We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Mr. Churchill's Secretary Audiobook

Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Maggie Hope Novel, Book 1

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill’s Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge - and the greatness that rose to meet it.

London, 1940: Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day. But none of this deters Maggie Hope. She graduated at the top of her college class and possesses all the skills of the finest minds in British intelligence, but her gender qualifies her only to be the newest typist at No. 10 Downing Street. Her indefatigable spirit and remarkable gifts for codebreaking, though, rival those of even the highest men in government, and Maggie finds that working for the prime minister affords her a level of clearance she could never have imagined - and opportunities she will not let pass.

In troubled, deadly times, with air-raid sirens sending multitudes underground, access to the War Rooms also exposes Maggie to the machinations of a menacing faction determined to do whatever it takes to change the course of history.

Ensnared in a web of spies, murder, and intrigue, Maggie must work quickly to balance her duty to King and Country with her chances for survival. And when she unravels a mystery that points toward her own family’s hidden secrets, she’ll discover that her quick wits are all that stand between an assassin’s murderous plan and Churchill himself.

In this daring debut, Susan Elia MacNeal blends meticulous research on the era, psychological insight into Winston Churchill, and the creation of a riveting main character, Maggie Hope, into a spectacularly crafted novel.

©2012 Susan Elia Macneal (P)2012 Random House Audio

What the Critics Say

“This wonderful debut is intelligent, richly detailed, and filled with suspense.” (Stefanie Pintoff)

“A terrific read.... Chock full of fascinating period details and real people including Winston Churchill, MacNeal’s fast-paced thriller gives a glimpse of the struggles, tensions, and dangers of life on the home front during World War II.” (Rhys Bowen, author of Royal Blood and winner of the Agatha, Anthony, and Macavity awards)

“Think early Ken Follett, amp it up with a whip-smart young American not averse to red lipstick and vintage cocktails, season it with espionage during the London Blitz, and you’ve got a heart-pounding, atmospheric debut. I loved it.” (Cara Black, author of Murder in Passy)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (1225 )
5 star
 (408)
4 star
 (495)
3 star
 (222)
2 star
 (65)
1 star
 (35)
Overall
3.9 (1084 )
5 star
 (358)
4 star
 (418)
3 star
 (212)
2 star
 (59)
1 star
 (37)
Story
4.1 (1078 )
5 star
 (463)
4 star
 (391)
3 star
 (153)
2 star
 (42)
1 star
 (29)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Jan H. Wolfe 03-29-13

    Theatrician

    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    112
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Surprising Spy novel"
    What did you love best about Mr. Churchill's Secretary?

    This delightful book slowly and carefully brings one into England during the beginning of World War II with interesting characters: The world before women were accepted into the upper echelons of politics; the world of Winston Churchill's office. And suddenly, it becomes a mystery to unwind and evolves into a full-fledged spy novel with just a touch of romance. This was most enjoyable and I will make it a point to follow this series.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Mr. Churchill's Secretary?

    Can't give that away. It is, after all, a spy novel.


    Have you listened to any of Wanda McCaddon’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    This was new to me.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Deirdre 03-04-13
    Deirdre 03-04-13 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable Read"
    Where does Mr. Churchill's Secretary rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I like this book better than most of the other books I have listened to.


    What other book might you compare Mr. Churchill's Secretary to and why?

    It is similar to "Her Royal Spyness". It is set in a similar era, british, female heronie.


    Any additional comments?

    The book starts off slow, and it's a little jumpy shirting perspectives. It does address some thought provoking ideologies regarding war that I found interesting.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    HIII 12-07-12
    HIII 12-07-12 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    301
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    255
    150
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    28
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brave Britons"

    It seems World War II never looses its appeal. Inspite of being hard to believe during some of the story this was entertaining.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jose Chula Vista, CA, United States 11-13-12
    jose Chula Vista, CA, United States 11-13-12 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    157
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Entertaining, nice, soft, good historical images"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Mr. Churchill's Secretary to be better than the print version?

    I do not know.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Maggie. Focused, brave, intelligent, non-selfconcious beauty.


    Have you listened to any of Wanda McCaddon’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I have not.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    None really. Meeting her father is the most moving, but then not very much.


    Any additional comments?

    Good plot. Good listen (great reader). Not as crude or violent as other novels of the same genre.Historical references to London at the onset of the war, were interesting.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Christina Stanwood, WA, United States 07-23-12
    Christina Stanwood, WA, United States 07-23-12 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful!!!"
    If you could sum up Mr. Churchill's Secretary in three words, what would they be?

    The three words I would use would be, wonderful. engaging, and thrilling.


    What other book might you compare Mr. Churchill's Secretary to and why?

    This book is fabulous I wouldn't want to compare it to anything. I can't wait for the next book, I love the different view of history.


    Which character – as performed by Wanda McCaddon – was your favorite?

    I loved Maggie Hope. This book made me root for her.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    YES!


    4 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elizabeth Windham, NH, United States 08-11-16
    Elizabeth Windham, NH, United States 08-11-16 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fun, but not great"

    During the expository beginning I just about gave up.

    But the story picked up nicely and Our Hero has sundry adventures. A nice action-packed tale once you get in a bit.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Clayton A Lindsey 07-26-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Looking for a good English Mystery? "

    An interesting story set in 1940's England. Lots of drama and action. A wonderful look at Mr. Churchill. Definitely worth the price of a credit.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kathy N Long Beach, CA United States 06-30-16
    Kathy N Long Beach, CA United States 06-30-16 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    34
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Cozy Spy Story "

    This truly fits in a genre of cozy spy story. Great historical interest and multiple denouements that sustained my interest - I kept thinking the action had peaked and then it picked up again.

    Narrator is great, even evoking Churchill's delivery. The story has a few minor flaws, but if you're already accepting that spy activity could be this gentle, overlooking them is not a step much farther to take .

    I was slightly annoyed by something that's a pet peeve: an author injecting modern morality and political views into a past era. But it wasn't bad enough to ruin my enjoyment.

    I'll read on in the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alicia Drier 06-29-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brits pretending to be American"

    while the book itself was fun, the plot was clunky at times. more than anything what was extremely interesting was the narrator who could not nail down an American accent for the life of her.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Arthur B. Burnett 05-21-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    121
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Riviting Story. Couldn't Stop Listening."
    If you could sum up Mr. Churchill's Secretary in three words, what would they be?

    Good historical fiction.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Mr. Churchill's Secretary?

    When Paige (Clair) and Murphy killed (?) the dancer.


    Have you listened to any of Wanda McCaddon’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I loved it. It made me both laugh and cry.


    Any additional comments?

    This story made me care about the characters. It was very well done. I can't wait to read the next book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.