We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Power Down: Dewey Andreas, Book 1 | [Ben Coes]

Power Down: Dewey Andreas, Book 1

There was one factor that the terrorists didn’t take into account when they struck the Capitana oil platform off the coast of Colombia - slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform - and that was the Capitana crew chief, Dewey Andreas. Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun....
Regular Price:$31.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Introducing a major new thriller writer - in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor - and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas.

A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist attack. But there was one factor that the terrorists didn’t take into account when they struck the Capitana platform off the coast of Colombia - slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform - and that was the Capitana crew chief, Dewey Andreas.

Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun. While the intelligence and law enforcement agencies scramble to untangle these events and find the people responsible, the mysterious figure of Alexander Fortuna - an agent embedded into the highest levels of American society and business - sets into play the second stage of these long-planned attacks. The only fly in the ointment is Dewey Andreas - who is using all his long-dormant skills to fight his way off the platform, then out of Colombia and back to the U.S., following the trail of terrorists and operatives sent to stop him.

Power Down is a gripping, compelling debut thriller from a powerful new author, an amazing talent certain to join the ranks of the genre’s finest writers.

BONUS AUDIO: includes a conversation with the author and Mitt Romney.

©2010 Ben Coes (P)2010 Macmillan Audio

What the Critics Say

"Coes pumps new heat, blood, and flat-out action into a well-worn premise--terrorists are out to break America by attacking its energy resources--in his frighteningly plausible thriller debut." (Publishers Weekly)

"With a gripping story, compelling characters, a relentless pace and nerve-wracking suspense, Power Down is one of the must-read thrillers of the year." (Vince Flynn, New York Times best-selling author of Pursuit of Honor)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (1969 )
5 star
 (975)
4 star
 (703)
3 star
 (216)
2 star
 (43)
1 star
 (32)
Overall
4.3 (1571 )
5 star
 (837)
4 star
 (505)
3 star
 (169)
2 star
 (39)
1 star
 (21)
Story
4.3 (1569 )
5 star
 (849)
4 star
 (501)
3 star
 (157)
2 star
 (39)
1 star
 (23)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Sherry Tomball, TX, United States 08-13-12
    Sherry Tomball, TX, United States 08-13-12 Member Since 2013

    Senior Cit with ADHD?

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    145
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "POWER DOWN is quite a tale!"

    I was surprised to find no romance tucked away somewhere. But, it was an exciting story with vivid characters. Overall, this was an action-packed listen that you'll enjoy.

    I'd love to have heard a bit more vocal variation in the narration.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wayne Schenectady, NY, United States 08-13-12
    Wayne Schenectady, NY, United States 08-13-12 Member Since 2015

    Say something about yourself!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    74
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Tip Just Got Sharper."
    If you could sum up Power Down in three words, what would they be?

    This is my first Ben Coes listen and I am hooked. I have the remaining two books now. I am a Mitch Rapp fan and this guy would fit in nicely in his company. The narrator was perfect and the flow of the book starts slow but builds until you can feel your heart beat as you listen to each word.

    The Tip Just Got Sharper!


    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    The story builds in an unlikely place graduely moving you to the center stage. The twists are unexpected and exciting.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    travis 08-12-12
    travis 08-12-12 Member Since 2013

    I am hooked on my books. I love to take my camper up north and spend the weekend sitting out doors with a drink , watching my dogs

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    206
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "VINCE FLYNN RECOMEND YOU READ THIS BOOK"

    I HAVE NO MORE VINCE FLYNN BOOKS TO READ SO I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR A WHILE NOW. IF YOUR LIKE ME WITH MITCH RAPP YOUR GOING TO LOVE THIS BOOK.
    LOOKING FORWARD TO THE NEXT TWO.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Justin Penrose, CO, United States 08-09-12
    Justin Penrose, CO, United States 08-09-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Roller coaster ride! Great narrator!"
    Any additional comments?

    I'm a huge Vince Flynn fan and now I'm a Ben Coes fan. Flynn does an amazing job of having his superhero not do things out of the realm of possibility. I feel like Coes maybe let it get a little out of hand sometimes. Just a little to close to death and then JUST making it. However it didn't ruin anything for me and I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I loved the narrator and was disappointed to see he doesn't narrate the next two Coes books (which I downloaded immediately after listening to this one).

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    carlos New York, NY, United States 08-06-12
    carlos New York, NY, United States 08-06-12 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very entertaining, but a little cheesy."
    If you could sum up Power Down in three words, what would they be?

    Action packed patriotism


    Any additional comments?

    A really fun spy thriller that makes you not want to stop listening! However, a bit predictable and cheesy at some points. It is more of an action thriller than a great spy novel.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charles Beaufort, SC, United States 07-30-12
    Charles Beaufort, SC, United States 07-30-12 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    82
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good read/listen - I found a new author"

    If you like Vince Flynn, Brad Thor and the like, Ben Coes will interest you. Good story, well read, and kept my interest throughout.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    birdogbilly 07-30-12
    birdogbilly 07-30-12 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Entertaining"
    Where does Power Down rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    In the 70th percentile.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Fast paced and a lot of action.


    What does Peter Hermann bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    His style was gripping and the cadence of his narrative kept your attention.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Not really.


    Any additional comments?

    Good all around read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Odar Sweden 07-30-12
    Odar Sweden 07-30-12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great thriller but the narration ruined it!"

    Ben Coes introduces a great character and has written a story just as good as the very best by Vince Flynn. The narrator though ruined the book by overemphasizing emotions and lacking the skils for foreign accents.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Roberta San Jose, CA, United States 07-30-12
    Roberta San Jose, CA, United States 07-30-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good, but not as good as Vince Flynn."
    Where does Power Down rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Okay. Story a little far fetched. I have another Ben Coes to read, "The Last Refuge". I have high hopes for it. We'll see.


    What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

    The sinking of a nuclear bomb in the sea just didn't make sense.


    What about Peter Hermann’s performance did you like?

    Good delivery.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Don't know.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Barb Hilton Head Island, SC, United States 07-30-12
    Barb Hilton Head Island, SC, United States 07-30-12 Member Since 2008
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good but drags..."

    This is a very good book except it seemed to drag on a lot. The story line was very good, but there was too much added to it. We found ourselves saying that we just wanted the story to move along. We probably will not listen to another book by this author.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.