We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
The Deceit | [Tom Knox]

The Deceit

When a renowned historian is found dead in a cave in the Sahara, his former student Ryan Harper vows to find out what happened. Rumour suggests he’d uncovered a priceless religious text, obsessively hidden for centuries by a network of holy men. Meanwhile, on Cornwall’s remote western moorlands disturbing rituals are taking place - rituals that appear to have Egyptian connections. Working the case, DI Karen Trevithick is caught up in a dangerous mystery that will threaten the person she loves most.
Regular Price:$18.07
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

High-concept adventure thriller set in Egypt and Cornwall. What connects a lost hoard of ancient religious texts with a revival in satanic rituals? Perfect for fans of Wilbur Smith.

An ancient secret....

When a renowned historian is found dead in a cave in the Sahara, his former student Ryan Harper vows to find out what happened. Rumour suggests he’d uncovered a priceless religious text, obsessively hidden for centuries by a network of holy men.

Brought to light...

Meanwhile, on Cornwall’s remote western moorlands disturbing rituals are taking place - rituals that appear to have Egyptian connections. Working the case, DI Karen Trevithick is caught up in a dangerous mystery that will threaten the person she loves most.

Will shake the world.

With the help of filmmaker Helen Fassbinder, Ryan finds himself in a race against time to decipher the ancient text. Pursued across Egypt by those who would use its secrets to devastating effect, Ryan draws ever closer to an unspeakable truth. A truth that will expose the most shocking deceit the world has ever known….

©2013 Tom Knox (P)2013 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the Critics Say

"Tom Knox knows the DNA of an astonishing thriller. The Marks of Cain is a compelling and frightening novel, and it may well be the most controversial thriller since The Da Vinci Code. Action, history, religion, and genetics combine for a gripping read that will keep you reading late into the night." (Jeff Abbott, best-selling author of Panic and Fear)

"Steeped in both blood and history and keeps up a scorching pace from start to finish." (Northern Echo)

"Knox writes with a clean efficiency. The characters are nicely wrought.… Best of all, Knox really knows his stuff and his discourses on ancient man, human sacrifice, demons of the mid-east and obscure pre-Judaic religions are all woven into the plot seamlessly. I'm reminded of why I always liked these type of books, because not only do the best ones grip and propel you through their pages but they also leave you a little more knowledgeable than when you started" (Shotsmag)

What Members Say


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • BP1
    Leicestershire, UK
    8/19/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can I give it 3.5 Stars?"
    Would you try another book written by Tom Knox or narrated by Nick Taylor?

    Possibly, but it wouldn't be my first choice.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    To be honest, the main characters are fine but nothing standout.


    Which character – as performed by Nick Taylor – was your favourite?

    Nick Taylor read it well but no one particular favourite.


    Did The Deceit inspire you to do anything?

    Not particularly I'm afraid.


    Any additional comments?

    Its OK but it isn't anything special.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.