We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Cutting Audiobook

The Cutting: A McCabe and Savage Thriller, Book 1

Regular Price:$23.62
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The first novel in the nationally best-selling McCabe and Savage series - perfect for fans of John Sandford and C. J. Box.

Someone is stealing the hearts of beautiful women....

Detective Mike McCabe moved from a top homicide job with the NYPD to Portland, Maine, to leave his failed marriage and suspicions of wrongdoing behind, and to find a more peaceful life for himself and his 13-year-old daughter.

But the small New England city is not nearly as safe as he thought.

On a warm September night, a missing high school athlete is found dead in a scrap-metal yard, her heart removed from her body with surgical precision. As outrage over the killing spreads, a young businesswoman disappears while out on a morning jog.

McCabe is certain both crimes are the work of one man - a murderer skilled in cardiac surgery who is using his scalpel to target young women. With the clock ticking, McCabe and his partner, Maggie Savage, find themselves in a desperate race against time to find and rescue the missing woman before she becomes the next victim of the sadistic killer's blade.

©2009 James Hayman (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (220 )
5 star
 (92)
4 star
 (92)
3 star
 (21)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (7)
Overall
4.2 (195 )
5 star
 (89)
4 star
 (72)
3 star
 (25)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.1 (196 )
5 star
 (85)
4 star
 (72)
3 star
 (25)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (6)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Me & My Girls 11-15-15 Member Since 2016

    The wisdom is reaching far beyond what we see. Delight in the journey

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1089
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2520
    557
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    60
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Okay For A First Book"

    If I was grading this book I'd give it a good solid C though in my opinion it ran a couple of hours longer than necessary. The lead detective Mike McCabe is an interesting character and his new partner Maggie Savage will take a larger role in future books if the book jackets are indicative she will. There was a large buildup for the return of McCabe's ex-wife to see their daughter, then that storyline just fizzled out. Still, this selection is promising and I will give another audio in the series a try.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wayne Matthews, NC 04-25-16
    Wayne Matthews, NC 04-25-16 Member Since 2016

    I love espionage, legal, and detective thrillers but listen to most genres. Very frequent reviews. No plot spoilers! Please excuse my typos!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    8378
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1522
    1085
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    259
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A very different serial killer novel"

    The Cutting is Book 1 of the 4 book McCabe and Savage detective series by James Hayman. I earlier posted reviews here at Audible for Books 4 and 2. Book 2 is the best of the three books, but The Cutting is the most interesting. The novel is about young athletic people, mostly women, being kidnapped and having their hearts cut out with the skill of a surgeon while they are still alive. I'm not going to describe the cases further because it would ruin the story for the listener.

    Stephen Mendel narrates all four novels in the series. He is excellent.

    I recommend this series and look forward to listening to Book 3 which is the highest rated.

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rusty 11-23-15
    Rusty 11-23-15 Member Since 2016

    Good Books Don't Promote Violence

    HELPFUL VOTES
    593
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    526
    511
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    20
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Mainely Killers"

    I might have enjoyed The Cutting if the author had spent more effort developing the main characters McCabe and Savage and less time describing the grisly murders.

    McCabe had potential to be an endearing male hero - dedicated single father & brave public servant. However he took crazy risks which a seasoned police officer would not do. Very little background about Savage was given, so she stayed McCabe's trusted partner with no personality of her own.

    I thought the murder mystery was too easy to figure out and there were no lighter moments to balance out the graphic violence. Don't care enough to get the next book of series.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ted Lancaster, PA, United States 12-01-15
    Ted Lancaster, PA, United States 12-01-15 Member Since 2010

    Don't know what I want to be when I grow up. Trip's cool though. Use Audible to make gym-training sane... And rip my imagination.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2712
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    482
    402
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    283
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Is It The Story? Or Its Telling? Hmmmm..."

    This isn't a really clever, 0r new plot. It's filled with the sort of furniture that mystery readers expect. Uh-huh. But it's told by James Hayman so easily, you know, the way terrific golfers work around a legendary course. Sure we've seen the same holes, and even the same lies... Yet, leading pros face, then make shots that leave us appreciating every one.

    Anyway, that's what Hayman can do... And besides, just visiting one of those courses is fun. I liked "The Cutting" that way. It's a commercial performed well by Stephen Mendel. Yep, I'll look for Hayman to let Mike McCabe and Maggie Savage grow in this series.

    The guy can tell a story.

    8 of 11 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kathleen HUDSON, OH, United States 11-09-15
    Kathleen HUDSON, OH, United States 11-09-15 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    106
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    279
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    15
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What an interesting thriller!"

    James Hayman is a brand new discovery for me. I thoroughly enjoyed the first book in this series and I'm ordering the second. With these kinds of books a lot rides on whether you like the lead detectives and I most definitely did. The writing was very good. People really came to life. I don't want to get into the plot (I hate spoilers), but it certainly held my interest and kept me guessing. The setting in Maine, a beautiful state, is a bonus. I'm so happy about finding this series.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    L. O. Pardue Atlanta, GA United States 02-02-16
    L. O. Pardue Atlanta, GA United States 02-02-16 Member Since 2010

    I love to read books set in interesting places or historical settings. I especially love mysteries and thrillers.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1109
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    125
    119
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    126
    17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Average Start, but Could be a Good Series"

    This is James Hayman's debut of a new police procedural series. I felt only moderate interest for the story and characters -- which I realize is not a glowing review. Yet, there was enough of a promise of good writing that I think this author will improve tremendously with some experience. I can't help but notice that the reviews get much better with following stories in this series. I will definitely give it another try -- but my expectations will be much higher.

    I feel there wasn't so much story and character development that it would be OK to go directly to book 2 and skip over the first book in the series.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Yvonne Southfield, mi, United States 05-28-16
    Yvonne Southfield, mi, United States 05-28-16 Member Since 2015

    I live to ride my bike.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    392
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    739
    391
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    26
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nothing to write home about..."

    ...or to write a review about. There is nothing about Mike McCabe that makes him a compelling detective to me. I like the caustically funny or arrogant, but always right, kind of investigator. I like the kick ass and will not apologize kind of detective. Mike is not that kind of person.

    Mike has an eidetic memory but it is not really utilized in the story. The story does around the story of Mike, as the usual cop's life, single with a child, ex-wife issues, second generation cop, and a current love interest.

    There is no degree of suspense or thriller about the story. You spend 10 hours of detective procedures and little spats with ass hole politicians, who in their eagerness to win votes will sabotage a case.

    I tried this because a listener I follow recommended this book. This is not for me.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    grayce 05-04-16
    grayce 05-04-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "the cutting"

    yikes! I so enjoyed the authors ability to make the detectives focus on his job...while allowing me to see the other facets of his life play into the human drama. Already bought book two.


    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pjw 12-16-15
    Pjw 12-16-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    136
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Couldn't listen to the narrator"
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    A narrator with some emotion in his voice.


    How could the performance have been better?

    The narrator sounded like he was new to English. Every syllable was pronounced.


    You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    The story was interesting enough.


    2 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anneke 10-06-16
    Anneke 10-06-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book love the McCabe series."

    love it, could not put it down. can't wait to begin the next one in the McCabe series

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.