer, a repeat offender named Robert Cameron, was never arrested, leaving Lianne's case cold.

Now 21 and living alone for the first time, Evie is obsessively drawn to finding out what really happened to Lianne. She leans on another childhood friend, David Patton, for help - but every clue they uncover seems to lead to an unimaginable conclusion. As she gets closer and closer to the truth, Evie becomes convinced that the killer is still at large - and that he's coming back for her.

From critically acclaimed author Elisabeth de Mariaffi comes a spine-tingling debut about secrets long buried and obsession that cannot be controlled.

©2015 Elisabeth de Mariaffi (P)2014 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.3 (124 )
5 star
 (16)
4 star
 (47)
3 star
 (35)
2 star
 (15)
1 star
 (11)
Overall
3.2 (114 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (35)
3 star
 (35)
2 star
 (13)
1 star
 (16)
Story
3.8 (116 )
5 star
 (37)
4 star
 (41)
3 star
 (22)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (8)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    JIMENA LAKEWOOD, CA, United States 01-22-15
    JIMENA LAKEWOOD, CA, United States 01-22-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    32
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    208
    32
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awful"

    This wins the worst audiobook I bought in a while. Story is so weak, the narrative is discombobulated and absolutely disorganized, goes back and forth in overly descriptive dumb information, very repetitive and just bad, weak, lame. Nobody should have to endure this terrible book. How could this have any good reviews? I am a listener of many genres and enjoy most my purchases but this is terrible.

    10 of 13 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Christine C 01-21-15
    Christine C 01-21-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    86
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Terrible"

    Skip this one. I actually couldn't finish it. The narrator made it even worse with her monotone voice. Hated it

    10 of 13 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 08-14-15 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Pretty good story"

    There where a few confusing moments but U think it may be to put you in the main characters state of mind. Over all a good book. book. The narrator was very good would definitely listen to her again.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alida F. Rhode 02-27-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Overall, good read"

    This book was very slow moving in the beginning, but ended up being a great book. I would recommend this one.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J.C. 02-19-15
    J.C. 02-19-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    35
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    108
    28
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Scary!"

    This was a great storyline and it keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout most of the book. A lot of twists and turns to throw one off. The narrator was excellent and just made a great book even better. JC

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Najima Rainey 01-24-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    229
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    157
    45
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wasted time/money..."

    This isn't a mystery. It's 10 hours of your life wasted by a story which is ultimately stupid and in the company of a narrator whose unfathomably irritating, whiny, and unlikable. Don't do it!

    7 of 10 people found this review helpful
  •  
    W Perry Hall 01-22-15

    One master-passion in the br east, like Aaron's serpent, swallows all the rest. A. Pope

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1970
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    749
    314
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    129
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Worthy Psychological Suspense Novel"

    In her debut psychological thriller revolving around Evie, a young newspaper reporter, set in Toronto from 1982 to 1993, Elisabeth de Mariaffi deftly plies her wares at suspense with the uncertainty of childhood memories, lingering nightmares and possible paranoia from a 12-year-old friend's abduction and murder, cults in the Branch Davidians in Waco and the Charles Manson murders, stalkers, paranoia, dental records, a *basement* and a *cabin in the woods*.

    I expect Ms. de Mariaffi to excel in this genre with such a good start and look forward to her next book.

    As always, Andi Arndt magnificently plays the role of the young, equivocal female protagonist. For my money, Ms. Arndt is the *bomb* among her female counterparts.

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jenny Mefford 01-25-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    47
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unexpected"

    I Couldn't listening it was a book that was unpredictable at the end. Just when you thought you knew what was going to happen the author changed it

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    fxtrtr 02-28-15
    fxtrtr 02-28-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    44
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    47
    29
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Bland and boring"

    I just couldn't get into this audiobook, despite having high hopes for it. The writing is bland and lacks energy. The narration is lifeless. I don't think I will attempt another book by this author.

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ethna M. O'Shea 01-23-15

    bookworm

    HELPFUL VOTES
    32
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    92
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "BORING!!!!!"

    Thought I would tear all my hair out! Argggg Will I never find a good book to listen to?!?!? Hated this book. So disappointed after reading rave reviews. Were we listening to the same story???? Completely repetitive with no action whatsoever. Main character keeps acting contrary to her own personality traits. Makes no sense. Just awful!!!!!! Sorry. Only finished it because I spent so much for it. Rethinking my membership.

    4 of 7 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.