We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
Justice Hall | [Laurie R. King]

Justice Hall

A trail of ominous clues comprise a mystery that leads from an English hamlet to the city of Paris to the wild prairie of the New World. The trap is set, the game is afoot; but can Holmes and Russell catch an elusive killer, or has the murderer caught them?
Regular Price:$20.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Only hours after Holmes and Russell return from solving one murky riddle on the moor, another knocks on their front door...literally. It's a mystery that begins during the Great War, when Gabriel Hughenfort died amidst scandalous rumors that have haunted the family ever since. But it's not until Holmes and Russell arrive at Justice Hall, a home of unearthly perfection set in a garden modeled on Paradise, that they fully understand the irony echoed in the family motto, Justicia fortitudo mea est.

A trail of ominous clues comprise a mystery that leads from an English hamlet to the city of Paris to the wild prairie of the New World. The trap is set, the game is afoot; but can Holmes and Russell catch an elusive killer, or has the murderer caught them?

© 2002 Laurie R. King; (P) 2003 Recorded Books

What the Critics Say

"A spellbinding mystery...superb." (The Washington Post)
"Consistently smart and poignant...[Conan Doyle] would probably approve." (Chicago Tribune)
"Audacious...Mary Russell is never less than fascinating company." (Los Angeles Times)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (751 )
5 star
 (433)
4 star
 (220)
3 star
 (64)
2 star
 (18)
1 star
 (16)
Overall
4.5 (399 )
5 star
 (252)
4 star
 (108)
3 star
 (29)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.7 (396 )
5 star
 (303)
4 star
 (74)
3 star
 (16)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Kat Coz Nashville, TN 09-13-10
    Kat Coz Nashville, TN 09-13-10 Listener Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Wonderfully poignent and beautifully written"

    I am listening to these in order and am having a wonderful time with them. The author brings us back in time so deftly that we forget she is not writing herself from the early 20th century. Her research and knowledge of the history of that time as well as her theological references make me feel as though I'm listening to a real Oxford scholar from 1920. I don't mind that this is not fast paced or heavy on action, it relies instead on well defined characters and beautifully painted landscapes that, surprisingly, do not get long or boring.
    I enjoy the reader as much as the stories themselves but will agree with another review that complained the Canadian accent sounded very off, more like a woman raised in Texas, but that is minor compared to the overall reading of it which I loved. I'm looking forward to the next one and will be sorry when I've completed the series.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pat La Mesa, CA, United States 07-02-07
    Pat La Mesa, CA, United States 07-02-07 Member Since 2003
    HELPFUL VOTES
    77
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    329
    48
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    "Lengthy"

    I loved other books by this author, but with regard to this book, the combination of a very slow reader who emphasized what seemed like every other word, and the detail into which the author went regarding the life and times of the setting, just made for a long read.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Gnomedog 04-27-04
    Gnomedog 04-27-04
    HELPFUL VOTES
    29
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    89
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Couldn't turn it off!"

    One of the best audio books I've heard. If you like Holmes, and female heroines, this is for you!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Andrew J Farnham 01-24-04 Member Since 2003
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Pleased with this one"

    I am a fan of the Mary Russell books and was very pleased with this one. It follows characters introduced in O Jerusalem. I highly reccommend it.

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Susan G. Wood Central, NY 01-21-14
    Susan G. Wood Central, NY 01-21-14 Member Since 2013

    Librarian, reader, commuter. I got tired of the radio and CDs and switched to audio books. Now I listen to books while I quilt, clean, etc

    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Adventure and the Ravages of the Great War"
    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    The diary of the young soldier and his descriptions of the devastation and deprivation of the Great War.


    Any additional comments?

    Another fantastic adventure of Mary Russell and her husband, Sherlock Holmes. Seemingly unevenly matched, Mary is quite a bit younger than her husband, interested in theology, and rich as can be. However, they are a match, mind to mind, wit to wit, and adventurous spirit to adventurous spirit.

    In this sixth volume, Mary and Holmes are invited to Justic Hall. A familiar stranger visits them and invites them to the home of the Duke of Beauville, Justice Hall. A very prominent family guided by duty, honor, and justice. The current duke was called back from the mysterious life he was living after the sudden death of his brother. His brother's heir had died during the Great War.

    The identity of the current Duke is revealed (this is not a spoiler) as the Muslim travelers Russell and Holmes had encountered in the previous book. A reluctant heir with no children, they are to investigate a claimant to the dukedom. Before long, greater mysteries present themselves including the death of the young soldier, an attempted murder, and at least two suspects with power and money wishing for more.

    This is another grand adventure with amazing depth of detail and description, a rousing adventure, edge of the seat suspsence, and a deeply moving picture of a soldier's life in the trenches.

    I listened to the audiobook and the narrator, again, does a fantastic job. She a vibrant storyteller.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Katdeeza The O.C. 12-02-13
    Katdeeza The O.C. 12-02-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    140
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Deliciously Intriguing! Rating PG"

    More than usual, King weaves intriguing and seemingly unrelated plot threads into a shocking design of revelations! In case you're wondering, Mary Russell's extensive yet spellbinding perception of personalities and settings in this novel account for the book's length compared to others in this series.

    I'd rate this PG for some violence and mature themes.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Christopher United States 01-25-13
    Christopher United States 01-25-13 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story and narration!"

    As usual, loved each and every minute of this book! One of the best so far in the series!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kristine New Richmond, WI, United States 11-17-12
    Kristine New Richmond, WI, United States 11-17-12 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "To Slow!!!!"
    What disappointed you about Justice Hall?

    There are so many details to this story that it causes it to drag on. If there were fewer details the story seems to be good.


    Would you ever listen to anything by Laurie R. King again?

    No


    Which character – as performed by Jenny Sterlin – was your favorite?

    Mary


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. Comeaux Lafayette, LA USA 09-28-12
    J. Comeaux Lafayette, LA USA 09-28-12 Member Since 2011

    AudioBook Fan Extraordinaire

    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    50
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good depth into character"
    Where does Justice Hall rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    A good listen, and very important that you read the book O, Jerusalem first to enjoy this tale. But if you proceed to this book right after O Jerusalem, it will be like the second part, and you will really like the depth of character. A strong plus for this book is the imagery of Justice Hall. At first, perhaps we don't think we need all the description, but it appears to have meaning and purpose as the final chapter unfolds. I recommend this book for fans of Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes series.


    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    No, the plot moved along slowly and had moments of faster pacing. Not the top of the series, but certainly among the memorable ones.


    Any additional comments?

    The main antagonist has a very tiny part in this story and we do not meet him/her until quite a ways into it. Perhaps this is good if you don't want to know ahead of time or if you like to be surprised.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    P. J. Zannini Boston, MA USA 08-20-12
    P. J. Zannini Boston, MA USA 08-20-12 Member Since 2008

    Truthteller

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    58
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Captivating - Russell and Holmes at their best!"
    Would you listen to Justice Hall again? Why?

    Yes, I would, but not until I'm done with the entire series :-) Why? It's one of my favorite books to date. I love the tie in to O Jerusalem, the old characters are rich, the new characters are intriguing and the end and even where the whole story goes from the start is unexpected.


    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    Not so much on the edge of my seat as firmly planted in it because I didn't want to stop reading. It was enthralling.


    Have you listened to any of Jenny Sterlin’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I've listened to her in all the other Mary Russell books. Believe it or not, out of all the readings of Holmes that I've heard - hers is my favorite. I love her voice work and I'm surprised at her range with characterizing male voices.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    My only extreme reaction was enjoyment :-D


    Any additional comments?

    Read the next book too - it's just as good!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 11-20 of 34 results PREVIOUS1234NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.