We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Power Down: Dewey Andreas, Book 1 | [Ben Coes]

Power Down: Dewey Andreas, Book 1

There was one factor that the terrorists didn’t take into account when they struck the Capitana oil platform off the coast of Colombia - slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform - and that was the Capitana crew chief, Dewey Andreas. Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun....
Regular Price:$31.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Introducing a major new thriller writer - in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor - and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas.

A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist attack. But there was one factor that the terrorists didn’t take into account when they struck the Capitana platform off the coast of Colombia - slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform - and that was the Capitana crew chief, Dewey Andreas.

Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun. While the intelligence and law enforcement agencies scramble to untangle these events and find the people responsible, the mysterious figure of Alexander Fortuna - an agent embedded into the highest levels of American society and business - sets into play the second stage of these long-planned attacks. The only fly in the ointment is Dewey Andreas - who is using all his long-dormant skills to fight his way off the platform, then out of Colombia and back to the U.S., following the trail of terrorists and operatives sent to stop him.

Power Down is a gripping, compelling debut thriller from a powerful new author, an amazing talent certain to join the ranks of the genre’s finest writers.

BONUS AUDIO: includes a conversation with the author and Mitt Romney.

©2010 Ben Coes (P)2010 Macmillan Audio

What the Critics Say

"Coes pumps new heat, blood, and flat-out action into a well-worn premise--terrorists are out to break America by attacking its energy resources--in his frighteningly plausible thriller debut." (Publishers Weekly)

"With a gripping story, compelling characters, a relentless pace and nerve-wracking suspense, Power Down is one of the must-read thrillers of the year." (Vince Flynn, New York Times best-selling author of Pursuit of Honor)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (2116 )
5 star
 (1062)
4 star
 (748)
3 star
 (227)
2 star
 (45)
1 star
 (34)
Overall
4.3 (1708 )
5 star
 (924)
4 star
 (542)
3 star
 (178)
2 star
 (42)
1 star
 (22)
Story
4.4 (1707 )
5 star
 (938)
4 star
 (537)
3 star
 (165)
2 star
 (41)
1 star
 (26)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    john Castle Rock, CO, United States 08-16-12
    john Castle Rock, CO, United States 08-16-12 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What book was being heard by the 5 star reviewers?"

    I am shocked that this dross got such stellar reviews from so many. Perhaps it could have been better supported by a better narrator. I have recently listened to Washington: a Life, The Last Detective (Crais...similiar only in genre) and The Gone Away World. This book isn't even on the same planet as any of the aforementioned or fifty others i have heard. I will, from now on, assume reviews are specious at best.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    aadams3119 Texas, USA 08-14-12
    aadams3119 Texas, USA 08-14-12 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Couldn't stop listening"
    What made the experience of listening to Power Down the most enjoyable?

    I'm not sure I would have had the same experience reading this book as I had listening to it, but if I had been reading it I wouldn't have passed multiple gas stations when I really needed to stop and fill up. I was so engrossed in the book that I almost ran out of fuel on the drive home! This was definitely an exciting story, and kept me listening in the driveway. I loved this book, and can't wait to read the next.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Trista Houston, TX, United States 08-13-12
    Trista Houston, TX, United States 08-13-12 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    113
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    209
    77
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    14
    15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "How have I never heard of this author?"
    What made the experience of listening to Power Down the most enjoyable?

    The narrator is one of the best I've ever heard!


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Power Down?

    I don't want to give anything away.


    What does Peter Hermann bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    He doesn't overdramatize the inflections, which I prefer. He does a great job of differentiating the characters.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    definitely!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sherry Tomball, TX, United States 08-13-12
    Sherry Tomball, TX, United States 08-13-12 Member Since 2013

    Senior Cit with ADHD?

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    156
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "POWER DOWN is quite a tale!"

    I was surprised to find no romance tucked away somewhere. But, it was an exciting story with vivid characters. Overall, this was an action-packed listen that you'll enjoy.

    I'd love to have heard a bit more vocal variation in the narration.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wayne Schenectady, NY, United States 08-13-12
    Wayne Schenectady, NY, United States 08-13-12 Member Since 2015

    Say something about yourself!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    74
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Tip Just Got Sharper."
    If you could sum up Power Down in three words, what would they be?

    This is my first Ben Coes listen and I am hooked. I have the remaining two books now. I am a Mitch Rapp fan and this guy would fit in nicely in his company. The narrator was perfect and the flow of the book starts slow but builds until you can feel your heart beat as you listen to each word.

    The Tip Just Got Sharper!


    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    The story builds in an unlikely place graduely moving you to the center stage. The twists are unexpected and exciting.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    travis 08-12-12
    travis 08-12-12 Member Since 2013

    I am hooked on my books. I love to take my camper up north and spend the weekend sitting out doors with a drink , watching my dogs

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    219
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "VINCE FLYNN RECOMEND YOU READ THIS BOOK"

    I HAVE NO MORE VINCE FLYNN BOOKS TO READ SO I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR A WHILE NOW. IF YOUR LIKE ME WITH MITCH RAPP YOUR GOING TO LOVE THIS BOOK.
    LOOKING FORWARD TO THE NEXT TWO.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Justin Penrose, CO, United States 08-09-12
    Justin Penrose, CO, United States 08-09-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Roller coaster ride! Great narrator!"
    Any additional comments?

    I'm a huge Vince Flynn fan and now I'm a Ben Coes fan. Flynn does an amazing job of having his superhero not do things out of the realm of possibility. I feel like Coes maybe let it get a little out of hand sometimes. Just a little to close to death and then JUST making it. However it didn't ruin anything for me and I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I loved the narrator and was disappointed to see he doesn't narrate the next two Coes books (which I downloaded immediately after listening to this one).

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    carlos New York, NY, United States 08-06-12
    carlos New York, NY, United States 08-06-12 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very entertaining, but a little cheesy."
    If you could sum up Power Down in three words, what would they be?

    Action packed patriotism


    Any additional comments?

    A really fun spy thriller that makes you not want to stop listening! However, a bit predictable and cheesy at some points. It is more of an action thriller than a great spy novel.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charles Beaufort, SC, United States 07-30-12
    Charles Beaufort, SC, United States 07-30-12 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    82
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good read/listen - I found a new author"

    If you like Vince Flynn, Brad Thor and the like, Ben Coes will interest you. Good story, well read, and kept my interest throughout.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    birdogbilly 07-30-12
    birdogbilly 07-30-12 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Entertaining"
    Where does Power Down rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    In the 70th percentile.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Fast paced and a lot of action.


    What does Peter Hermann bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    His style was gripping and the cadence of his narrative kept your attention.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Not really.


    Any additional comments?

    Good all around read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.