We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Cutaway Audiobook

The Cutaway: A Novel

Regular Price:$17.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.

When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing "MISSING" notice on her desk related to the disappearance of a beautiful young attorney, she can't seem to shake the image from her head. Despite skepticism from her colleagues, Knightly suspects this ambitious young lawyer may be at the heart of something far more sinister, especially since she was last seen leaving an upscale restaurant after a domestic dispute. Yet, as the only woman of power at her station, Knightly quickly finds herself investigating on her own.

Risking her career, her life, and perhaps even her own sanity, Knightly dives deep into the dark underbelly of Washington, DC, business and politics in an investigation that will drag her mercilessly through the inextricable webs of corruption that bind the press, the police, and politics in our nation's capital.

Harkening to dark thrillers such as Gone Girl, Luckiest Girl Alive, and Big Little Lies, The Cutaway is a striking debut that will haunt you long after you reach the end.

©2017 Christina Kovac (P)2017 Simon & Schuster, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (17 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.9 (16 )
5 star
 (7)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.1 (16 )
5 star
 (7)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Toni H 04-20-17
    Toni H 04-20-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    132
    114
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great lead and hooking storyline"
    Any additional comments?

    Knightly is a producer for a news network. She also has a troubled history with her family and basically a photographic memory. Those traits cause her to focus more on aspects that others might overlook. She sees a piece on a missing woman and can't let it go. Most everyone in her life seems to be trying to hinder her digging deeper into the woman's story. Murder, mystery, politics, detectives, witnesses and more come into play. She isn't a cop, but she is an investigative journalist out to connect the answers and expose the coverups. She's a likable lead, and the storyline is great at keeping the reader hooked and guessing. Anyone could be guilty. The Cutaway was a win for me, and I'm definitely going to be following this author's future works.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kathleen 04-15-17
    Kathleen 04-15-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    28
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    370
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just not that interesting. "

    This just was not a very interesting or engaging start. I returned it.

    Narrator was ok but was almost like a news reporter in delivery in that she was very factual and unemotional. Not horrible but not great. Nothing I would listen to again and wouldn't have finished a hard copy book had I started it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Daniel Hill 04-09-17
    Daniel Hill 04-09-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story, forced delivery"

    No need to change voices for male and female. it sounded really awkward and forced. otherwise, she did well at narrating.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.