We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
London Rain Audiobook

London Rain: The Josephine Tey Mysteries, Book 6

Regular Price:$24.47
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Intrepid writer and amateur sleuth Josephine Tey returns in this sixth installment in Nicola Upson's popular series - perfect for fans of Agatha Christie's Hercule Poirot and Jaqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs - that unfolds in 1930s London as England prepares to crown a new king.

London, 1937. Following the gloomy days of the abdication of King Edward VIII, the entire city is elated to welcome King George. Just one of the many planned festivities for the historic coronation is a BBC radio adaptation of Queen of Scots, and the original playwright, Josephine Tey, has been invited to sit in on rehearsals.

Soon, however, Josephine gets wrapped up in another sort of drama. The lead actress has been sleeping with Britain's most venerable newsman, Anthony Beresford - and his humiliated wife happens to work in the building. The sordid affair seems to reach its bloody climax when Beresford is shot to death in his broadcasting booth at the deafening height of the coronation ceremony.

Josephine's dear friend, Detective Chief Inspector Archie Penrose, has the case wrapped up before long. But when a second, seemingly related murder throws Penrose for a loop, it falls to Josephine to unravel a web of betrayal, jealousy, and long-held secrets...caught all the while in a love triangle of her own making.

Charming and provocative, thick with the atmosphere of prewar England, London Rain is a captivating portrait of a city on the edge - and an unforgettable woman always one step ahead of her time.

©2015 Nicola Upson (P)2016 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (26 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.3 (23 )
5 star
 (13)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.4 (24 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Susan Fairmont, WV, United States 10-26-16
    Susan Fairmont, WV, United States 10-26-16 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    37
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    323
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I LOVE THE JOSEPHINE TEY SERIES!"
    Where does London Rain rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Pretty high- I listen to a lot of audiobooks, but this is a great series.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of London Rain?

    The cliffhanger ending- I can't wait for the next book in the series!


    Have you listened to any of Wanda McCaddon’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    Just books 4 & 5 in the Josephine Tey series. Honestly, I preferred the narration of Davina Porter, who read books 1-3, but Wanda McCaddon is good.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Spoiler Alert: Bridget revealing to Marta the long-held secret that will affect Archie.


    Any additional comments?

    I really like how each book progresses the characters' relationships, how Ms. Upson includes real life people with the fictional ones and how each mystery has been different from the others, which keeps the novels fresh and interesting.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.