We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Ice Shear | [M. P. Cooley]

Ice Shear

As a cop on the night shift in Hopewell Falls, New York, June Lyons drives drunks home and picks up the donuts. A former FBI agent, she ditched the bureau when her husband died, and now she and her young daughter are back in upstate New York, living with her father, the town's retired chief of police. When June discovers a young woman's body impaled on an ice shear in the frozen Mohawk River, news of the murder spreads fast; the dead girl was the daughter of a powerful local congresswoman, and her troubled youth kept the gossips busy.
Regular Price:$24.47
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

A small-town cop's murder investigation turns deadly when she uncovers a web of politics and drugs linked to an outlaw motorcycle gang in this gripping debut suspense audiobook for fans of Winter's Bone, Frozen River, Breaking Bad,and Sons of Anarchy.

As a cop on the night shift in Hopewell Falls, New York, June Lyons drives drunks home and picks up the donuts. A former FBI agent, she ditched the bureau when her husband died, and now she and her young daughter are back in upstate New York, living with her father, the town's retired chief of police.

When June discovers a young woman's body impaled on an ice shear in the frozen Mohawk River, news of the murder spreads fast; the dead girl was the daughter of a powerful local congresswoman, and her troubled youth kept the gossips busy.

Though June was born and raised in Hopewell Falls, the local police see her as an interloper - a resentment that explodes in anger when the FBI arrive and deputize her to work on the murder investigation. But June may not find allies among the feds. The agent heading the case is someone from her past - someone she isn't sure she can trust.

As June digs deeper, an already fraught case turns red-hot when it leads to a notorious biker gang, a meth lab hidden in plain sight - and an unmistakable sign that the river murder won't be the last.

©2014 M. P. Cooley (P)2014 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.6 (61 )
5 star
 (12)
4 star
 (23)
3 star
 (17)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
3.5 (53 )
5 star
 (11)
4 star
 (16)
3 star
 (19)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.0 (52 )
5 star
 (17)
4 star
 (21)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Drew Walnut Creek, California 07-26-14
    Drew Walnut Creek, California 07-26-14 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    63
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting characters, strong plot, good writing"
    Where does Ice Shear rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    A totally absorbing story; I listened compulsively. After my long commute, I sat in the driveway listening...and then broke out the headphones to listen more indoors.

    There is a wide range of interesting, layered characters. The main character, June, is especially compelling: she's a former FBI agent turned small-town cop, a mom and a grieving widow, with good insight and a wry wit. The plot was complex and interesting--it kept me guessing not only about 'who dunnit' but also about how June would overcome the obstacles in her way . I also appreciated the many witty/humorous lines and well-turned phrases throughout the book.


    What other book might you compare Ice Shear to and why?

    It reminded me of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo: both books have lots of interesting characters, and a complex plot that made me want to keep reading the next chapter.


    Which character – as performed by Marguerite Gavin – was your favorite?

    The narrator does an impressive job with the wide range of characters in the book; each character was distinctive. I thought her voicing of the suspect Marty was especially good.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Absolutely!


    Any additional comments?

    Great read!

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.