We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Mr. Churchill's Secretary Audiobook

Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Maggie Hope Novel, Book 1

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill’s Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge - and the greatness that rose to meet it.

London, 1940: Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day. But none of this deters Maggie Hope. She graduated at the top of her college class and possesses all the skills of the finest minds in British intelligence, but her gender qualifies her only to be the newest typist at No. 10 Downing Street. Her indefatigable spirit and remarkable gifts for codebreaking, though, rival those of even the highest men in government, and Maggie finds that working for the prime minister affords her a level of clearance she could never have imagined - and opportunities she will not let pass.

In troubled, deadly times, with air-raid sirens sending multitudes underground, access to the War Rooms also exposes Maggie to the machinations of a menacing faction determined to do whatever it takes to change the course of history.

Ensnared in a web of spies, murder, and intrigue, Maggie must work quickly to balance her duty to King and Country with her chances for survival. And when she unravels a mystery that points toward her own family’s hidden secrets, she’ll discover that her quick wits are all that stand between an assassin’s murderous plan and Churchill himself.

In this daring debut, Susan Elia MacNeal blends meticulous research on the era, psychological insight into Winston Churchill, and the creation of a riveting main character, Maggie Hope, into a spectacularly crafted novel.

©2012 Susan Elia Macneal (P)2012 Random House Audio

What the Critics Say

“This wonderful debut is intelligent, richly detailed, and filled with suspense.” (Stefanie Pintoff)

“A terrific read.... Chock full of fascinating period details and real people including Winston Churchill, MacNeal’s fast-paced thriller gives a glimpse of the struggles, tensions, and dangers of life on the home front during World War II.” (Rhys Bowen, author of Royal Blood and winner of the Agatha, Anthony, and Macavity awards)

“Think early Ken Follett, amp it up with a whip-smart young American not averse to red lipstick and vintage cocktails, season it with espionage during the London Blitz, and you’ve got a heart-pounding, atmospheric debut. I loved it.” (Cara Black, author of Murder in Passy)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (1330 )
5 star
 (456)
4 star
 (534)
3 star
 (238)
2 star
 (65)
1 star
 (37)
Overall
3.9 (1177 )
5 star
 (397)
4 star
 (457)
3 star
 (224)
2 star
 (60)
1 star
 (39)
Story
4.1 (1172 )
5 star
 (512)
4 star
 (422)
3 star
 (163)
2 star
 (44)
1 star
 (31)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    EFL 03-20-16
    EFL 03-20-16 Member Since 2013

    Say something about yourself!

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    47
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wobbly accents"

    I generally enjoyed the story, but the narrator had difficulty nailing the different accents, which I found distracting.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pixanna Walker 02-06-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    50
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "very interesting"

    I like the way she put history end of the story and yet made the story interesting to read I recommend this book

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    sweetsusiegirl 07-15-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    56
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good, but lacking the wow factor."

    The story was good, but did not have me riveted. Also, I think the narrator's voice was too mature-sounding to pull off all the young female characters...which is a pet peeve of mine. I understand that the narrator in the following books is different, so we'll see how that goes.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jean Sindhikara New Jersey 07-04-15
    Jean Sindhikara New Jersey 07-04-15 Member Since 2013

    Teacher/Mom Jean

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    52
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Accent of reader ruins authenticity"
    If you could sum up Mr. Churchill's Secretary in three words, what would they be?

    Intrigue in the offices of Winston Churchill's office at the height of WWII.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Mr. Churchill's Secretary?

    Speeches by Winston Churchill


    How could the performance have been better?

    Reader must have an authentic American accent, especially since lead character is American. Other accents, even some of the British, seem exaggerated.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No. It took a while to get into.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    TeeShirtBroker Austin 06-23-15
    TeeShirtBroker Austin 06-23-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    58
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not exactly compelling"

    Premise here seemed interesting. Ie. WWII setting, smart. Female protagonist (Wellesley, summa cum laude graduate)., who btw is also beautiful.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    LauraRN 04-26-15
    LauraRN 04-26-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love the historical context"
    If you could sum up Mr. Churchill's Secretary in three words, what would they be?

    Intriguing, humerous, historical


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Mr. Churchill's Secretary?

    The interactions with Winston Churchill, which I hope were based upon someone's actual recollection, were humanizing.


    Have you listened to any of Wanda McCaddon’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No- this was the first.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    It was simply a good, interesting listen.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mickey Lincoln, NE, United States 04-03-15
    Mickey Lincoln, NE, United States 04-03-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Winspear with humor"

    Great characters, vivid description of lives of Britains at beginning of WWII. Looking forward to reading rest of the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jennifer 02-21-15
    Jennifer 02-21-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    121
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    470
    137
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "So many threats, boy does she meet the challenge!"

    Quite a story... Multiple threads following multiple threats from multiple directions! I liked how the threads were woven together, where each was only revealed bit by bit as the plot progressed.

    Maggie certainly is an impressive and intelligent young woman - I nearly yelled with her at the injustice she faced, and I loved her outbursts. Not afraid to speak her mind. She had some good friends too, I liked John and David right away.

    Hard to imagine what life was like then though, even though MacNeal describes all of the wartime conditions, it almost doesn't sound real from this distance... the rations and threat of bombs falling, not to mention those from the IRA.

    Without giving spoilers, I can say that while I sensed the direction of developments, I did not see some of the twists coming. I expected her finding the code wouldn't get a great reception, but what a thrilling sequence followed from there! It was high tension action, and it just kept coming and coming as more pieces to the puzzle were revealed. I caught myself holding my breath at least a few times. After everything, I laughed when Maggie expressed the same thought I had had for some time - what a story to tell her aunt!

    I don't know much about Churchill, but I think he was written well, I got the impression he was portrayed fairly accurately, and his private comments to Maggie amused me. Seemed fitting, given his style of thinking and communicating, with just "KOP" and "kicking!", heh. Such insight tucked in with the rest of the mystery was interesting, and kept it firmly rooted.

    Narration was really good. Multiple accents, done well for both women and men. Someone who can voice Churchill and the 'Dingbells' (and several other folks in between) certainly gets my kudos. First time I think I've ever encountered the case of a British-narrated book with an American-accented protagonist. Only noted one slip or two where John had Maggie's/ narration voice, but it was made clear from context. The only thing which I would have asked to make this top notch would have been to add a vocal distinction for Maggie's thoughts, as we were often given them in tandem with dialogue, so they often sounded as if said aloud.

    Wonderful story. Look forward to reading further books where Maggie can use her talents in a more appropriate setting and contribute more than she could as a typist.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kim 02-10-15
    Kim 02-10-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    188
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "More historical than fiction."

    This book is representative of the dilemma I have with listening to books rather than reading them. If I had read this book I could have skimmed the overly adequate historical pieces and still enjoyed the rousing story. The narration was okay though her use of accents was tedious at times

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kathleen Purcell Seattle, WA United States 07-26-14
    Kathleen Purcell Seattle, WA United States 07-26-14 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    104
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I am totally hooked on the story"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes, I already have!


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Mr. Churchill's Secretary?

    Not just one many. The suspense just kept going on and on.


    What does Wanda McCaddon bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    She was great. She really helped me to visualize the time and place


    Any additional comments?

    I found myself unable to stop the recording and ended up staying up most of one night.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.