The Boy Who Could See Demons: A Novel Audiobook | Carolyn Jess-Cooke | Audible.com
We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
The Boy Who Could See Demons: A Novel | [Carolyn Jess-Cooke]

The Boy Who Could See Demons: A Novel

Dr. Anya Molokova, a child psychiatrist, is called in to work at MacNeice House, an adolescent mental health treatment center. There she is told to observe and assess Alex Connolly, a keenly intelligent, sensitive ten-year-old coping with his mother's latest suicide attempt. Alex is in need of serious counseling: He has been harming himself and others, often during blackouts. At the root of his destructive behavior, Alex claims, is his imaginary "friend" Ruen, a cunning demon who urges Alex to bend to his often violent will.
Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Best-selling author Carolyn Jess-Cooke has written a brilliant novel of suspense that delves into the recesses of the human mind and soul - perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Lisa Unger. The Boy Who Could See Demons follows a child psychologist who comes up against a career-defining case - one that threatens to unravel her own painful past and jeopardizes the life of a boy who can see the impossible.

Dr. Anya Molokova, a child psychiatrist, is called in to work at MacNeice House, an adolescent mental health treatment center. There she is told to observe and assess Alex Connolly, a keenly intelligent, sensitive ten-year-old coping with his mother's latest suicide attempt. Alex is in need of serious counseling: He has been harming himself and others, often during blackouts. At the root of his destructive behavior, Alex claims, is his imaginary "friend" Ruen, a cunning demon who urges Alex to bend to his often violent will.

But Anya has seen this kind of behavior before - with her own daughter, Poppy, who suffered from early-onset schizophrenia. Determined to help Alex out of his darkness, Anya begins to treat the child. But soon strange and alarming coincidences compel Anya to wonder: Is Alex's condition a cruel trick of the mind? Or is Ruen not so make-believe after all? The reality, it turns out, is more terrifying than anything she has ever encountered.

A rich and deeply moving pause-resistor, The Boy Who Could See Demons sets out to challenge the imagination and capture the way life takes unexpected turns. In the best storytelling tradition, it leaves the listener changed.

©2012 Carolyn Jess-Cooke (P)2013 Random House Audio

What the Critics Say

"A psychologically complex thriller, told with compassion in a marvelously suspenseful narrative that keeps you engaged from the first page to the last.... This book has it all: a dark and dangerous setting, characters full of depth, rich emotions, and a clever plot. You'll fall in love with Alex - and his demons." (Chevy Stevens, author of Still Missing)

"Top-notch psychological suspense.... Beware what you think you know. It might be only the demons talking." Lisa Gardner, author of Touch & Go)

"Brilliant! Rich with fully formed characters, this heart-gripping novel will keep you riveted from first page to last." (Jeffery Deaver, author of XO)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (33 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (17)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.1 (27 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (13)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.2 (27 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Mary Bloomington, IN, United States 09-15-13
    Mary Bloomington, IN, United States 09-15-13 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    82
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "HOLY COW!!! Give me more, please!!!"
    Any additional comments?

    This book was worth the credit, for sure. I love to read or listen to a variety of books, but this one is at the top of my list. The narration was performed by male and female characters, in Irish dialect. This was different for me, and I was a little unsure if I could get used to the male character. However, as the male character developed, it was perfect for this complex boy. The only complaint for me is it had to come to an end! I am seldom as intrigued by books, but this one hooked me from the beginning. Until the very end, I kept asking "where is this going"? And, trust me, it is worth the wait. I would advise others that while this book centers around the unique relationship this boy has with demons that only he can see, it isn't like any horror story I've listened to. It had a creepiness all its own, without leaving me terrified. Kudos to the author, performers, and Audible!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michelle NEPTUNE, NJ, United States 03-27-14
    Michelle NEPTUNE, NJ, United States 03-27-14 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good Story Bad acting."
    What did you love best about The Boy Who Could See Demons?

    Story was Decent


    What do you think the narrator could have done better?

    Both Narrators put on a fake annoying Irish accent. Instead of reading the book they acted it out. I previewed the book but Bruce Mann was not on the clip I listened to him on a different book but it was nothing like his performance in this book.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    DJ Midwest 03-03-14
    DJ Midwest 03-03-14 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The story draws you in, surprises in the end"
    Where does The Boy Who Could See Demons rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    in the top 40%


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    I loved Alex. I really enjoyed the accents of the narrators, such pleasing voices to listen to. As a mother my heart went out to the boy, I felt an instinctual need to protect him.


    Which character – as performed by Bruce Mann and Carolyn Jess-Cooke – was your favorite?

    I also really enjoyed the dialog that came from Rowen. The perfectly-formed grammatically complicated sentences that no young boy could ever utter by himself were performed very well by the narrators and of course, written very well by the author.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No. I don't sit still for very long, I'm a mover!


    Any additional comments?

    While the overall premise/subject was quite sad, I have to say I LOVED the ending. Can't say anything else without spoiling so that is all I'll say!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    chris Asheville, NC, United States 09-11-13
    chris Asheville, NC, United States 09-11-13 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Psychological thriller"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Boy Who Could See Demons to be better than the print version?

    I would not know. I definitely enjoyed the audio version.


    What other book might you compare The Boy Who Could See Demons to and why?

    I enjoyed this book as much as Sara Gran's "Come Closer" and it reminded me of "A Good and Happy Child." Great writing, story and suspense.


    Which character – as performed by Bruce Mann and Carolyn Jess-Cooke – was your favorite?

    I cannot say. I liked them both.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    The ending.


    Any additional comments?

    No.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-4 of 4 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.