We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Mr. Churchill's Secretary Audiobook

Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Maggie Hope Novel, Book 1

London, 1940: Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day. But none of this deters Maggie Hope. She graduated at the top of her college class and possesses all the skills of the finest minds in British intelligence, but her gender qualifies her only to be the newest typist at No. 10 Downing Street. Her indefatigable spirit and gifts for codebreaking, though, rival those of even the highest men in government, and Maggie finds that working for the prime minister affords her a level of clearance she could never have imagined....
Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill’s Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge - and the greatness that rose to meet it.

London, 1940: Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day. But none of this deters Maggie Hope. She graduated at the top of her college class and possesses all the skills of the finest minds in British intelligence, but her gender qualifies her only to be the newest typist at No. 10 Downing Street. Her indefatigable spirit and remarkable gifts for codebreaking, though, rival those of even the highest men in government, and Maggie finds that working for the prime minister affords her a level of clearance she could never have imagined - and opportunities she will not let pass.

In troubled, deadly times, with air-raid sirens sending multitudes underground, access to the War Rooms also exposes Maggie to the machinations of a menacing faction determined to do whatever it takes to change the course of history.

Ensnared in a web of spies, murder, and intrigue, Maggie must work quickly to balance her duty to King and Country with her chances for survival. And when she unravels a mystery that points toward her own family’s hidden secrets, she’ll discover that her quick wits are all that stand between an assassin’s murderous plan and Churchill himself.

In this daring debut, Susan Elia MacNeal blends meticulous research on the era, psychological insight into Winston Churchill, and the creation of a riveting main character, Maggie Hope, into a spectacularly crafted novel.

©2012 Susan Elia Macneal (P)2012 Random House Audio

What the Critics Say

“This wonderful debut is intelligent, richly detailed, and filled with suspense.” (Stefanie Pintoff)

“A terrific read.... Chock full of fascinating period details and real people including Winston Churchill, MacNeal’s fast-paced thriller gives a glimpse of the struggles, tensions, and dangers of life on the home front during World War II.” (Rhys Bowen, author of Royal Blood and winner of the Agatha, Anthony, and Macavity awards)

“Think early Ken Follett, amp it up with a whip-smart young American not averse to red lipstick and vintage cocktails, season it with espionage during the London Blitz, and you’ve got a heart-pounding, atmospheric debut. I loved it.” (Cara Black, author of Murder in Passy)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (1102 )
5 star
 (355)
4 star
 (451)
3 star
 (205)
2 star
 (59)
1 star
 (32)
Overall
3.9 (970 )
5 star
 (309)
4 star
 (378)
3 star
 (196)
2 star
 (53)
1 star
 (34)
Story
4.1 (965 )
5 star
 (398)
4 star
 (363)
3 star
 (139)
2 star
 (39)
1 star
 (26)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    L. Dicken St. Joe, MI United States 01-08-13
    L. Dicken St. Joe, MI United States 01-08-13 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    47
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "OK but could of been better."
    What did you like best about Mr. Churchill's Secretary? What did you like least?

    I really like the premise, but the writing is almost schoolgirl level. It is very predictable and never achieves any level of sophistication, The author has the girls thinking in the present way of thinking and not of the 1940s times so obviously no research was done into the way they thought, and talked back then. I know for I have done such research and was not impressed with this authors writing on it.


    If this book were a movie would you go see it?

    No, unless the script writer was amazing.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Betsy 01-07-13
    Betsy 01-07-13

    I am a one time English major, a lifelong reader, gardener, culinary experimenter, and fiber arts artisan. A perfect day for me is spent working with my hands while listening to an absorbing book. I love history and horticulture.

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    46
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Entertaining fun for fan's of Foyle"

    I enjoyed this book about young woman who finds herself working at Number 10 Downing Street during WWII. It reminded me of other books I had read that were set during the same period in England, but pleasantly so. I am a longtime reader of British Lit and fan of BBC TV. This book reminded me of the fantastic series Foyle's War, which I recently watched on Netflix. Some likable characters and a few surprises.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Madelyn United States 01-07-13
    Madelyn United States 01-07-13 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    49
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting"
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    I'm not sure if any of my friends are interested in the same things I am. This book did not shake my tree. The performance was quite good. The basic idea was intriguing. It was a bit of a cookie cutter type style.


    What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

    WWII and Churchill


    Have you listened to any of Wanda McCaddon’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No.


    Was Mr. Churchill's Secretary worth the listening time?

    A bit.


    Any additional comments?

    There were interesting tid bits.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Christine Canada 01-07-13
    Christine Canada 01-07-13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Spoiled by the narrator"

    This was a not bad story completely spoiled by a narrator who attempted accents so badly that it was hard to tell where Lancashire ended and Atlanta Georgia began. The accents were so irritating that they detracted from the story. I was sorely disappointed as it was an interesting premise.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Melinda Galveston, TX, United States 01-07-13
    Melinda Galveston, TX, United States 01-07-13 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    100
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A must listen!"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes! This is a very engaging story, right from the beginning. The narrator is very easy to listen to and you always know which character is speaking. I love the fact that this book is about women in WWII, though sometimes it makes the men look like bumbling idiots. That part I didn't like. But I found myself rooting for our heroine in her struggles against the mighty brotherhood of men. I loved it mostly because it entertained me.


    What does Wanda McCaddon bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Since this is a book about women, she helps round out that perspective.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Ft. Meade, MD, United States 01-06-13
    Amazon Customer Ft. Meade, MD, United States 01-06-13 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderfull written and read!"

    I absolutely loved listening to this narrator read this book. It was wonderfully written and read. Wanda McCaddon excellently switched from character to character without over doing any of it. Her accents were perfect, her male voices believable.

    Susan MacNeal wrote a wonderful story, truly making me feel like I was in London during WWII. Her descriptions were full but not flowery nor tedious. She made me feel like I was friends with Maggie and David.

    I cannot wait to read more by MacNeal and would listen to anything read by McCaddon.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sandra Sierra Madre, CA, United States 12-31-12
    Sandra Sierra Madre, CA, United States 12-31-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    68
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Engaging History & Adventure"

    Such a nice combination of spy thriller and actual history. Totally enjoyable for anyone who likes suspense combined with history of WW II in England. And very well read. Wish there was more like it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Eileen West Sacramento, CA, United States 12-30-12
    Eileen West Sacramento, CA, United States 12-30-12 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Jr High level story"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    I wanted to like this book but the overly simplistic plotting and writing were a disappointment. It seems like I was reading a book aimed at a Jr High audience.


    If this book were a movie would you go see it?

    No


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer 12-25-12 Member Since 2010

    Lj

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Well done"

    Entertaining, interesting, a mystery and captures the feeling of London during the blitz. Four stars only because, for some reason, they Americanized the story and refer to dollars, Marines protecting the PM. Otherwise a very entertaining and engrossing story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    sally stanton manhattan beach, ca United States 12-25-12
    sally stanton manhattan beach, ca United States 12-25-12 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Intrigue and action from a feminine side"
    What did you like best about this story?

    I love stories that take place in this historical period.


    Any additional comments?

    I choose this book as it was listed as a Maise Dobbs genre. It is that with more suspense but not quite the attachment to the characters. Never the less, I really enjoyed the story and would recommend it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.