We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Power Down Audiobook

Power Down: Dewey Andreas, Book 1

Regular Price:$31.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Introducing a major new thriller writer - in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor - and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas.

A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist attack. But there was one factor that the terrorists didn’t take into account when they struck the Capitana platform off the coast of Colombia - slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform - and that was the Capitana crew chief, Dewey Andreas.

Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun. While the intelligence and law enforcement agencies scramble to untangle these events and find the people responsible, the mysterious figure of Alexander Fortuna - an agent embedded into the highest levels of American society and business - sets into play the second stage of these long-planned attacks. The only fly in the ointment is Dewey Andreas - who is using all his long-dormant skills to fight his way off the platform, then out of Colombia and back to the U.S., following the trail of terrorists and operatives sent to stop him.

Power Down is a gripping, compelling debut thriller from a powerful new author, an amazing talent certain to join the ranks of the genre’s finest writers.

BONUS AUDIO: includes a conversation with the author and Mitt Romney.

©2010 Ben Coes (P)2010 Macmillan Audio

What the Critics Say

"Coes pumps new heat, blood, and flat-out action into a well-worn premise--terrorists are out to break America by attacking its energy resources--in his frighteningly plausible thriller debut." (Publishers Weekly)

"With a gripping story, compelling characters, a relentless pace and nerve-wracking suspense, Power Down is one of the must-read thrillers of the year." (Vince Flynn, New York Times best-selling author of Pursuit of Honor)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (3540 )
5 star
 (1903)
4 star
 (1178)
3 star
 (334)
2 star
 (74)
1 star
 (51)
Overall
4.4 (3036 )
5 star
 (1728)
4 star
 (913)
3 star
 (283)
2 star
 (69)
1 star
 (43)
Story
4.4 (3039 )
5 star
 (1755)
4 star
 (902)
3 star
 (275)
2 star
 (65)
1 star
 (42)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Bella United States 07-08-15
    Bella United States 07-08-15 Member Since 2016

    teacher

    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Kept my attention for the entire book."
    What did you love best about Power Down?

    Intense suspense, characters who are realistic and easy to keep track of, no fluff or sex or off topic conversations. This book just keeps tightly to the story line which is very plausible and addictive for suspense addicts.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Using the Irish accent for one character in a very American novel brought extra and unexpected flavor.


    Have you listened to any of Peter Hermann’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I've not listened to any of Peter Hermann's novels, but will start looking for them.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    MKBAMARILLO 06-30-15
    MKBAMARILLO 06-30-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book."

    Couldn't stop listening to this story. So many good characters. Well developed story lines. Almost surreal, considering today's headlines.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    C. Glupker Michigan 06-29-15
    C. Glupker Michigan 06-29-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    226
    24
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "85% Great. 15% Fantasy Land"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    I'd recommend the author do some research on how SWAT teams breach a house. Also, the billionaire in the book seems to be indestructible. Basically, the ending was all BS.


    What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

    Interesting threat.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    SE 06-29-15
    SE 06-29-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Bad version of Die Hard with strange narration"
    Would you try another book from Ben Coes and/or Peter Hermann?

    No.


    Would you be willing to try another book from Ben Coes? Why or why not?

    Only if it were categorized as science fiction, as this book stretched the definition of fiction. It reminded me of Die Hard, where multiple Bruce Willis type characters have 9 lives.

    And while I appreciate the attempt at detail, the author's knowledge of firearms is clearly lacking. A professional assassin who uses a Taurus? A Glock 227? Police officers brandishing M60 machine guns? A guy who removes a "cartridge" from his shoulder after being shot? Putting a silencer on a 357 magnum?

    A few very simple Google searches would have cleared all of these things up. Just say "pistol", "rifle", "sub-machine gun" and be done with it.

    Some aspects of the story line were interesting, but much of the story felt very predictable.


    Would you listen to another book narrated by Peter Hermann?

    Not sure.

    There were quite a few characters in this book, and I give the narrator credit for attempting to switch voices between each character, but I quickly got confused by the voices, and it sounded like he did too, confusing voices and using what sounded like a Russian accent for a Panamanian character.

    Also, the pacing in the first third of the book had some very strange sections. At one point, the speed was so fast, it sounded like I had pressed the 1.5x speed button. At other times, it was painfully slow, with strange pauses between words. It almost sounded like an audio editing issue.


    Was Power Down worth the listening time?

    If you just want to kill time and have a distraction, it might be worth it. But it definitely wasn't one of the better fiction books I've listened to.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cathy Medford, OR, United States 06-03-15
    Cathy Medford, OR, United States 06-03-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    38
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great! not just good"

    Authentically thrilling story, as good as Vince Flynn's great books - moving and believable characters -- you'll love it

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joseph 05-28-15
    Joseph 05-28-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    222
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just excellent!"

    An excellent thriller! A great read, realistic, plausible. Going to buy the next one right now!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Val 05-23-15
    Val 05-23-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too much waffle"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    No,


    Has Power Down turned you off from other books in this genre?

    NO


    What did you like about the performance? What did you dislike?

    The action sequences were great, the political and business rhetoric, tho necessary to the story was very long winded and quite boring.


    Did Power Down inspire you to do anything?

    NO


    Any additional comments?

    The Author really needs to do more research, In the movies perhaps you can hotwire a car by "sparking" two wires together, not now buddy - thanks to immobilisers you need a matching chip in the key. You don't break the cover off a Drive Shaft to hotwire a car. You don't push in a choke to gain speed during take off in an Aircraft. You don't push the control column forward for take off = crash and burn , , and no pilot could fly a Helicopter if you shot him in one knee - let alone both knees !! You need both feet on and both hands on . Needs more research and less waffle !!! Also - an All Wheel Drive Mercedes , is AWD - all the time - you don't select All Wheel Drive, If you don't know for sure - don't put it to paper !!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer 05-14-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    243
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What an astonishingly great book!!!"
    Would you listen to Power Down again? Why?

    Its dense, riveting, fiction so real it will make you hold your breath!
    I'm sure others will explain the plot, I just want to say how delighted I was to
    find this book and enjoy it. Moving on to look for more from Mr. Coes!
    Oh, and the reader did a pretty good job of doing all the accents. He put ALOT of
    action and MOOD into the tense situations. I admit to dozing off here and there but
    that may have been due to the pleasure of hearing the voice and listening at the end
    of a long day. Still, even when I had to re-listen to find my spot I discovered I still could
    enjoy the story. I think I will also re listen to the whole thing again in the future. It
    was THAT good.


    What other book might you compare Power Down to and why?

    Brad Taylors stuff


    Which character – as performed by Peter Hermann – was your favorite?

    Dewey!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer South Africa 05-13-15
    Amazon Customer South Africa 05-13-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narrator Peter Hermann drives me nuts"
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    David de Vries is by far the better narrator, Peter Hermann whispers sometimes and speaks so slowly I almost gave up listening. Book 2 had de Vries and oh what better entertainment.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jg206 04-12-15
    jg206 04-12-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great!"

    Loved this modern day thriller! I can't wait to start the next one. I can't imagine it will better than Power Down.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.