We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Power Down Audiobook

Power Down: Dewey Andreas, Book 1

Regular Price:$31.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Introducing a major new thriller writer - in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor - and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas.

A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist attack. But there was one factor that the terrorists didn’t take into account when they struck the Capitana platform off the coast of Colombia - slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform - and that was the Capitana crew chief, Dewey Andreas.

Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun. While the intelligence and law enforcement agencies scramble to untangle these events and find the people responsible, the mysterious figure of Alexander Fortuna - an agent embedded into the highest levels of American society and business - sets into play the second stage of these long-planned attacks. The only fly in the ointment is Dewey Andreas - who is using all his long-dormant skills to fight his way off the platform, then out of Colombia and back to the U.S., following the trail of terrorists and operatives sent to stop him.

Power Down is a gripping, compelling debut thriller from a powerful new author, an amazing talent certain to join the ranks of the genre’s finest writers.

BONUS AUDIO: includes a conversation with the author and Mitt Romney.

©2010 Ben Coes (P)2010 Macmillan Audio

What the Critics Say

"Coes pumps new heat, blood, and flat-out action into a well-worn premise--terrorists are out to break America by attacking its energy resources--in his frighteningly plausible thriller debut." (Publishers Weekly)

"With a gripping story, compelling characters, a relentless pace and nerve-wracking suspense, Power Down is one of the must-read thrillers of the year." (Vince Flynn, New York Times best-selling author of Pursuit of Honor)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (4002 )
5 star
 (2212)
4 star
 (1289)
3 star
 (363)
2 star
 (78)
1 star
 (60)
Overall
4.4 (3465 )
5 star
 (2027)
4 star
 (1003)
3 star
 (313)
2 star
 (73)
1 star
 (49)
Story
4.4 (3467 )
5 star
 (2040)
4 star
 (1009)
3 star
 (303)
2 star
 (69)
1 star
 (46)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Drew Spray 01-19-16
    Drew Spray 01-19-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    59
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Power Down: Dewey Andreas - great suspense "

    This book rates right up there with the best. The performance was outstanding. If you enjoy thrillers this is one you don't want to miss.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    S. Lynn Crist Indianapolis, IN 01-17-16
    S. Lynn Crist Indianapolis, IN 01-17-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Action Packed From The First Chapter To The Last !"
    Where does Power Down rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    It was my most favorite!!


    What did you like best about this story?

    It started with action right off the bat and continued all the way through the book!


    Which scene was your favorite?

    No favorite scenes, loved them all!


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes


    Any additional comments?

    I am a Brad Thor and Vince Flynn fan but Ben has become my number one favorite Author. He can't write them fast enough. After listening to the first book I had to listen to them all!!!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ray 01-14-16
    Ray 01-14-16 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    403
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    354
    107
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    33
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Outstanding"

    Best of the genre that I've read.

    Most of the better ones in this field still can't avoid a kind of comic book melodrama, but Coes largely sidesteps the cliches and keeps most of the action realistic.

    Great narration as well. Peter Hermann does a fantastic job.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    DSW 11-16-15
    DSW 11-16-15

    Retired. Mom with 4 grown boys. Addicted to audio books also a news junkie. Favorite genres are Sci-fi, prepping, space and apocalyptic.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    26
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Give it a few chapters and you will love it."

    I have to admit that I re-started three times. I could not get into it. I'm not one to quit a book and I am so glad. Give it a few chapters and it becomes a book you won't want to put down. It was very exciting. It was much better than I expected after reading some of the bad reviews. I thought the narrator was terrific and made a good book even better. His different accents were excellent. It was very clear as to which character was talking. I would definitely recommend this book. I'm anxious to find another of his books to listen to and hopefully with the same narrator.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Gina A. 11-01-15
    Gina A. 11-01-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome!"

    As a huge fan of Mitch Rapp and Scot Harvath, I can say that Dewey Andreas has also gained a new fan! It's hard not to compare but this was an incredibly well written story! I can't wait to dive into the rest of the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robert 10-09-15
    Robert 10-09-15 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not bad"
    Any additional comments?

    A little heavy-handed with the Americana and tough guy morality but still a fun ride.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    K. Maloo LA 10-09-15
    K. Maloo LA 10-09-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    42
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too many subplots and endless character skecthes"
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    Sort of - very promising start but quickly devolves into endless subplots, detailed histories of minor characters, and - my god - pages and pages and pages of boardroom meetings. I often forgot what was going on because Coes takes long and meaningless tangents.


    Would you listen to another book narrated by Peter Hermann?

    He's competent but has a habit of exhaling loudly after each sentence.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mark 10-02-15
    Mark 10-02-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    96
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Book needs more research by the author."
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    Great story but the authors knowledge of firearms and tactics needs some work.


    What three words best describe Peter Hermann’s performance?

    No problem at all with the narrator.


    Was Power Down worth the listening time?

    Yes. A little slow at the beginning but it was needed to set up the story. Hopefully the follow up books will be a little faster into the actual story.


    Any additional comments?

    Author needs to do some research on tactics and firearms. Author apparently doesn't know the difference between a "magazine" and a "clip". Also, doesn't know that law enforcement doesn't stand in front of a door or a car trunk when they are searching it for suspects. Ben could use some instruction from people like Brad Thor on how to research a topic to make it realistic. Vince Flynn was also very good at this.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Benjamin 10-01-15
    Benjamin 10-01-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good read"

    authentic details from government protocols to the billionaire maniac living in Manhattan and the Hamptons.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    sq 09-30-15
    sq 09-30-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    43
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    232
    42
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Boring and predictable"

    The narrator read every character with a monotone voice. There are so many plots and subplots that I soon got bored and erased the book. Couldn't finish. I'm surprised about the positive reviews.

    Try "the rook" if you want a good read

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.