We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Power Down Audiobook

Power Down: Dewey Andreas, Book 1

Regular Price:$31.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Introducing a major new thriller writer - in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor - and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas.

A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist attack. But there was one factor that the terrorists didn’t take into account when they struck the Capitana platform off the coast of Colombia - slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform - and that was the Capitana crew chief, Dewey Andreas.

Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun. While the intelligence and law enforcement agencies scramble to untangle these events and find the people responsible, the mysterious figure of Alexander Fortuna - an agent embedded into the highest levels of American society and business - sets into play the second stage of these long-planned attacks. The only fly in the ointment is Dewey Andreas - who is using all his long-dormant skills to fight his way off the platform, then out of Colombia and back to the U.S., following the trail of terrorists and operatives sent to stop him.

Power Down is a gripping, compelling debut thriller from a powerful new author, an amazing talent certain to join the ranks of the genre’s finest writers.

BONUS AUDIO: includes a conversation with the author and Mitt Romney.

©2010 Ben Coes (P)2010 Macmillan Audio

What the Critics Say

"Coes pumps new heat, blood, and flat-out action into a well-worn premise--terrorists are out to break America by attacking its energy resources--in his frighteningly plausible thriller debut." (Publishers Weekly)

"With a gripping story, compelling characters, a relentless pace and nerve-wracking suspense, Power Down is one of the must-read thrillers of the year." (Vince Flynn, New York Times best-selling author of Pursuit of Honor)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (3930 )
5 star
 (2159)
4 star
 (1275)
3 star
 (359)
2 star
 (78)
1 star
 (59)
Overall
4.4 (3401 )
5 star
 (1984)
4 star
 (987)
3 star
 (309)
2 star
 (73)
1 star
 (48)
Story
4.4 (3403 )
5 star
 (1999)
4 star
 (991)
3 star
 (299)
2 star
 (68)
1 star
 (46)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amazon Customer 02-24-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Scary but good..."
    If you could sum up Power Down in three words, what would they be?

    Unsettling - Racing - Gripping


    What does Peter Hermann bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    The overall tension of the sitution


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    It scared me to think that there is probably a thread of truth running through the story that is happening right now in our free American society


    Any additional comments?

    This was a total departure from what I would normally reay but I loved it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Greg 02-24-16
    Greg 02-24-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    110
    30
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great listen"

    The writer had me hooked from the beginning. The amount of detail provided from all the characters was excellent, it was not just about Dewey. The context actually helps one understand the world better.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Post Apocalyptic book lover.. 02-23-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book"

    The story kept me wanting more great reader and story, can't wait for the next book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Armen Kurdian 02-20-16 Member Since 2015

    jhawks2

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent story and well researched"

    Very well written suspense field story Coesdoes a fantastic job of building up to a climactic point and growing it out just the right amount. Characters are very believable. Should make folks think twice about not being in favor of big data collection by our government.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rob H Phoenix, AZ 02-17-16
    Rob H Phoenix, AZ 02-17-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    43
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    93
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not sure if I'd continue the series"
    Would you try another book from Ben Coes and/or Peter Hermann?

    Maybe. The narrator wasn't anything special, though he did an excellent job overall. The story of the book wasn't all too original, but I did enjoy it. The plot was more intricate than most, which kept it interesting and well developed, but most of the book wasn't about the main character, Dewey Andreas. It was easy enough to follow all of the characters, which speaks to a book well-written and narrated, but I find I prefer stories which follow the main characters more closely.


    What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

    Expected.


    What does Peter Hermann bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    The narrator did a commendable job of keeping the voices distinct for each character, but there wasn't anything particularly special about them.


    Could you see Power Down being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

    Not a movie, the storyline is too complex. It would be better if it was made as a TV series in line with what "24" was.


    Any additional comments?

    While I enjoyed the book and narration, I'm not sure if there's anything here compelling enough to get the next book in the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Douglas Narberth, PA, United States 02-12-16
    Douglas Narberth, PA, United States 02-12-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    288
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Predictable, plodding story"

    I really like international thrillers that have strong protagonists. Check and check on both counts for Ben Coes novel. There are lots of really interesting characters in this book. Unfortunately, Mr. Coes spends way to much time trying to develop characters in his book that are really rather dull and uninteresting at the expense of his strong characters. Dewey is an interesting character, Alex is not and yet the author spends endless hours trying to make Alex something other than a cardboard cut out villain. I thought of a comic book villain like Snidely Whiplash while the author told the Alex's story. Terribly one dimensional. The heroes, Dewey, Jessica, and even Marks get lost in the shuffle while the author tries try to build up the arch villain. The entire storyline was forced. I also found the plot to be very disjointed. I will skip the next installments. There are a lot better authors out there, Vince Flynn, Brett Battles, and Tom Clancy write much better stories than this. Their characters are also much better developed as well.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robert E. Evans 02-08-16

    reviewer

    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    92
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "You can get published if he can."

    This book seems to have little credibility and it is as if the author watched a bunch of second rate action TV shows as 'research' before he wrote it. The action scenes are improbable and inaccurate while the characters are caricatures of movie caricatures. I managed to get past the first 10 minutes with revolution and suffered through another hour only to skip through chapter after chapter looking for good writing or dialogue or character development. I returned it without completing it. I rarely do this.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Drew Spray 01-19-16
    Drew Spray 01-19-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    58
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Power Down: Dewey Andreas - great suspense "

    This book rates right up there with the best. The performance was outstanding. If you enjoy thrillers this is one you don't want to miss.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    S. Lynn Crist Indianapolis, IN 01-17-16
    S. Lynn Crist Indianapolis, IN 01-17-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Action Packed From The First Chapter To The Last !"
    Where does Power Down rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    It was my most favorite!!


    What did you like best about this story?

    It started with action right off the bat and continued all the way through the book!


    Which scene was your favorite?

    No favorite scenes, loved them all!


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes


    Any additional comments?

    I am a Brad Thor and Vince Flynn fan but Ben has become my number one favorite Author. He can't write them fast enough. After listening to the first book I had to listen to them all!!!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ray 01-14-16
    Ray 01-14-16 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    394
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    348
    107
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    33
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Outstanding"

    Best of the genre that I've read.

    Most of the better ones in this field still can't avoid a kind of comic book melodrama, but Coes largely sidesteps the cliches and keeps most of the action realistic.

    Great narration as well. Peter Hermann does a fantastic job.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.