We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Power Down Audiobook

Power Down: Dewey Andreas, Book 1

Regular Price:$31.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Introducing a major new thriller writer - in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor - and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas.

A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist attack. But there was one factor that the terrorists didn’t take into account when they struck the Capitana platform off the coast of Colombia - slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform - and that was the Capitana crew chief, Dewey Andreas.

Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun. While the intelligence and law enforcement agencies scramble to untangle these events and find the people responsible, the mysterious figure of Alexander Fortuna - an agent embedded into the highest levels of American society and business - sets into play the second stage of these long-planned attacks. The only fly in the ointment is Dewey Andreas - who is using all his long-dormant skills to fight his way off the platform, then out of Colombia and back to the U.S., following the trail of terrorists and operatives sent to stop him.

Power Down is a gripping, compelling debut thriller from a powerful new author, an amazing talent certain to join the ranks of the genre’s finest writers.

BONUS AUDIO: includes a conversation with the author and Mitt Romney.

©2010 Ben Coes (P)2010 Macmillan Audio

What the Critics Say

"Coes pumps new heat, blood, and flat-out action into a well-worn premise--terrorists are out to break America by attacking its energy resources--in his frighteningly plausible thriller debut." (Publishers Weekly)

"With a gripping story, compelling characters, a relentless pace and nerve-wracking suspense, Power Down is one of the must-read thrillers of the year." (Vince Flynn, New York Times best-selling author of Pursuit of Honor)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (3676 )
5 star
 (1990)
4 star
 (1215)
3 star
 (341)
2 star
 (76)
1 star
 (54)
Overall
4.4 (3162 )
5 star
 (1814)
4 star
 (945)
3 star
 (288)
2 star
 (70)
1 star
 (45)
Story
4.4 (3166 )
5 star
 (1837)
4 star
 (939)
3 star
 (281)
2 star
 (67)
1 star
 (42)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Chris Watford 08-20-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Reader is excellent"

    really liked the reader.. stumbled on this book from audible recommendation. Like the Andreas character.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kevin B 08-19-15
    Kevin B 08-19-15 Member Since 2007
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    63
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Slow start but be hang on there after"
    If you could sum up Power Down in three words, what would they be?

    If you can absorb the character and plot building for the first few chapters you will be well rewarded.


    What other book might you compare Power Down to and why?

    If you like Vince Flynn's Mitch Rapp character meet his brother by another mother!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alan United States 08-14-15
    Alan United States 08-14-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    45
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Welcome to the genre."

    Well done. Moves at a fantastic pace. Nicely balanced with tech, politics, and action. Looking forward to the others.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David Gutierrez 08-14-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    45
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "WOW!! What a start for the next great Hero!"
    If you could sum up Power Down in three words, what would they be?

    Couldn't stop listening, on the edge of my seat all the while driving to Salt Lake. Had to turn it off and grab some sleep. Couldn't wait to get some breakfast hit the road and turn the action back on!


    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    So many twists, great plot, great characters. Ben Coes has nailed Drew Andreas as the new Sheriff in town.


    Which character – as performed by Peter Hermann – was your favorite?

    The grimm reapers name is Drew Andreas!


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    Payback is on it's way from just outside the country!


    Any additional comments?

    Two Thumbs Up!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Richard E. Jones 08-04-15 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow, so glad I came across this writer."

    Great story, written on a grand scale, with likeable (and unlikeable) characters that are well developed. Will definitely read and listen to more of Ben Coes' novels.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Hulhubber New Jersey 07-27-15
    Hulhubber New Jersey 07-27-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Dissapointing"
    Would you try another book from Ben Coes and/or Peter Hermann?

    no. Writing leaves much to be desired, story is silly, and narration doesn't improve the read. Better to wait for the next book by Daniel Silva.


    Any additional comments?

    Kept waiting for it to get better..

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Reji Saratoga Springs, UT, United States 07-24-15
    Reji Saratoga Springs, UT, United States 07-24-15 Member Since 2013

    Ryno Reader

    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    38
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "GREAT story and characters. Bad read"
    Where does Power Down rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    This is for sure a top 10 book in terms of characters and story line. I've read/listened to all the Vince Flynn book, many Brad Thor books etc and this book hangs with the best of them.


    What other book might you compare Power Down to and why?

    If you enjoy, Vince Flynn, Brad Thor and Lee Child, you'll like this book.


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    1. He oversold it. He didn't need to read the chapter headings like batman talks to the Joker. It was a little much.

    2. The way he narrated for the characters did not match what was happening in the book. The book would state that a certain phrase was screamed or yelled by the character, but the narrator decided to use a low intense voice thru clinched teeth. If the character is yelling in the book, the narrator should reflect that to a certain degree.

    3. Speaking of clinched teeth. There was way too much of that going on. I would suggest the narrator use that technique sparingly.


    Any additional comments?

    I loved how all the story lines interacted with each other in a realistic and clear manner. Many times books can get too complicated but the author did a great job of keeping things clear and manageable.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elspeth 07-14-15
    Elspeth 07-14-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thrill ride!"

    Simple - Great narration. Great story. I used a credit but wouldn't have been disappointed if I'd purchased it. Ready to download book 2. Enjoy!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John 07-14-15
    John 07-14-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    75
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Slow beginning but what a finish!!"

    It was a really good book. Kinda long in the beginning and middle but hold on for the last part!! Wow

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alicia 07-11-15
    Alicia 07-11-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great read"

    Great story line. Can't wait to read more and see how it all plays out.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.