We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
In the House of Mirrors Audiobook

In the House of Mirrors

Regular Price:$24.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

When Ritchie Naughton, amateur photographer, stumbles upon a house in the woods, strange things start happening. His camera captures images that should not exist, things that cannot be explained. Soon, he'll realize that the people of Red River, New Jersey, are in terrible danger. A darkness grows within the house, threatening them all.

The House of Mirrors is open, and once you see yourself in, there's no way out...

In the House of Mirrors is a supernatural thriller recommended for fans of Peter Straub and Robert McCammon.

©2013 Tim Meyer (P)2014 Tim Meyer/The Soliloquy Man

What the Critics Say

"The story is suspenseful, fast-paced and gets more and more interesting as you go. Plus, it's got satanic cults, demonic forces, sadistic murderers, dark magic, and even a few laughs. What more could you ask for?" (Jack Campisi, co-host of the Monster Men Podcast)

"Holy crap, this book has everything!" (Hunter Shea, author of Sinister Entity and Swamp Monster Massacre)

"Tim Meyer has woven a fine tale of horror. Equipped with a dose of devil worship and cultic practices with just a small taste of humor, the novel catches the reader's attention with ease." (Vitina Molgaard, HorrorNovelReviews.com)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.3 (65 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (21)
3 star
 (20)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (7)
Overall
3.2 (60 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (18)
3 star
 (17)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (8)
Story
3.4 (60 )
5 star
 (16)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (13)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (10)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Fernando Zepeda California 09-10-14
    Fernando Zepeda California 09-10-14 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Entertaining, Dark & Fun to Listen too!"
    If you could sum up In the House of Mirrors in three words, what would they be?

    Throw in a bit of the movie Sinister, add teaspoon of the film Funhouse (80's) and a dash of a creepier Reverend Henry Kane (main antagonist of the Poltergeist series). The finished result would be *In the House of Mirrors".


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Richie my Bitchie -


    Which scene was your favorite?

    As the old man with the long claws come closer and closer...


    Any additional comments?

    Tim Meyer is one of my favorite authors. He's book Demon Blood: Enlightenment is one of my favorite books of all time. This was the 1st time one of his books was made into a audiobook and it did not disappoint.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Susan M Stringer 10-27-14 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The House of Mirrors: Doorway to Horror!"
    Would you listen to In the House of Mirrors again? Why?

    I would listen to the House of Mirrors again because the plot has many twists and turns, and the narrator is extremely gifted.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The best part of the story is when Richie enters the mirror, the gateway, to another world. The description that ensues is mind-boggling and horrifying.


    Have you listened to any of The Soliloquy Man’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    The Soliloquy Man is exceptionally talented and makes the story his. Each character he portrays is unique and believable. This piece is no exception.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    I would have liked to, but if you know my living situation you'd know it's nearly impossible to accomplish.


    Any additional comments?

    Listen to it! I promise you won't be disappointed!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kate 04-30-15
    Kate 04-30-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    31
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not bad"

    Not at all what I expected. There are crazy parts and a part that gave me goosebumps. Random pauses throughoutthestorywastheonlynegativeforthenarratororperformance.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jim Mastertone Texas 12-10-14
    Jim Mastertone Texas 12-10-14 Member Since 2012

    Jimbo

    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This is a novel of supernatural horror?"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    I'm an hour and a half into this book, and have yet to encounter any trace of the supernatural. You don't have to hit the reader with a ghost in the first 5 minutes, but you'll lose him in 30. Struggling to stay with this. Hoping for a payoff. I'll update my review at that point.


    Any additional comments?

    "His words tugged on my empathy like an angry puppeteer." (Favorite metaphor!)

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Shirley Lead Hill, AR, United States 11-05-14
    Shirley Lead Hill, AR, United States 11-05-14 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    26
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    49
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good Story -- Irritating Reader"
    Would you consider the audio edition of In the House of Mirrors to be better than the print version?

    No. I am sure the narrator does a fine job, but this book he literally drove me nuts!


    What didn’t you like about The Soliloquy Man’s performance?

    The narrator fluctuated his voice to the point that the was speaking so low you had to turn up the volume only to blown out of your chair with blood running out of your ears! Not really that extreme but you get the idea. The story behind this book is good, but the narration pulls away from it.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No, after having to have my heart defliberated a couple of times due to really really really low narration AND THEN THE EXTREMELY LOUD NARRATION IN THE SAME BREATH...sheesh


    Any additional comments?

    No, other than the narration really made this book a hard one for me to finish. I think if the fluctuating had not been there, I would have really liked this book. As a side note, on the parts he was not either talking really low or SCREAMING, he did a fabulous job. I did not mind him at all.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rene Bellis Michigan, USA 02-06-16
    Rene Bellis Michigan, USA 02-06-16 Member Since 2016

    Rene

    HELPFUL VOTES
    34
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    61
    55
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Spooky story and very convoluted with a twist."
    Where does In the House of Mirrors rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Somewhere in the middle. It was interesting, but not the best I've listened to. Could have been shorter with less unimportant details.


    What other book might you compare In the House of Mirrors to and why?

    I can't really think of any at this time.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    When they entered the house of mirrors, ready to do battle.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    No.


    Any additional comments?

    No.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    stlblue1 02-04-16
    stlblue1 02-04-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    24
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good storyline"

    I really like the idea in this book but at times it seems a bit wordy. All in all I would recommend it if you are into any type of supernatural stories. There is not a lot of adult themes in this book but it does get a little gory which is to be expected given the subject matter. I found myself wanting to keep listening to this book. The performance was good, a bit over-the-top in parts and in others it seemed like the narrator was bored and saying the words. I will look for more books by this author. I received this book at no charge in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    sojournsapphire 08-14-15 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting story awkwardly told"

    Not a bad story, just felt like the casual language the author used was more awkward than natural. Like hearing a 12 year old using cuss words in the wrong context.
    The performance also was a little over the top.
    All the negative out of the way, I will give credit to some genuinely creepy moments, and a fun fresh story. I think the author has potential.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Linda E. Lawrence Dallas, Texas, USA 07-07-15
    Linda E. Lawrence Dallas, Texas, USA 07-07-15 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    25
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    104
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too Bad To Finish"
    Any additional comments?

    This was one of the very few audible books I could not finish. The reading performance was very awkwardly done with so much emphasis on so many words. It was difficult to listen to. The story line was not easily believed because there were no rhyme or reason to the paranormal happenings. The plot did not progress in a way that made you want to continue to read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Christopher S. 05-27-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    127
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Pretentious / Juvenile Narrator"
    Would you try another book from Tim Meyer and/or The Soliloquy Man?

    I might buy another Tim Meyer book, but not anything with The Soliloquy Man will be in my library.


    If you’ve listened to books by Tim Meyer before, how does this one compare?

    Have not listened to one before.


    How could the performance have been better?

    Choosing a different narrator would have vastly improved the product.


    You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    I don't know because the narrator was so ridiculously bad that I could not continue. It sounded like a high school student replaced the professional recording with a joke recording.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.