We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Power Down: Dewey Andreas, Book 1 | [Ben Coes]

Power Down: Dewey Andreas, Book 1

There was one factor that the terrorists didn’t take into account when they struck the Capitana oil platform off the coast of Colombia - slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform - and that was the Capitana crew chief, Dewey Andreas. Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun....
Regular Price:$31.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Introducing a major new thriller writer - in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor - and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas.

A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist attack. But there was one factor that the terrorists didn’t take into account when they struck the Capitana platform off the coast of Colombia - slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform - and that was the Capitana crew chief, Dewey Andreas.

Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun. While the intelligence and law enforcement agencies scramble to untangle these events and find the people responsible, the mysterious figure of Alexander Fortuna - an agent embedded into the highest levels of American society and business - sets into play the second stage of these long-planned attacks. The only fly in the ointment is Dewey Andreas - who is using all his long-dormant skills to fight his way off the platform, then out of Colombia and back to the U.S., following the trail of terrorists and operatives sent to stop him.

Power Down is a gripping, compelling debut thriller from a powerful new author, an amazing talent certain to join the ranks of the genre’s finest writers.

BONUS AUDIO: includes a conversation with the author and Mitt Romney.

©2010 Ben Coes (P)2010 Macmillan Audio

What the Critics Say

"Coes pumps new heat, blood, and flat-out action into a well-worn premise--terrorists are out to break America by attacking its energy resources--in his frighteningly plausible thriller debut." (Publishers Weekly)

"With a gripping story, compelling characters, a relentless pace and nerve-wracking suspense, Power Down is one of the must-read thrillers of the year." (Vince Flynn, New York Times best-selling author of Pursuit of Honor)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (1702 )
5 star
 (844)
4 star
 (598)
3 star
 (189)
2 star
 (41)
1 star
 (30)
Overall
4.3 (1334 )
5 star
 (710)
4 star
 (421)
3 star
 (150)
2 star
 (34)
1 star
 (19)
Story
4.3 (1330 )
5 star
 (722)
4 star
 (420)
3 star
 (133)
2 star
 (33)
1 star
 (22)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Geraldine Palmdale, CA, United States 12-01-11
    Geraldine Palmdale, CA, United States 12-01-11

    A book lover with varied interests: history, political and technical and economic thrillers, mysteries, crime dramas, futuristic fantasy.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    34
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    72
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What a Psychological Ride!"

    Power Down was the best political thriller I have read recently. Intense energy follows every thread from the Capitana platform outside of Columbia to the city of Long Beach into the White House and beyond. The physical and intellectual strength and stalwart dedication of Dewey Andreas makes one thankful that such a warrior is watching America's back. The book was thoroughly researched. Each detail thrusts the reader into the action. Psychological warfare against an intractable enemy is a major theme and a potent inducement to keep reading. I can't wait to read Coup D'Etat. (I'm not sure what the politician's interview of the author at the end of the book is supposed to do. I recommend skipping it.)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Marisa Lochbuie, CO, United States 10-27-11
    Marisa Lochbuie, CO, United States 10-27-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    49
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"

    The narrator has a voice that is so remarkable, that you never want to stop listening. The story line draws you in making you want more. Excellent and well written.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kaye E Steeno New Braunfels, TX, US 06-12-11
    Kaye E Steeno New Braunfels, TX, US 06-12-11 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    67
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    503
    52
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "I just don't know."

    It took a full 2 hours for me to get into the plot of this book. Then, I was almost half way through before I figured out who the main character was. I liked the theme of the book, but I found the climax, anti climatic. Way too much happened before it happened. Then there was another hour involved in the resolution. I found the book way too long. It was as if the author wanted to put everything he ever thought of in this book, just in case there wasn't a second one. Coes must have attended the Dickensian school of writing. It one word was sufficient, he uses 5.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Edward Bossier City, LA, United States 05-17-11
    Edward Bossier City, LA, United States 05-17-11 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    132
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    2
    Overall
    "Like an episode of 24!!"

    This book was awesome from start to finish. It was fast paced and had a great plot with strong underlying stories. I hope Coes writes a sequal.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Karl King, NC, United States 05-08-11
    Karl King, NC, United States 05-08-11 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    8
    Overall
    "Action packed with no silly sex scenes"

    Good listen! Mostly believable and entertaining. I agree with the rest that gave it 4 stars.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sanford Rosenberg Richmond, VA 05-06-11
    Sanford Rosenberg Richmond, VA 05-06-11

    eggdoc

    HELPFUL VOTES
    194
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    194
    36
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    9
    0
    Overall
    "heart-stopping excitement almost constantly"

    I love the Lee Childs Jack Reacher ex-MP character and Alex Berenson's ex-CIA John Wells, but Ben Coes' Dewey Andreas is that and so much more. He is a hard-fighting, almost-impossible-to-kill ex-Ranger and Delta, but with depth, and humanity.
    You never fear that Andreas will lose in the end, of course, but Coes writes with superlative action-thriller skills that keep your heart racing. Terrifically topical story of spies, moles, Arab terrorists, oil, bombs, and great unsung heroes. And Coes knows his energy background well, since it's his own background.
    And simply the best narrator of any action novel I've heard on Audible in the decade I've been listening. Huge recommendation for fans of the genre.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael East Longmeadow, MA, United States 04-08-11
    Michael East Longmeadow, MA, United States 04-08-11 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    "Great book"

    Ok, never wrote a review and been a member 6 years. This one is worth the time to write about. Vince Flynn is one of my favorites so when he recommended, I decided to give it a chance. Ben Coes is good, this is excellent book - as Mitt Romney says at end, the dialog is always believable - plot holds you to end. Ben - get working on your next book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Larry Watersmeet, MI, United States 03-12-11
    Larry Watersmeet, MI, United States 03-12-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    53
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Great story that will keep you listening"

    In regards to a past review, yes it may be a bit unblelieveable at times, but thats what fiction is. This is a story as good as Vince Flynn writes and Im looking forward to the next story with Dewy A. that Ben Coes is sure to write.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Roscoe WV 03-12-11
    Roscoe WV 03-12-11 Member Since 2012

    Gigo

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    2
    Overall
    "Exciting"

    Very exciting. I had not read Ben Coes before, but he tells a good tale

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kel Harrisburg, NC, United States 03-07-11
    Kel Harrisburg, NC, United States 03-07-11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    "Fantastically detailed and suspenseful!"

    Please write another book!! I'm on the edge of my seat. This book starts slowly, leaving readers to want the story to move along faster. However, you just wait, the action picks up and is well worth the wait! I love this book, and I am eagerly awaiting another one, so hurry up Mr. Coes!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 141-150 of 160 results PREVIOUS1141516NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.