We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
One Rough Man: A Pike Logan Thriller | [Brad Taylor]

One Rough Man: A Pike Logan Thriller

A former Delta Force commander, Brad Taylor proves with this breathtaking debut thriller that Vince Flynn and Brad Thor have company. A collection of top operatives, the Taskforce was commissioned by the highest levels of government, kept secret from the media and even Congress. The best of the Taskforce bunch, Pike Logan knows the greatest threat to American security is one or two idealogues. Unfortunately for them, they’ve just crossed Pike’s path.
Regular Price:$31.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

A former Delta Force commander, Brad Taylor proves with this breathtaking debut thriller that Vince Flynn and Brad Thor have company.

A collection of top operatives, the Taskforce was commissioned by the highest levels of government, kept secret from the media and even Congress. The best of the Taskforce bunch, Pike Logan, knows the greatest threat to American security is one or two idealogues. Unfortunately for them, they’ve just crossed Pike’s path.

©2011 Brad Taylor (P)2011 Recorded Books, LLC

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (326 )
5 star
 (108)
4 star
 (109)
3 star
 (63)
2 star
 (26)
1 star
 (20)
Overall
3.9 (270 )
5 star
 (98)
4 star
 (99)
3 star
 (34)
2 star
 (23)
1 star
 (16)
Story
3.6 (270 )
5 star
 (83)
4 star
 (86)
3 star
 (46)
2 star
 (22)
1 star
 (33)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    John Charleston, SC, United States 02-27-14
    John Charleston, SC, United States 02-27-14 Member Since 2013

    john thompson

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great fun, lots of action"
    If you could sum up One Rough Man in three words, what would they be?

    This was my first Brad Taylor and I will definitely read more. It's fast paced, well rooted in the author's military experience and absolutely packed with great action. Highly recommended for fans of Vince Flynn and Lee Child.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jacqueline PITTSFORD, NY, United States 01-04-14
    Jacqueline PITTSFORD, NY, United States 01-04-14 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    105
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Twists and turns"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    I enjoyed the story. At times, I found it hard to follow all the bad guys.


    What do you think the narrator could have done better?

    I didn't like the voice he used for the female lead. He was trying to sound feminine, but ended up whining.


    If this book were a movie would you go see it?

    I can see this book as a movie. It has a lot of action and covers a lot of the globe. It would probably be another "Jack Reacher" type movie.


    Any additional comments?

    This was a spy mystery covering a lot of territory.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stacy United States 11-05-13
    Stacy United States 11-05-13 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Couldn't Pick It Back Up"

    The single worst combination of story and narration I've ever heard. First book I have put down and won't pick back up in a long time. Very pre-mature story line and even worse narration. Wish I could say something nicer about this book as I was looking for a new author and series. This wasn't it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Greg APO, AP, United States 09-29-13
    Greg APO, AP, United States 09-29-13 Member Since 2005
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not bad if you can ignore the narrators."
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    I'd only recommend the hardcopy, not the audio book.


    What didn’t you like about J. D. Jackson and Neil Kaplan ’s performance?

    Voices and accents just seemed very much off the mark. Every time I resumed the book, the narration got on my nerves.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    _ CA 08-24-13
    _ CA 08-24-13 Member Since 2009

    IowaShorts

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not a great read..."
    What disappointed you about One Rough Man?

    The story, the writing, and the reading. Sorry for the comparison, but after you've read Daniel Silva novels in the same genre- or even Nelson DeMille or Vince Flynn for that matter - the writing in this novel just doesn't compare. Many holes in the plot, cliched dialog, and downright sophomoric character development.

    Possibly, if the reading had been decent, the story and dialog might have fared better. But the reading was atrocious. Inflection did not match the dialog or setting, etc. Give a listen to the masters - George Guidall, Ron McLarty, or even Scott Brick (if a sarcastic protagonist is called for) and you'll see what I mean. Why some authors opt for the voice artists they do is beyond me (I am a voice over artist but do not read for books).

    I thought I would give the second book a chance but from the comments, I think I'm done with this author.


    How could the performance have been better?

    Way better.


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    This was the first of 85 books I was really disappointed in.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dot TAYLORS, SC, United States 01-07-13
    Dot TAYLORS, SC, United States 01-07-13 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    61
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brad Taylor's book are great reading"
    If you could sum up One Rough Man in three words, what would they be?

    one awesome book


    What was one of the most memorable moments of One Rough Man?

    how he treated his gal


    Have you listened to any of J. D. Jackson and Neil Kaplan ’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    no


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    how jennifer cared for him when he was beaqt up


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brian Bargmann Chambersburg, PA, United States 12-29-12
    Brian Bargmann Chambersburg, PA, United States 12-29-12 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    103
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Could have been alot better"
    What did you like best about One Rough Man? What did you like least?

    The best part was the overall storyline in this novel. It was creative and had plenty of twist and action especially in the second half.The least part I liked was the inclusion of the dark killings such as torturing cilivians. I frankly could have overlooked in the first time but it was reoccuring theme throughout. Plus, it didn't really fit. What politician would hire a sadistic killer to covertly monitor and take out targets without raising any attention? The driveby shooting on Pike was the most ridiclous idea to fit their objectives. There were other inconsisent things like the bugging of ultra-top secret government issued devices. Which in my opinion was also very stupid in the long run. If found, it would eventually be led back to the source. I could go on and on but hopefully you get the generally idea.


    If you’ve listened to books by Brad Taylor before, how does this one compare?

    This is the first and only book of his I've read. I may get the second one in this series but haven't decided yet.


    What didn’t you like about J. D. Jackson and Neil Kaplan ’s performance?

    This is the first time listening to male narrators and I didn't care for it. Part of annoyance with the characters in the first half of the book may have been in part due to the narration.


    If this book were a movie would you go see it?

    Well, since movies rarely have the same content as the book version. Yes, if the main two characters and the major overall plot were the same or close to it.


    Any additional comments?

    If you having or had trouble listening to the first half of the book, stick with it or skip to the second half. The second half was good and worth gritting my teeth through the first part.If you are seeking romance, then don't bother with this book. In fact, the brutal violence throughout the novel will probably give you nightmares if you were hoping this was a romance novel.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Frances Garland, Texas, United States 04-13-12
    Frances Garland, Texas, United States 04-13-12 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    188
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    172
    104
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    54
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Rough Turn Out Weak"

    I was not impressed by these characters at all and some of the story line was just preposterous. Jennifer was whinning one minute and kicking someone's face the next. The jumping back and forth between narrators was distracting, perhaps if the narration had been done by Brick or Hill these 15 hours would have been more enjoyable. The novel was not up to par with Flynn or Thor at all. Seems Taylor has only written two books so perhaps his style and story lines will get better. I was disappointed that I paid 22 bucks for this.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Island Dawg GA USA 08-29-11
    Island Dawg GA USA 08-29-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    68
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Amazing, can't wait for the next one!"

    Great new author! Brad Taylor will be as good as Thor, Child, Baldacci, Flynn & Eisler.
    This was a great read. Give us more Pike, please.

    2 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 21-29 of 29 results PREVIOUS123NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.