We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Predator Audiobook

Predator: A Crossbow Novel

Regular Price:$31.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Former operative Major Hector Cross must face off against a pair of lethal enemies and prevent an international catastrophe in this gripping contemporary adventure-thriller - perfect for fans of Clive Cussler, Ted Bell, and Vince Flynn - from the legendary worldwide best-selling author of Desert God and Golden Lion.

One of the most formidable fighters in the world, ex-SAS warrior and former private security consultant Major Hector Cross has survived explosive tangles with depraved enemies - warlords, pirates, and arms dealers - from the Middle East to the heart of Africa. Now Cross must take the law into his own hands once again to stop a vengeful old enemy who has resurfaced - and hunt down a deadly new nemesis in pursuit of global domination.

Cowritten with internationally best-selling author Tom Cain, this exciting tale, filled with knife-edge tension, cunning global intrigue, rip-roaring action, and breathtaking adventure, demonstrates the extraordinary vision and talent of a writer with a gift for consistently delivering nonstop entertainment.

©2016 Orion Mintaka (UK) Ltd (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (129 )
5 star
 (53)
4 star
 (42)
3 star
 (17)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (7)
Overall
3.8 (118 )
5 star
 (42)
4 star
 (40)
3 star
 (18)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (9)
Story
4.0 (118 )
5 star
 (52)
4 star
 (38)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (9)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Kenneth L. 06-11-16
    Kenneth L. 06-11-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Where was the producer?"

    I enjoyed the story because I had read the first two but this reader made me crazy with his mangled pronunciations. Why the producer didn't do their job is beyond me. Pretty much ruined it for me!!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kathryn Belleville, ON, Canada 05-18-16
    Kathryn Belleville, ON, Canada 05-18-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    59
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Do not waste a credit"

    story was a mess. Hector Cross series is so bad...narrator hard to understand...very disappointed. Have been a Wilbur Smith fan for decades.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer North Palm Beach,Fl 05-17-16
    Amazon Customer North Palm Beach,Fl 05-17-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    56
    24
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "NOT Wilbur Smith"

    First off, this book cannot be from Wilbur Smith an immensely talented writer. He should stick to African family based stores or historical type novels where he is best. This book is terrible & the performance is even worse, perhaps the worst I have heard on Audible!!
    Don"t bother with this book

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sharon Compton HOTCHKISS, CO, US 05-13-16
    Sharon Compton HOTCHKISS, CO, US 05-13-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    33
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not disappointed"

    I've been a Wilber Smith fan for many years and have liked some books more than others. This was a great "listen" in every way! Narration was exceptional.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Linda 03-31-16
    Linda 03-31-16 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another great Wilbur Smith book!"

    I wish it had been a bit longer! Narration was excellent. I must now go back and read the prior novel.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ronda Sidney, ME, United States 03-27-16
    Ronda Sidney, ME, United States 03-27-16 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    31
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    93
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Non-stop action"

    This is the first book I've read by this author and I have well over 1,000 books in my library. I really don't understand the less than 5 star reviews. This book had characters who were well drawn and you cared about or despised. The action was non-stop until the end. I'd put this up there with any book by Vince Flynn, Brad Thor or Brad Taylor. I enjoyed it so much that I just went back and downloaded the first book in the series.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 09-24-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "FANTASTIC!"

    Totally Fantastic - the whole Cross series was outstanding and unexpected! I can't wait for the next Cross adventure!😈

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    elliott 08-25-16
    elliott 08-25-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book but there story just ended"

    I truly enjoyed this book. But the story wrapped up in a mere 15 minutes. I didn't have time to digest some of the joy and some of the tragedy that was all served at once entirely too quickly.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bruce Maddox 06-25-16 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awful Narration"
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    Not really...well, maybe the BOOK but not the recording.


    Would you recommend Predator to your friends? Why or why not?

    It seems much more disjointed than a typical Wilbur Smith book. It seemed poorly researched. The narration seemed to be a first cold read. Accents were ragged and totally misplaced. He made Texas Rangers sound like Brooklyn cabbies. Many scenes were hard to fathom because he made all the characters sound the same. Ugh.


    What didn’t you like about Ben Onwukwe’s performance?

    See above.


    Did Predator inspire you to do anything?

    Give up on Wilbur Smith. He had "help" with this book...and I suspect contributed little to the finished product. I hate it. He was the very best at what he did.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Richard L. Stepanek 06-21-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    33
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wasted Potential and Credit"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    I wish I hadn't spent my last credit on this one. The story could have been so much more.


    Would you recommend Predator to your friends? Why or why not?

    Read the book perhaps but don't expect realism or any real congruence of the storyline.


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Ben Onwukwe?

    Scott Brick , George Guidall, Will Wheaton, anybody


    Could you see Predator being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

    Hah!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.