We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Mr. Churchill's Secretary Audiobook

Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Maggie Hope Novel, Book 1

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill’s Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge - and the greatness that rose to meet it.

London, 1940: Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day. But none of this deters Maggie Hope. She graduated at the top of her college class and possesses all the skills of the finest minds in British intelligence, but her gender qualifies her only to be the newest typist at No. 10 Downing Street. Her indefatigable spirit and remarkable gifts for codebreaking, though, rival those of even the highest men in government, and Maggie finds that working for the prime minister affords her a level of clearance she could never have imagined - and opportunities she will not let pass.

In troubled, deadly times, with air-raid sirens sending multitudes underground, access to the War Rooms also exposes Maggie to the machinations of a menacing faction determined to do whatever it takes to change the course of history.

Ensnared in a web of spies, murder, and intrigue, Maggie must work quickly to balance her duty to King and Country with her chances for survival. And when she unravels a mystery that points toward her own family’s hidden secrets, she’ll discover that her quick wits are all that stand between an assassin’s murderous plan and Churchill himself.

In this daring debut, Susan Elia MacNeal blends meticulous research on the era, psychological insight into Winston Churchill, and the creation of a riveting main character, Maggie Hope, into a spectacularly crafted novel.

©2012 Susan Elia Macneal (P)2012 Random House Audio

What the Critics Say

“This wonderful debut is intelligent, richly detailed, and filled with suspense.” (Stefanie Pintoff)

“A terrific read.... Chock full of fascinating period details and real people including Winston Churchill, MacNeal’s fast-paced thriller gives a glimpse of the struggles, tensions, and dangers of life on the home front during World War II.” (Rhys Bowen, author of Royal Blood and winner of the Agatha, Anthony, and Macavity awards)

“Think early Ken Follett, amp it up with a whip-smart young American not averse to red lipstick and vintage cocktails, season it with espionage during the London Blitz, and you’ve got a heart-pounding, atmospheric debut. I loved it.” (Cara Black, author of Murder in Passy)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (1456 )
5 star
 (509)
4 star
 (586)
3 star
 (254)
2 star
 (69)
1 star
 (38)
Overall
4.0 (1292 )
5 star
 (443)
4 star
 (502)
3 star
 (241)
2 star
 (67)
1 star
 (39)
Story
4.2 (1287 )
5 star
 (574)
4 star
 (461)
3 star
 (173)
2 star
 (47)
1 star
 (32)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Jan H. Wolfe 03-29-13

    Theatrician

    HELPFUL VOTES
    26
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    130
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Surprising Spy novel"
    What did you love best about Mr. Churchill's Secretary?

    This delightful book slowly and carefully brings one into England during the beginning of World War II with interesting characters: The world before women were accepted into the upper echelons of politics; the world of Winston Churchill's office. And suddenly, it becomes a mystery to unwind and evolves into a full-fledged spy novel with just a touch of romance. This was most enjoyable and I will make it a point to follow this series.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Mr. Churchill's Secretary?

    Can't give that away. It is, after all, a spy novel.


    Have you listened to any of Wanda McCaddon’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    This was new to me.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Deirdre 03-04-13
    Deirdre 03-04-13 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable Read"
    Where does Mr. Churchill's Secretary rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I like this book better than most of the other books I have listened to.


    What other book might you compare Mr. Churchill's Secretary to and why?

    It is similar to "Her Royal Spyness". It is set in a similar era, british, female heronie.


    Any additional comments?

    The book starts off slow, and it's a little jumpy shirting perspectives. It does address some thought provoking ideologies regarding war that I found interesting.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Harley 12-07-12
    Harley 12-07-12 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    311
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    255
    150
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    29
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brave Britons"

    It seems World War II never looses its appeal. Inspite of being hard to believe during some of the story this was entertaining.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jose Chula Vista, CA, United States 11-13-12
    jose Chula Vista, CA, United States 11-13-12 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    168
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Entertaining, nice, soft, good historical images"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Mr. Churchill's Secretary to be better than the print version?

    I do not know.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Maggie. Focused, brave, intelligent, non-selfconcious beauty.


    Have you listened to any of Wanda McCaddon’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I have not.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    None really. Meeting her father is the most moving, but then not very much.


    Any additional comments?

    Good plot. Good listen (great reader). Not as crude or violent as other novels of the same genre.Historical references to London at the onset of the war, were interesting.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Christina Stanwood, WA, United States 07-23-12
    Christina Stanwood, WA, United States 07-23-12 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful!!!"
    If you could sum up Mr. Churchill's Secretary in three words, what would they be?

    The three words I would use would be, wonderful. engaging, and thrilling.


    What other book might you compare Mr. Churchill's Secretary to and why?

    This book is fabulous I wouldn't want to compare it to anything. I can't wait for the next book, I love the different view of history.


    Which character – as performed by Wanda McCaddon – was your favorite?

    I loved Maggie Hope. This book made me root for her.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    YES!


    4 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carrie 04-19-17
    Carrie 04-19-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    65
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "So much potential but fell flat"

    This story has so much potential to be a fantastic book but just really fell flat. Everything in the story, from character development to historical events to code breaking and espionage, was just spoon-fed to the reader by the narrator when it should have been "shown" to the reader through the story. I would love for this book to be rewritten with the same storyline because I believe it could be great.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Richard N. Neal 04-14-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    65
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story but poorly structured"

    The story is interesting but the telling is poorly structured and the scenes shift too smoothly. Frequently, I thought I was listening to dialogue between one set of characters when, in fact, the scene and locale had changed and other characters were on stage. I found it hard to keep the characters straight for at least the first half of the book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Maria Jönsson 03-16-17 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A pity the narrator does not continue"

    I enjoyed this book, and would have been happy to liten to the sequels. However, the second narrator was quite a disagreeable experience, so, unfortunately, no further listens.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Diane 03-13-17
    Diane 03-13-17

    retired prof/researcher

    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    113
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Calling all directors"
    What made the experience of listening to Mr. Churchill's Secretary the most enjoyable?

    I knew it wouldn't be long before writers began to take up WWII as entertainment. Nevertheless MacNeal does entertain and I did learn more about the circumstances surrounding the war, particularly among the civilian population.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The painless often enjoyable learning opportunity offered by books whose main objective IS entertainment; but are nevertheless well written.


    Did the narration match the pace of the story?

    I am sorry to say I agree with the many readers that find the narration a decided distraction. However, I tend to chalk this up to the directors carelessness. The narrator's voice has exceptionally strong potential as pleasing and expressive. SHE NEEDS COACHING to eliminate the habits that distract from the performance, such as ending many sentence on the high note of a .question.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John United States 01-19-17
    John United States 01-19-17 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting story and good narration"

    I found the story interesting if fairly predictable. A gentle spy thriller and i enjoyed the characters very much. Narration was particularly good.

    Unfortunately the Narrator changed for subsequent books in the series and i did not enjoy her performance at all

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.