We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Someone Out There Audiobook

Someone Out There

Regular Price:$16.77
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A story of obsession, revenge and deceit, of a woman caught up in terrifying circumstances. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins and Into the Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes.

Laura Maxwell appears to have it all - perfect career, perfect husband, perfect life. But how well do you really know the people around you? All it takes is one tiny crack to shatter the whole façade.

A series of accidents causes Laura to believe that someone out there is deliberately targeting her, trying to harm her. The fear starts to pervade every part of her life, affecting her work and her marriage. Increasingly, she feels that no one believes her story, and she must face down her attacker alone.

©2015 Catherine Hunt (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the Critics Say

"Great debut. Catherine Hunt could be the new Gillian Flynn." (Jeremy Bowen, BBC)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (26 )
5 star
 (12)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
3.9 (23 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.0 (23 )
5 star
 (12)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Kindle Customer 04-19-16 Member Since 2014

    Resides in Elkton, M.D. (but my heart belongs in Upstate, N.Y.)

    HELPFUL VOTES
    45
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    104
    102
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Someone Out There"
    Where does Someone Out There rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    That's hard to say, because I listen to so many different types with male and female narrators.


    What other book might you compare Someone Out There to and why?

    FATAL ATTRACTION!!!


    What does Jessica Ball bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    As with any audible, it always brings the characters "alive."


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    Keep your friends close, and you enemies closer....


    Any additional comments?

    Good book, had me hooked from beginning to end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Frances Little Rock, Ar, United States 11-27-15
    Frances Little Rock, Ar, United States 11-27-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    57
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    165
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Might have been better with a less annoying reader"

    Reader who veer toward baby talk and compulsively adopt tremulous tone get on my nerves. Maybe others find it moving, but the shortcomings in the writer's style seemed to me emphasized by the melodramatic narration. I found the story implausible; the characters inconsistent rather than complex. But mane it was the reader....

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • caroline
    1/7/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it."

    Absolutely loved this book, not my usual gendre but as the momentum of the story built it was unputdownable!!

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • annieanne
    7/17/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointing"

    Took a while to get going and didn't really redeem itself. Weak story line (sorry)

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Kelly Bennett
    6/6/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Boring"

    not really edge of the seat stuff, twists were easily predicted and the narrator being a woman made the men sound a bit feeble.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Daphne
    5/5/16
    Overall
    "a compulsive lusten"

    Well woven plot throughout, Jessica Ball's voice WS so right for this novel. Really enjoyed it to the end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • shellee
    3/24/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Some good bits but..."

    Overly long and overly complex. Not great and feel performance of reader did not add much. I had to keep skipping forward through the chapters in an effort to just " get on" with it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Geoff Stokes
    Warwickshire, UK
    2/29/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A bit too melodramatic"

    not too bad with some interesting twists and turns but much too much explanation after it was needed and the dialogue and set ups were a bit cheesy.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Bryn Davies
    Bedfordshire, UK
    2/4/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting twist to the expected ending"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Someone Out There to be better than the print version?

    Not read any of her books before or listened to one but hooked now


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Anna as she was so convincing in both her guises


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    when the jigsaw finally came together ..so Anna reviewing her current activities


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes after a slow start but by around Chapter 30 needed to finish in one sitting


    Any additional comments?

    I don't like books that have a huge postscript generally ruins the story..being weak and prolonged.. this was short and sweet

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • fletchek
    1/1/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story, with a twist"
    What did you like about this audiobook?

    I am a solicitor, an ex- WPC and a qualified riding instructor, so if there were appalling holes in the parts of the story covering these areas, I would have spotted them. Having said that, the writer gave no real insight into any of these areas and opted for the easy cliches of e.g. a bent law firm; a cynical and dim police force; a spoiled brat solicitor who will happily gallop her horse on the same route, trespassing every time (if she did that, she's likely be dead already); one or more 'nutters' who are both insane yet able to hide it from all around them for years.


    How has the book increased your interest in the subject matter?

    No


    Does the author present information in a way that is interesting and insightful, and if so, how does he achieve this?

    No


    What did you find wrong about the narrator's performance?

    The narrator did a competent job


    Do you have any additional comments?

    PS Given that they managed to get the boy back to his mother withing a few weeks, there didn't seem to be any substantial damages for the family to claim from the law firm for allowing the original order to lapse.

    3 of 7 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.