We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
Ivory | [Tony Park]

Ivory

Alex Tremain is a pirate in trouble. The two women in his life - one of them his financial adviser, the other his diesel mechanic - have left him. He's facing a mounting tide of debts and his crew of modern-day buccaneers, a multi-national band of ex-military cut-throats, is getting restless. They don't all share his dream of going legit, but what Alex really wants is to re-open the five-star resort hotel which once belonged to his Portuguese mother and English father on the Island of Dreams, off the coast of Mozambique.
Regular Price:$34.96
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Audible Editor Reviews

Using coastal Mozambique as its picturesque backdrop, Tony Park fuses heart-stopping action and adventure with steamy romance in his wildly imaginative crowd-pleaser that chronicles the exploits of Alex Tremain and his band of modern-day pirates as they square off against Chinese triads, ivory smugglers, and international shipping magnates in their dogged pursuit of one last "big score".

Mark Davis’ authentic Australian twang and vivacious performance effortlessly capture the epic scope and cinematic quality of Park’s irresistibly fun, pulpy adventure.

Publisher's Summary

Simultaneous release of the eagerly awaited latest title from best-selling thriller writer, set in Mozambique and South Africa. Guaranteed to appeal to fans of Wilbur Smith and Beverley Harper.

Alex Tremain is a pirate in trouble. The two women in his life - one of them his financial adviser, the other his diesel mechanic - have left him. He's facing a mounting tide of debts and his crew of modern-day buccaneers, a multi-national band of ex-military cut-throats, is getting restless. They don't all share his dream of going legit, but what Alex really wants is to re-open the five-star resort hotel which once belonged to his Portuguese mother and English father on the Island of Dreams, off the coast of Mozambique. A chance raid on a wildlife smuggling ship sets the Chinese triads after him and, to add to his woes, corporate lawyer Jane Humphries lands, literally, in his lap. Another woman is the last thing Captain Tremain needs right now - especially one whose lover is a ruthless shipping magnate backed up by a deadly bunch of contract killers.

Meanwhile Jane finds herself torn between the crooked but charming pirate and her coolly calculating millionaire boss, George Penfold. Both are passionate, and both are dangerous. What Alex really needs is one last big heist - something valuable enough to fulfil his dreams and set him and his men up for life. When the South African government makes a controversial decision to reinstitute the culling of elephants in its national parks, Alex finds the answer to his dilemma - three tonnes of ivory.

©2009 Tony Park; (P)2009 Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (31 )
5 star
 (12)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
3.7 (18 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.2 (17 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Lia Sutton, Australia 08-03-11
    Lia Sutton, Australia 08-03-11 Member Since 2009

    I love all genres of books. However, when I listen to audio books as I clean, garden, drive they are better with a lot of heat!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2061
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    495
    430
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    280
    29
    Overall
    "Outstanding again"

    This is the third book from Tony Park that I have listened too and all are great from the start to finish. Mark Davis does an outstanding job as the narrator for all the books. The accents are excellent I can't wait for another addition from Tony Park

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    kretin3 EAST LONDON, South Africa 02-21-12
    kretin3 EAST LONDON, South Africa 02-21-12 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "well worth the listen"
    Any additional comments?

    Tony Park has got what it takes to keep you on the edge of your seat all the way through to the end. This is the second book I have listened to by this author and look forward to another becoming available soon. My only criticism would be the narrator. Mark Davis was superb in every way but one. Much of the story is set in Southern Africa and many of the names of the people and places are Afrikaans based and are pronounced a certain way. It would have made the story perfect if the narrator pronounced the names correctly.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Keyur Upper Hutt, New Zealand 03-26-14
    Keyur Upper Hutt, New Zealand 03-26-14 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good Book, well read - worth a listen"
    If you could sum up Ivory in three words, what would they be?

    I expected some similarity with one of the Wilbur Smith Novels, but this one was refreshingly different. a Good book, well read and keeps the listener engaged.


    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    yes, there was always something 'different' happening.


    What does Mark Davis bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    the accents Mark Used and the manner in which he did, makes him an outstanding narrator.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    the book was great overall.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alexander Booth 01-03-11 Member Since 2009
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    1
    Overall
    "I want more."

    Tony Park's characters want you to follow them to other stories. The story line is well researched and the characters believable. You cannont resist the story of the pirate & the crooked ship owner. The twists are excellent & I look forward to yet another African adventure put to press by Tony. Well done.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-4 of 4 results
Sort by:
  • Martin
    Doncaster, South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
    12/11/09
    Overall
    "Lovable Rogues, Elephants and Diamonds?"

    From the start to the thrilling conclusion, this book had me in suspence all the way. It has more twists and turns than a World Rallye course with just as much speed and excitment.
    You get the lot here; adventure, passion, violence and compassion in abundance.
    A truly well written, compelling book I couldn't stop listening to.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.