We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
The Complaints | [Ian Rankin]

The Complaints

Nobody likes The Complaints - they're the cops who investigate other cops. It's where Malcolm Fox works. He's just had a result, and should be feeling good about himself, but he's a man with problems: his new job is Jamie Breck, a dirty cop but no one can prove it. As Fox takes on the job, he learns that there's more to Breck than anyone thinks.
Regular Price:$26.70
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Nobody likes The Complaints - they're the cops who investigate other cops. It's where Malcolm Fox works. He's just had a result, and should be feeling good about himself, but he's a man with problems: his new job is Jamie Breck, a dirty cop but no one can prove it. As Fox takes on the job, he learns that there's more to Breck than anyone thinks.

©2009 John Rebus Ltd; (P)2009 WF Howes Ltd

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (53 )
5 star
 (17)
4 star
 (25)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.0 (27 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.2 (26 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Steven Esperance, Australia 07-14-10
    Steven Esperance, Australia 07-14-10 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    30
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    43
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Interesting diversion from type"

    Enjoyed this offering from Ian Rankin. Found the dialogue , characters, plot, believable and entertaining. It is an interesting diversion from Rankins previous material and who would have thought to base a character on "The Complaints" section of the police. Bit like the cleaner (Battles). Look forward to more complaints offereings.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Gerben AmsterdamNetherlands 12-09-09
    Gerben AmsterdamNetherlands 12-09-09
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Slightly disappointed by Rankin's new character"

    As a big fan of Ian Rankin and his inspector Rebus novels, I was very excited to read The Complaints only to find myself slightly disappointed. Don't get me wrong, the book is certainly not bad, but it could be that my love for Rebus is too big to accept a new character. I thought the main character to be too superficial, too 2D when compared to Rebus' 3D personality in Rankin's earlier books. Another thing I really could not get used to is the fact that it felt like Rankin was forcing contemporary subjects into his story, such as the financial crisis and the consequences for Scottish society.

    I remind myself though, that Rankin's first Rebus novels were also 'flatter' than the latter books. Characters are obviously something both the writer and the reader have to get used to. Therefore, dear Mr. Rankin, I will of course keep reading and enjoying your books, with and without flaws!

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    connie Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada 03-31-12
    connie Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada 03-31-12

    trying to see the world with my ears

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3480
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1467
    395
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1499
    136
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "no complaints about this mystery maze"

    It's not Rebus, but it's still good listening, with a winding mystery plot rather than the police beat daily grind, action and atmosphere. Fox has an extended family with their stories, even if he is almost as emotionally repressed as Rebus. Most of all, it's got promise as a series. I loved the narrator; he fits better than most choices for Rankin novels.

    Two complaints: Since Rebus was a bit of a Luddite, outdated technology does not really date any of his escapades; however, technology figures in this one so that even now -- three years after publication -- you wonder whether a young bad guy could be so tech unsavvy that he fell for something, etc. So future listeners will need to remind themselves that "it was only 2009". My biggest complaint is the disappearance of Rankin's 2011 follow-up in the series from Audible (at least in my "geographical area") along with the works of many other British authors. More Rankin for Canada, please!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charmaine JOHANNESBURG, South Africa 07-16-12
    Charmaine JOHANNESBURG, South Africa 07-16-12 Member Since 2012

    I have a DLitt and Phil Degree which must imply a level of discernment? I just clocked over at 60. The significance is that I have read a whole lot of books. I'm now revisiting some of my all time favourites - and enjoying some first time round books. Books are my friends. Audible is JUST AMAZING - takes me back to pre -TV days, with my ear pressed to a crackly transistor radio - but now SO MUCH better and more 'classy' from a Kindle!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    50
    27
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Lost traction"

    Started well enough - seemed interesting and exciting. Unfortunately, for me, it became monotonous, drawn out, uninteresting and I honestly couldn't tell you what happened as it just droned away in the background. Was delighted to move on to another audible book

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-4 of 4 results
Sort by:
  • Larry
    LINCOLN, Lincs, United Kingdom
    11/1/10
    Overall
    "The Complaints by Ian Rankin"

    Ian Rankin is an author who successfully manages to hook you into the story without too much effort; his prose are well constructed and they make you enjoy every minute of the story. I really enjoyed this audio book and I would highly recommend it as you will not be disappointed.

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful
  • Chrissie
    East Grinstead, United Kingdom
    6/6/10
    Overall
    "Enjoyable"

    I have not heard this author before and took a short time to get use to his style and the narrators voice but once I was hooked - I really was hooked. Every turn takes you further into the plight of the character and his aquaintances and you are constantly pondering how he can get out of his plight and how can it get worse but it does. The setting is well described and you can believe you are there.

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  • George
    5/29/10
    Overall
    "Well read"

    Not too sure about the story in the end, but I really enjoyed listening to this book. It's engagingly read by a real Scot and I could easily tell which of the characters was speaking all the way through.

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  • Conphused
    1/3/10
    Overall
    "There is Life After Rebus"

    Okay, so the die hard Rebus fans may feel a little disappointed, but I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Having read a few other 'non-Rebus' books by Rankin (Witch Hunt, Blood Hunt), I was willing to give this a go and was not disappointed. Rankin presents the reader with an amiable but flawed protagonist in Inspector Malcolm Fox, and sheds some light into the murky world of the Police complaints Department, before moving on to the story proper - a tale of corruption and murder in which no one can seemingly be trusted. Essentially a 'Police Procedural', but none the worse for it. I hope to read more of Malcolm Fox's future adventures. Highly recommended.

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  • Kashif
    MancheserUnited Kingdom
    1/9/10
    Overall
    "Great book...great listen!"

    Really enjoyed listening to this book. Was hooked from the initial chapters and quickly got all the way through to the end! A thoroughly good book.

    9 of 10 people found this review helpful
  • Alison
    Dudley, West Midlands, United Kingdom
    12/20/09
    Overall
    "the complaints"

    This is my first Ian Rankin book and found it held my attention from start to finish. Agree with the Other Alison's comments. Also very well read with a Scottish accent adding to the enjoyment.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Dr
    12/5/09
    Overall
    "Highly recommended"

    An original plot, well narrated. It is easy to develop sympathy with the main character as he struggles to clear his name against all the odds not knowing who to trust. You won't be disappointed.

    9 of 10 people found this review helpful
  • Annie
    Todmorden, United Kingdom
    5/29/11
    Overall
    "No complaints about this one."

    Ian Rankin is master of his craft and I have never been disappointed with any of his novels. I love his humour, his observation of character and his love of Edinburgh which never fails to trickle through his books. He doesn't just describe the streets or a route through them, he imparts them with character that can only come from a genuine affection for his city. The Complaints has all the Rankin ingredients, except this time the maverick gets himself a buddy.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Louisa
    Freshwater Bay, United Kingdom
    2/21/10
    Overall
    "Very Rankin, very Edinburgh!"

    So tremendously Rankin and very Edinburgh ? no surprises but lovely stuff ? very well read. I thoroughly recommend this as an easy listen.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Tom
    West Wickham, United Kingdom
    11/30/10
    Overall
    "good but not rebus"

    Ian Rankin is a very good, professional writer and none of his books will let you down. Rebus, the main character of his best known books, is a character to rival Rumpole, in my view.

    This is a very good thriller, but it's not as good as the Rebus books. Solid narration too.

    But recommended nonetheless.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-10 of 28 results PREVIOUS123NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.