We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Book of Mirrors Audiobook

The Book of Mirrors: A Novel

Regular Price:$17.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

An elegant thriller in the vein of Night Film and Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, this tautly crafted novel is about stories: the ones we tell, the ones we keep hidden, and the ones that we'll do anything to ensure they stay buried.

When literary agent Peter Katz receives a partial book submission entitled The Book of Mirrors, he is intrigued by its promise and original voice. The author, Richard Flynn, has written a memoir about his time as an English student at Princeton in the late 1980s, documenting his relationship with the protégée of the famous Professor Joseph Wieder. One night just before Christmas 1987, Wieder was brutally murdered in his home. The case was never solved. Now, 25 years later, Katz suspects that Richard Flynn is either using his book to confess to the murder or to finally reveal who committed the violent crime.

But the manuscript ends abruptly - and its author is dying in the hospital with the missing pages nowhere to be found. Hell-bent on getting to the bottom of the story, Katz hires investigative journalist John Keller to research the murder and reconstruct the events for a true crime version of the memoir. Keller tracks down several of the mysterious key players, including retired police detective Roy Freeman, one of the original investigators assigned to the murder case, but he has just been diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer's. Inspired by John Keller's investigation, he decides to try and solve the case once and for all, before he starts losing control of his mind. A trip to the Potosi Correctional Centre in Missouri, several interviews, and some ingenious police work finally lead him to a truth that has been buried for over two decades...or has it?

Stylishly plotted, elegantly written, and packed with thrilling suspense until the final moments, The Book of Mirrors is a book within a book like you've never encountered before.

©2017 RightsFactory SRL. All rights reserved. (P)2017 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (100 )
5 star
 (35)
4 star
 (36)
3 star
 (20)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
3.9 (96 )
5 star
 (39)
4 star
 (26)
3 star
 (20)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (5)
Story
4.2 (96 )
5 star
 (43)
4 star
 (32)
3 star
 (15)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Judith 02-23-17
    Judith 02-23-17 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    46
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Engaging"

    After trying a couple clunkers I really needed something to keep my attention and give me a sense of spending time and credits for value. This book was a gamble, just released and no reviews yet. I finished it in one day. Very satisfying.

    13 of 13 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Megan 03-01-17
    Megan 03-01-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Don't waste your time!"

    This editor's pick way over-promised on this one. I kept listening, hoping to *finally* get to the "thrilling" plot, which never materialized. The book hinted at psychological games and manipulation, but those didn't materialize, either. This book was all exposition and no tension, and that was just the beginning of my irritation. In this book, you will know everybody's college major. Why do we need to know an elderly lady's caregiver majored in anthropology? Good God, we don't! Side plots were pointless, too.

    The book had notes of sexism, where a female was dismissed as the suspect in a murder my a grizzled detective because the guy was bludgeoned to death and lady murderers usually use poison. I mean, what? We do? How? Where do we get poison? Then there was a racist moment where an African-American man (who we know is African-American because he spoke in partial dialect) furrowed his brow and looked like a "confused monkey." Ugh, you guys.

    Normally I would just move on and find something else to read, but editor's picks are usually pretty good. I was waiting for a Kaiser Soze moment to warrant the attention from people who like to read. It didn't happen. If you're wondering if this will be worth your struggle through the flat characters and unnecessary words, the answer is no.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Darrell HANSCHEN 03-09-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    38
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Well worth the time and the credit."

    It does start slowly, but once you get into it, you definitely want to finish it. Characters are well developed and varied with numerous viable choices of "who dun it". Narrator is just right. I highly recommend it. A boring day in the car was transformed into an interesting day with a master storyteller.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Albert 03-04-17
    Albert 03-04-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable to the last sentence."
    Any additional comments?

    I would not say it was amazing or outstanding, but it was worth the credit. The narration was excellent.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 03-01-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Still waiting..."
    Would you try another book from E. O. Chirovici and/or the narrators?

    I found the premise intriguing but as the book went on I found myself still waiting. Not much physiological twisting and turning. The most surprising thing about this book was when it came to an end. I was stunned it was over. Left me completely unsatisfied. Good thing I got some cleaning done while listening to this or it would have been a complete waste of time. I don't think I will be reading any other books by the author.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    teng teng zhang 03-01-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "suspense, suspense, suspense"

    love it! the story started a little slow but after the first half. I couldn't put it down until I'm finished with everything.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Greg 03-02-17
    Greg 03-02-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Way too much weak material to get to the ending."
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    No. The ending was good but all the stuff to get there was never ending


    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.