We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Miss Silver Comes to Stay | [Patricia Wentworth]

Miss Silver Comes to Stay

When he was 21 James Lessiter told Henrietta Cray that he loved her before all things and so broke Catherine Lee's heart. But James has a side to him that most people do not see. When the engagement is broken off no one is sure why and Rietta refuses to explain. Twenty years later James returns to the village an extremely wealthy man. Rietta is still unmarried and Catherine is a penniless widow living in a cottage on the Lessiter estate.
Regular Price:$19.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

When he was 21 James Lessiter told Henrietta Cray that he loved her before all things and so broke Catherine Lee's heart. But James has a side to him that most people do not see. When the engagement is broken off no one is sure why and Rietta refuses to explain. Twenty years later James returns to the village an extremely wealthy man. Rietta is still unmarried and Catherine is a penniless widow living in a cottage on the Lessiter estate. Trouble is inevitable, for Catherine has started to sell some of the valuable contents of the cottage to keep up a lifestyle she cannot afford but James has his suspicions and is looking forward to exposing her. He has always enjoyed seeing someone else suffer whatever the cost. When he is brutally murdered there are all too many people who would benefit from his death but fortunately Miss Silver is ready to investigate.

©1951 Patricia Wentworth (P)2014 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • mrs
    ross on wye, United Kingdom
    12/8/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "compelling & beautifully read"
    What did you like most about Miss Silver Comes to Stay?

    Miss Silver is so much more interesting & convincing a character than Agatha Christie's Miss Marple, and deserves to be much better known. Patricia Wentworth is excellent at invoking the post-war English village, with all its nuanced relationships. She is delightfully dry and pithy. Miss Silver comes to stay is a great "page turner", I bought it to listen to on my daily commute but found myself bringing the audio inside and continuing to listen every evening.


    What other book might you compare Miss Silver Comes to Stay to, and why?

    it's in the tradition of Agatha Christie and Ngaio Marsh, or Georgette Heyer's detective stories ... arguably they have narrow range of settings and a limited cast of characters, but are brought to life by taut plotting and excellent writing, with some vivid period detail


    Any additional comments?

    Diana Bishop's narration is excellent

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.