We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Funeral in Blue Audiobook

Funeral in Blue: A William Monk Novel #12

Regular Price:$24.47
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The headlines were gruesome: two beautiful women found strangled in the studio of a well-known London artist. To investigator William Monk and his wife Hester, the murders are a nightmare. One of the victims is an obscure artist's model. The other is the wife of Hester's cherished colleague, distinguished surgeon Dr. Kristian Beck, a Viennese emigre who swiftly becomes the principal suspect.

With an intensity born of desperation, Hester, Monk, and their dear friend Lady Callandra Daviot, who cannot hide her deep love for the accused, seek evidence that will save Kristian from the hangman - hoping to penetrate not only the mystery of Elissa Beck's death...but the riddle of her life.

Crack another case with William Monk.

©2004 Anne Perry; (P)2004 Brilliance Audio, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (158 )
5 star
 (75)
4 star
 (68)
3 star
 (13)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.4 (115 )
5 star
 (59)
4 star
 (43)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.4 (119 )
5 star
 (69)
4 star
 (36)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Charles 07-16-11
    Charles 07-16-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    88
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    76
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointing"

    Anne Perry takes us to Vienna in this novel and the plot revolves around the revolutions of 1848 in continental Europe. This is not a successful theme for Perry. She is far more effective and convincing when writing about Victorian Britain and its politics. This novel contains more speeches than other William Monk novels and less interesting plotting and characterization. I did not find the conclusion convincing and the plot dragged in many places.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sandra M. Britton Goodyear AZ 12-11-12
    Sandra M. Britton Goodyear AZ 12-11-12 Member Since 2010

    Sandi Briton

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Anne Perry is always a great read."
    Where does Funeral in Blue rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    This story is what I have come to expect from the books by Anne Perry. She is my favorite author and is always one of my go to authors for a great read.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    I really love Hester and her part in all the Monk series.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    Hard to pick just one.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nancy F. Sierra Foothills, Northern CA 05-02-12
    Nancy F. Sierra Foothills, Northern CA 05-02-12 Member Since 2007

    Live on edge of National Forest with lake, birds & wild animals. No more perfect place to indulge life-long love of reading.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    133
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    129
    106
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    34
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Series Interruptus..."

    I'm torn on the rating for this book. I started out thinking it was mildly ok but not great, and ended up thinking it was terrific...so the story gets a 4 star. What's worthy of note is that the first 5 books of this series are really terrific. The narrator is the incomparable Davina Porter. The two primary characters are engaging in the beginnings of a romantic relationship with all the banter, questioning, back/forth that goes with that relationship. Ms. Perry writes all of this with wonderful prose and humor.

    Now skip forward: Audible does not have the rights to release books 6 through 11 ... so we now move from book 5 to book 12. Not only is the narrator different but the plot has moved forward as you would expect. The primary characters (Hester and Wm Monk) are now married and their courtship banter is gone (and is missed because it was truly engaging). Ms Porter's wonderful lilt is gone from the narration and therefore most everything seems darker and more ponderous for the first half of the book. However Anne Perry's wonderful use of language and turns of sentences does come to the fore. Colacci, in the end, proves himself to be a wonderful narrator. And overall I remembered why I love this series.

    All readers should be aware though, this skip in the series makes it hard to keep going in the middle of this book. In the end I'm very glad that I didn't give up, and I'm hoping that none of you do either.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nina Arlington, VA, USA 11-23-08
    Nina Arlington, VA, USA 11-23-08
    HELPFUL VOTES
    371
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    245
    107
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    0
    Overall
    "Fascinating!"

    What I really love abt Anne Perry is how she works the subjects that are so personal and profound to her. As someone who committed murder as a teen, she explores in this book identity, memory, social condemnation, love, and betrayal among other subjects. I think Monk is her, and he has lost his memory, so watching him work to solve mysteries while the biggest mystery of his/her life (why she got involved in that) remains an enigma.

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    connie Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada 01-26-10
    connie Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada 01-26-10

    Narrative makes the world go round.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4555
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1561
    403
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1610
    146
    Overall
    "Colacci on an off day?"

    This was the usual Perry/Monk type of light mystery/social history tale, but I found Colacci's attempt at British English often annoying and at times inconsistent. Even if he had used his own accent as narrator as he does with Donna Leon's novels, it would have been a better listen.

    I usually enjoy both Perry's novels and Colacci's narration, but I wish I had passed on this Monk installment. Play the entire sample before you decide to download.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Melanie 01-12-16
    Melanie 01-12-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    41
    35
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good Story, Wrong Narrator"
    Would you listen to another book narrated by David Colacci?

    Not really. His narration of the book just didn't seem to mesh. Many times I wanted to just stop but didn't want to waste my credit. Maybe paired with a different book/author, his narrative style would be appreciated more.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    The reaction I felt was from the narration----like I was trying to slough through waist-high mud....very slow-going which made the story seem as if it was never going to get anywhere.


    Any additional comments?

    Although the narrator wasn't the right fit, I still would read (listen) to Anne Perry's. I like how she intertwines bits of historical items in with the story such as in this book,mentioning the American Civil War which lets the reader know the time frame of the story.I really don't like to give a bad review of a narrator because they only do the best they can. I know I wouldn't be able to keep the inflections the same throughout the whole reading.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nan Lee San Francisco 01-06-16
    Nan Lee San Francisco 01-06-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Go to Vienna"
    What made the experience of listening to Funeral in Blue the most enjoyable?

    As always Anne Perry again studies motivations of characters more than she does foreign lands or sceneries abroad - even when her story takes readers to Vienna. Alas, the coffee gets more description in Vienna than any scenic spot or building or cultural attraction. Perry sticks to the micro, not the macro when it comes to places beyond London.
    A suprise personality trait is the jelly filling of this mystery. One of her mid-level success stories, high tension, virtually no class warfare, and at least two kinds of total suprises. Fans of Hester and Monk will enjoy it!
    sadly the narration take a full chapter to really hit its stride.


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    Couldnt establish a solid English accent - instead the American accent kept coming through.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Martha 05-20-15
    Martha 05-20-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Martha"

    I like the accurate Historical details that go along with the story. Provides a colorful enrichment and literary depth for increased reading enjoyment.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JoAnn 12-04-12
    JoAnn 12-04-12 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    221
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    284
    92
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    11
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This one was very good"

    I've listened to or read all of the series so far. I very much enjoyed Davina Porter's narration in previous books and wasn't sure I would like David Colacci but I was pleasantly surprised to find he does an excellent job. I also really liked Monk's trip to Austria. I love historical fiction and adding this element to the story enhanced the overall plot and made it that much more enjoyable for me.

    This has been a great series. I already have the next one ready to go.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brenda 05-08-09
    Brenda 05-08-09

    I am a retired Court Reporter and I LOVE books. All kinds of books but my favorites are mysteries and period books. I like civil war books and some biographies.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    338
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    560
    191
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    23
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Funeral In Blue"

    This is the best of the Monk series that I've listened so far. I really enjoyed it as well as I have the Thomas Pitt series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.