We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
The Clock Strikes Twelve | [Patricia Wentworth]

The Clock Strikes Twelve

New Year’s Eve, 1940, is unusual for the Paradine family. Departing from tradition, James Paradine makes a speech that changes the course of many lives. Valuable documents have disappeared. A member of the family has taken them. The culprit has until midnight to confess and return the papers. A few minutes after 12 James Paradine is dead. It is left to Miss Silver to disentangle the threads that bind the Paradine family in a strange web of dislike, hatred, and fear.
Regular Price:$18.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

New Year’s Eve, 1940, is unusual for the Paradine family. Departing from tradition, James Paradine makes a speech that changes the course of many lives.

Valuable documents have disappeared. A member of the family has taken them. The culprit has until midnight to confess and return the papers. A few minutes after 12, James Paradine is dead. It is left to Miss Silver to disentangle the threads that bind the Paradine family in a strange web of dislike, hatred, and fear.

©1945 Patricia Wentworth (P)2010 Isis Publishing Ltd

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (94 )
5 star
 (44)
4 star
 (31)
3 star
 (14)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.1 (63 )
5 star
 (25)
4 star
 (24)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.4 (66 )
5 star
 (37)
4 star
 (20)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Constance New York, NY, United States 09-27-10
    Constance New York, NY, United States 09-27-10 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    300
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    92
    68
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    76
    0
    Overall
    "Excellent classic mystery"

    Excellent classic mystery in the tradition of Agatha Christie and Ngaio Marsh---good characters, nice surprise twists (more than one!) and literate writing, elegantly narrated.

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nancy J Tornado Alley OK 03-22-13
    Nancy J Tornado Alley OK 03-22-13 Member Since 2011

    Mystery reader (especially series) and Austen lover

    HELPFUL VOTES
    494
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    207
    110
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    166
    16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Classic Little Old Lady Detective Story"

    The Miss Silver mysteries are charming reflections of their times, written in what sometimes seems a rather stilted style to today's reader. But once you get past that, the stories are interesting, the puzzles are ingenious, and Miss Silver solves them all.

    Miss Silver is not like Miss Marple: Miss Silver actually does some detective work, like tailing suspects and re-enacting certain aspects of a murder. She is also not as endearing as Miss Marple, and I like her the better for it.

    The Clock Strikes Twelve involves alibis that depend on times, clocks that are tampered with, and people disguising themselves to look like someone else, all in the context of a family New Years Eve party to welcome in 1940.

    This is the seventh book in the Miss Silver series, and I think it is one of Patricia Wentworth's best. Diana Bishop takes a text which might be rather dry and makes it interesting and dramatic.

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Divya Stamford, CT 01-13-11
    Divya Stamford, CT 01-13-11 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Classic murder mystery with good plot twists"

    Loved this book. Interesting characters with some good plot twists made this an engrossing listen.
    If you love cozy british mysteries, you will definitely love this book.

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elizabeth BURBANK, CA, United States 03-14-11
    Elizabeth BURBANK, CA, United States 03-14-11 Member Since 2010

    I record audiobooks for Librivox.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Mystery"

    Patricia Wentworth is one my favorite mystery writers and this book is no exception. I just love Miss Silver, so seeing her in action is always a treat.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Leslie Philadelphia, PA, United States 01-12-12
    Leslie Philadelphia, PA, United States 01-12-12

    I used to whistle while I worked. Now I read a book!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    29
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    109
    69
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A disappointed fan"
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    If this had been my first Patricia Wentworth read, it would be my last. This is my forth Miss Silver novel. I don't know if it was that there were too many characters, or if it was the convoluted storyline. But, I could sympathize with none of the characters. I had to make myself finish the story, and I had to re-start the story I don't know how many times. Halfway to the end I didn't know what was going on, and I didn't care


    What was most disappointing about Patricia Wentworth’s story?

    No, not one of her best.


    What three words best describe Diana Bishop’s performance?

    No


    Did The Clock Strikes Twelve inspire you to do anything?

    Good narration


    Any additional comments?

    no

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-5 of 5 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.