The Brading Collection Audiobook | Patricia Wentworth | Audible.com
We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
The Brading Collection | [Patricia Wentworth]

The Brading Collection

Lewis Brading loves only one thing - his collection of jewels. Not only are the gems extremely valuable but also every piece has a fascinating and bloody history attached to it. However Lewis is a frightened and difficult man who sees thieves around every corner. When he asks Miss Silver for help, she gives him some sound advice and turns him away. A few days later, she receives a letter from him, again asking for help. But it is too late. In the morning paper is the news of his murder.
Regular Price:$19.23
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Lewis Brading loves only one thing - his collection of jewels. Not only are the gems extremely valuable but also every piece has a fascinating and bloody history attached to it. However Lewis is a frightened and difficult man who sees thieves around every corner. When he asks Miss Silver for help, she gives him some sound advice and turns him away. A few days later, she receives a letter from him, again asking for help. But it is too late. In the morning paper is the news of his murder.

©1952 Patricia Wentworth (P)2011 Isis Publishing Ltd

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (72 )
5 star
 (36)
4 star
 (28)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.3 (63 )
5 star
 (30)
4 star
 (20)
3 star
 (13)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.6 (60 )
5 star
 (41)
4 star
 (16)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Kathleen Rogers Massachusetts 12-28-11
    Kathleen Rogers Massachusetts 12-28-11 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    181
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    65
    34
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    17
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Lovers of classic British mystery, rejoice!"

    Extremely well narrated by Diana Bishop, this is an enjoyable entry in the Miss Silver series, more of which seem to be now available on Audible.

    Miss Silver, retired governess and private inquiry agent, is one of the more interesting 20th century British sleuths--she is a professional, not an amateur, and her investigations relay as much upon her knowledge of human behavior gleaned from years as a governess as upon her high intelligence and analytical abilities.

    There is nothing frivolous here, and the emotional stakes are always high. The author plays fair, and the outcomes are not shocking, but the way in which the plots unfold with Miss Silver's assistance is really pleasurable. Unlike many more modern detective novels, the focus is not on the personal life and development of the investigator, and this means the series can be read in any order

    P.S. If you are a crafter, you will enjoy Miss Silver's knitting, and the notion that a woman with pointy sticks in her hand is often underestimated, to the dismay of miscreants. If you are not a crafter, don't worry, this is not one of the dreadful, smarmy knitting-cooking-quilting-dog grooming- etc. modern series that seem to be cluttering up the bookstores lately.



    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Laurie Arlington, VA, United States 01-02-12
    Laurie Arlington, VA, United States 01-02-12 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    312
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Miss Silver Rocks!"

    As usual, I was not dissappointed. Patricia Wentworth's Miss Silver is a fabulous character and her stories entertaining.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nancy St Charles, MO, United States 10-15-12
    Nancy St Charles, MO, United States 10-15-12 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    123
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    100
    99
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    20
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another winner!"

    I love the Miss Silver series. I listen to every one I can.

    This story is no exception. The mystery was excellently done. A couple twists toward the end that I didn't see coming.

    The characters (other than the recurring ones) were another stretch for Miss Wentworth. She seems to be able to capture a different cast of personalities with each successive edition.

    Once again, the narrator was excellent! I never had to guess who was speaking!

    I do recommend this book. It is well worth the credit!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Constance New York, NY, United States 01-24-12
    Constance New York, NY, United States 01-24-12 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    278
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    90
    67
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    72
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Entertaining traditional British mystery"

    Not at the very top of the author's game, this is nevertheless a thoroughly engaging and entertaining mystery in the tradition of Agatha Christie and Ngaio Marsh. The characters are quirky and fun, the plot has a fun twist at the end, and a nice romantic element as well. If you've downloaded and enjoyed Wentworth's other books, go ahead and get another Wetnworth fix with this one!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    C. Santa Fe, NM, United States 12-27-11
    C. Santa Fe, NM, United States 12-27-11 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good light mystery"

    I enjoy Patricia Wentworth's books and believe Diana Bishop is an ideal narrator. Ms. Wentworth's main protagonist, Miss Maude Silver evokes visions of Agatha Christie's Miss Jane Marple. I always enjoy a bit of a light mystery after reading or listening to several more intense books and Ms. Wentworth's books fills that niche. The plots are usually predictable but the descriptions of the English countryside, villages or large cities are very well done and one can easily visualize Miss Silver.
    If you are interested in reading books with thought provoking plots or prefer multi-layered sub-plots, then this book is not for you. Usually the "whodunit" is difficult enough to figure out but if you do, it is still pleasant reading. The Brading Collection was enjoyable and suited my mood at the time especially after reading several Minette Walters and Denise Mina books...both great but both a bit on the dark side.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    R. Murphy Ithaca, NY 08-27-12
    R. Murphy Ithaca, NY 08-27-12 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Miss Silver's Best Story"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Brading Collection to be better than the print version?

    N/A; haven't read the print version


    What did you like best about this story?

    Several well-developed suspects with reason to commit the murder--very suspenseful story


    What about Diana Bishop’s performance did you like?

    I love her voice and accent; she's very understandable


    Any additional comments?

    This is the best Miss Silver book I've listened to (out of 10 or 12).

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alexis CAMBRIDGE, United Kingdom 06-13-12
    Alexis CAMBRIDGE, United Kingdom 06-13-12 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    187
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another excellent story by Patricia Wentworth"

    This author is quite a new find for me and I am really enjoying this series.

    She manages to lead you by the nose up to a point and then throw in a curve ball to knock you off your balance of thinking for a while. The characterisations are really excellent and one finds oneself either liking or disliking them as the author intends - when she throws mud at them (in the literal sense) they become less likeable. As she clears their characters, they become much more sympathetic and likeable.

    A really gifted author. I am looking forward to audible publishing the rest of the series ... please!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-7 of 7 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.