We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Sins of the Father Audiobook

Sins of the Father: Erin Solomon Pentalogy, Book 2

Regular Price:$19.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Dennis Lehane, John Connelly, and Iris Johansen. Book two in the "thoroughly addictive" Erin Solomon mystery series. 2012 New England Book Festival Winner, Honorable Mention for Outstanding Fiction.

The brutal murder of a young girl more than 40 years ago pulls investigative reporter Erin Solomon into a serpentine mystery revolving around her own father's dark past. The trail leads Erin and fellow reporter Daniel "Diggs" Diggins to Black Falls, Maine, a town steeped in the Acadian tradition, where young girls have gone missing with terrifying frequency for decades. Soon, it's clear that the father Erin thought she knew has buried secrets she never could have imagined.

When the investigation leads them to a killer who sets his sights on Erin, her relentless pursuit of the truth lands her and Diggs in the rugged wilderness along the Maine/Canada border. With a deranged serial killer on their heels, FBI agent Jack Juarez battles the clock while Erin and Diggs fight for their lives in a diabolical game of cat and mouse among the rivers and caves of the rugged Allagash Wilderness.

©2012 Jen Blood (P)2015 Jen Blood

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (17 )
5 star
 (11)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.6 (16 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
3.9 (15 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Tammie 11-02-16
    Tammie 11-02-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "If Only Someone Else Had Narrated"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Sins of the Father to be better than the print version?

    I read the first book on my Kindle.I didn't read the print version this time around and I really wish I had now. The narration was not impressive.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Fast paced. Didn't linger on the all the sexual stuff.


    What didn’t you like about Melissa Redmond’s performance?

    It was so incredibly flat. No inflection. Hardly any variations on character voices. I really had to grit my teeth and listen to it to the end. I had really hoped they'd found someone else to narrate the 3rd book, but no such luck. I will have to power through that one as well. Hopefully the male counterpart will offset it.
    Honestly, I put more effort in when I read aloud to my 4 year old.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Wentzville, MO, United States 08-08-16
    Amazon Customer Wentzville, MO, United States 08-08-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    47
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    84
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Better Than Book 1 BUT narrator ruins it."

    Book 2 was better than the first book by far. The problem AGAIN is the NARRATION. Terrible narration ruins good stories. Jen Blood has to know this. How could she not?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Miguel Wilder 06-30-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great follow up"
    What did you love best about Sins of the Father?

    It answered most of the questions from the first one.


    What other book might you compare Sins of the Father to and why?

    I don't think I've come across anything similar to it that isn't in this series.


    What does Melissa Redmond bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    The story came alive. She animated the action


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Neither, but I did feel sad for the victims, and for Diggs.


    Any additional comments?

    I love this story. It was well written, and I was sucked in from the very beginning. The suspense was on point, and the action and back story was riveting.I thought it had a great ending. I was satisfied.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lj Blackwell 12-06-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good Read"

    I really enjoyed this book.
    Liked how the humor was nicely mixed in with the suspense.
    Can't wait to read the next in the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.