We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Mercy Audiobook
Mercy
Written by: 
Jussi Adler-Olsen
Narrated by: 
Steven Pacey
Mercy Audiobook

Mercy: Department Q, Book 1

Regular Price:$30.98
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The unabridged, digital audiobook edition of Jussi Adler-Olsen’s Mercy, Scandinavia’s new bestselling crime phenomenon.

Read by the actor Steven Pacey. At first the prisoner scratches at the walls until her fingers bleed. But there is no escaping the room. With no way of measuring time, her days, weeks, months go unrecorded. She vows not to go mad. She will not give her captors the satisfaction. She will die first. Copenhagen detective Carl has been taken off homicide to run a newly created department for unsolved crimes. His first case concerns Merete Lynggaard, who vanished five years ago. Everyone says she's dead. Everyone says it’s a waste of time. He thinks they’re right.

The voice in the dark is distorted, harsh and without mercy. It says the prisoner’s torture will only end when she answers one simple question. It is one she has asked herself a million times: WHY is this happening?

©2012 Jussi Adler-Olsen (P)2012 Penguin Books Ltd

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (92 )
5 star
 (47)
4 star
 (33)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.3 (84 )
5 star
 (43)
4 star
 (26)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.5 (84 )
5 star
 (51)
4 star
 (24)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Performance


There are no reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • susan harper
    7/16/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant"

    This is the 2nd book I have read by this author, can't wait to listen to the 3rd.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Farniboy
    Wirral, UK
    7/15/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "New. Nordic-Noir, Nice and Nasty!"
    If you could sum up Mercy in three words, what would they be?

    Exciting, claustrophobic and tense!


    What did you like best about this story?

    At a time when Isis are rampaging across the Middle East and committing atrocities, news reports of Muslim grooming gangs and hate preachers. Its great to see a positive portrayal of a Muslim. Someone who is clever, kind and compassionate. He's an enigma, that raises questions. Only some are answered in this book.


    What does Steven Pacey bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    A good reading by Steven Pacey, as ever my sole bugbear with Mr Pacey's reading is the way he pronounces grimace. It may be a northern thing but we pronounce it griMISS, he pronounces it griMAYCE. Its a small thing but over many listening's to Pacey otherwise great readings, it has become increasingly annoying to me.


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Can you take the pressure?


    Any additional comments?

    A great start to a fantastic series. A definite must listen for fans of The KiIlling, The Bridge, Larrson and Nesbo.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Penny
    Havelock North, New Zealand
    12/9/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Please, please - more from author and narrator!!"

    I've listened to three in a row now (Mercy, Disgrace and Redemption) and found them all utterly compelling - I feel totally bereft now I don't have one to listen to. I love all the flawed characters - makes it so interesting to listen to, and Steven Pacey is brilliant as a narrator, switching voices and accents to different character's speech - marvellous. The only other narrator to compare with him is Derek Jacoby (Pereira Maintains - another brilliant listen). I simply can't rave enough about this, and I'm not usually a raver.

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful
  • Simon
    Waterlooville, UK
    9/15/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Department A+"

    Reading descriptions of this series it would be easy to write it off as just another set of books following a tried and trusted path, but that would be a serious mistake. While it’s certainly true that Department Q has elements in its formula that are tried and tested mainstays of modern detective fiction Olsen develops a cast of characters each of whom has their own intrigues. He uses these characters to develop a richly detailed chemistry that offers moments of genuine humour as counterpoint to the grim and grisly plots.

    There’s a lot not to admire about his detective Carl Morck. He is a bit lazy, he lacks authority and while he’s not a bad detective he often misses things and the author doesn’t fall into the trap of making him a detective genius. He gets put in charge of Department Q basically to keep him out of the way of disaffected colleagues and irritated superior officers. The mission of the “team” is to investigate cold cases but their budget is restricted leading to Carl having just two assistants: a “janitor” named Assad and a “secretary” called Rose. The relationships that develop between these characters and those in Carl’s personal life including his estranged wife, stepson and lodgers are brilliantly entertaining. Carl’s increasingly stressed attempts to wrest some semblance of control over them made me laugh throughout the series.

    Of course all of this is nothing without juicy plots to get your teeth into and Olsen once again delivers. They are often chilling and grisly, there is swearing and they do involve some fairly twisted villains, make no mistake about any of that! On top of that these bad guys are also thoughtfully developed with insights into what made these evil people the way that they are. There are no cut and paste cardboard likenesses of villains here, these are carefully crafted custom models with fine detailing all round.

    All that of course is simply crying out for a skilled narrator. Enter Steven Pacey. He voices all the characters such they are distinguishable from each other using regional English accents in place of Nordic ones. To my English ear this works perfectly but may not meet everyone’s tastes. He reads with a genuine empathy with the main characters. In fact you get the impression that these are more than just a job for him. The humour comes over well but equally the tension that grows within each of the books is effortlessly built to a thrilling climax.

    There is no other series of audiobooks that has had kept me in such a state of heightened tension while somehow interspersing the whole affair with real laugh out loud moments. The books do tread close to the bounds of political correctness and I am sure that some might find it distasteful at times, in fact some reviews indicate this. I’d urge those people to re-think even this aspect of the series as it is always done in a self-deprecating way with the character stepping out of bounds looking weak or silly as a result.

    And finally, should you read these in order? I’d say a definite “yes” because the characters develop their own stories continuously. So while they probably work well enough as stand-alone books the sum of the parts are definitely greater than the whole when taken in their correct turn.

    Seriously . . . what are you waiting for?

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • Kalps
    8/6/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "For lovers of The girl with the dragon tattoo type books"

    This book captivates you from the start .So very addictive . I loved the narration and story .

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Redgrave
    8/1/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Outstanding story, characters and narration"
    If you could sum up Mercy in three words, what would they be?

    Great story, characters and, particularly the narration. The tension at the end is not for the faint-hearted. This is my new favourite author.


    What does Steven Pacey bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    Steven's narration takes the story to a new level.


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    The end is quite emotional.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Sue
    7/23/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great series"

    Second time of listening for me. I found this series when searching for the narrator. He's amazing! Good story line snd believable characters - brought to life by the gifted Steven Pacey.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Sukuma
    UK
    7/20/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unusual Kidnapping"
    Any additional comments?

    The book describes a "horrible" yet unusual kidnapping; I wouldn't wish this on anyone. I enjoyed the description of the detective involved and the relationship interaction with his helper, building the character along with the actual story itself.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Petrova
    7/9/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"

    A very satisfying read, well-written, full of suspense and with some engaging characters. Steven Pacey's narration was also excellent.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Siobhan
    7/7/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great read"

    A definite page turner
    Steven Pacey did the story justice . I m looking forward to listening to the next book in the series

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.