We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Power Down Audiobook

Power Down: Dewey Andreas, Book 1

Regular Price:$31.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Introducing a major new thriller writer - in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor - and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas.

A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist attack. But there was one factor that the terrorists didn’t take into account when they struck the Capitana platform off the coast of Colombia - slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform - and that was the Capitana crew chief, Dewey Andreas.

Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun. While the intelligence and law enforcement agencies scramble to untangle these events and find the people responsible, the mysterious figure of Alexander Fortuna - an agent embedded into the highest levels of American society and business - sets into play the second stage of these long-planned attacks. The only fly in the ointment is Dewey Andreas - who is using all his long-dormant skills to fight his way off the platform, then out of Colombia and back to the U.S., following the trail of terrorists and operatives sent to stop him.

Power Down is a gripping, compelling debut thriller from a powerful new author, an amazing talent certain to join the ranks of the genre’s finest writers.

BONUS AUDIO: includes a conversation with the author and Mitt Romney.

©2010 Ben Coes (P)2010 Macmillan Audio

What the Critics Say

"Coes pumps new heat, blood, and flat-out action into a well-worn premise--terrorists are out to break America by attacking its energy resources--in his frighteningly plausible thriller debut." (Publishers Weekly)

"With a gripping story, compelling characters, a relentless pace and nerve-wracking suspense, Power Down is one of the must-read thrillers of the year." (Vince Flynn, New York Times best-selling author of Pursuit of Honor)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (3656 )
5 star
 (1975)
4 star
 (1211)
3 star
 (340)
2 star
 (76)
1 star
 (54)
Overall
4.4 (3145 )
5 star
 (1802)
4 star
 (941)
3 star
 (287)
2 star
 (70)
1 star
 (45)
Story
4.4 (3148 )
5 star
 (1826)
4 star
 (932)
3 star
 (281)
2 star
 (67)
1 star
 (42)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Benjamin 10-01-15
    Benjamin 10-01-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good read"

    authentic details from government protocols to the billionaire maniac living in Manhattan and the Hamptons.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Long Columbia, SC, USA 09-30-15
    Long Columbia, SC, USA 09-30-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    30
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    223
    42
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Boring and predictable"

    The narrator read every character with a monotone voice. There are so many plots and subplots that I soon got bored and erased the book. Couldn't finish. I'm surprised about the positive reviews.

    Try "the rook" if you want a good read

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    joanna penarth, United Kingdom 09-25-15
    joanna penarth, United Kingdom 09-25-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Far-fetched"

    What a ridiculous hero who would believe all those adventures I couldn't take it seriously, his injuries which he operated on himself ridiculous!

    Won't be buying any more of Ben coes books!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    TechTony 09-21-15
    TechTony 09-21-15 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    70
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Exciting stuff"

    Exciting and stayed on the edge of my seat can't wait for the next book,

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sandra M Villasenor 09-17-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nonstop action----we're talkin' sweaty palm action"
    Any additional comments?

    A must read/listen for all you action/thriller junkies out there. Dewey packs a punch! A perfect introduction to Ben Coes. Also, read by the amazing Peter Hermann bringing the action to life.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Curt S. Hayes 09-12-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    38
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good, not Mitchell Rapp. More political."

    I found it not drawing be back in, but the intelligence the author brings the story is intriguing. Reminds me more of Gabriel Alon than Mitch Rapp. While the character is the constant, it's not the real story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bradford C. Snodgrass Indianapolis, In 09-05-15
    Bradford C. Snodgrass Indianapolis, In 09-05-15 Member Since 2012

    Weiner

    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    148
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best book ever!!"

    Technically extremely accurate. Great character development. A very realistic and extremely scary scenario. Love the terrorist, business, world travel aspect of the book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Roy H Enschede, Netherlands 08-26-15
    Roy H Enschede, Netherlands 08-26-15 Member Since 2013

    Roy

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    79
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "slow..."

    this book is read way to slow. first time ever that I had to speed up to 1.25 or 1
    50 to keep interest. the book itself is nice though. the narrator is the issue

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Julie Schmidt 08-25-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    46
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Engaging Story"

    Very well done. Could leave out a few details, but overall a great thriller and I'm looking forward to more of Dewey's adventures.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Chris Watford 08-20-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Reader is excellent"

    really liked the reader.. stumbled on this book from audible recommendation. Like the Andreas character.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.