We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Extreme Measures | [Elisabeth Naughton]

Extreme Measures

Being prepared for any scenario is the trademark of any good CIA operative, and Eve Wolfe is one of the best. But when her latest mission literally explodes in her face, she wakes up labeled a traitor and - even more surprising - in the custody of elite Aegis Security operative and ex-lover Zane Archer. Although she still secretly has feelings for Zane, he’s now demanding the one thing that she can’t give him: The truth.
Regular Price:$10.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Being prepared for any scenario is the trademark of any good CIA operative, and Eve Wolfe is one of the best. But when her latest mission literally explodes in her face, she wakes up labeled a traitor and - even more surprising - in the custody of elite Aegis Security operative and ex-lover Zane Archer. Although she still secretly has feelings for Zane, he’s now demanding the one thing that she can’t give him: The truth.

When he caught her breaking the rules years ago, Zane let Eve walk away without an explanation. Now someone has not only sabotaged Aegis but also turned an American city into a war zone, and all signs point to Eve. Zane needs answers that can come only from Eve’s still-tempting lips, and he finally has the elusive operative right where he wants her - at his mercy.

The first book in best-selling author Elisabeth Naughton's new steamy romantic suspense series brings a spy in from the cold - and sets her heart ablaze.

©2014 Elisabeth Naughton (P)2014 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (24 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
3.9 (18 )
5 star
 (7)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.3 (19 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Malinda Phoenix, AZ, United States 09-06-14
    Malinda Phoenix, AZ, United States 09-06-14 Member Since 2006

    I love books and love to get lost in the fantasy. I'm always looking for a new good story to bury myself in. :)

    HELPFUL VOTES
    268
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    275
    259
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    58
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Pretty good start to the series :)"

    3.5-4 stars

    This was a pretty good story. I liked Eve and Zane and liked their story. This is the first story I've read by this author and I liked it well enough that I'm likely to read more of her work in the future.

    Eve is a CIA operative. She lost a fiancee when she was in college and this prompted her joining the CIA. Her parents are dead and she has a sister but there are some difficulties between them, a lot caused by Eve being gone all the time and her sister not understanding why because she doesn't know about Eve's job.

    Zane used to be part of the CIA but was a bit too much of a black and white (with no grey in between) type of person to be able to handle that job well. He left that job and joined up with Aegis security but when a job went wrong it messed up his head and he left to find the person he thought was responsible.

    Eve and Zane were involved during an assignment years before. They fell for each other but Eve was freaked out by how Zane affected her (making her feel safe and forget herself) so she ended it and left at the end of the mission, never looking back. When Zane left the CIA and joined Aegis he had a hard time forgetting Eve. When a job went wrong and it looked like Eve might have something to do with it, Zane decided that she'd gone rogue and decided to go on his own to track her down and bring her in. When the story begins, Eve is in Seattle meeting a contact when the contact changes things by showing her a picture of her sister being held captive. Eve doesn't get the information she was trying to get and is left in a bad situation just hoping to get her sister out of the situation safely. Unfortunately, an explosion causes some problems and as luck would have it, Zane was tracking Eve right about that time and finds Eve unconscious after being caught in the explosion. Zane takes Eve away from the scene of the explosion to a place where he can tie her up and then dopes her up with truth serum in an effort to get the truth about everything out of her. The problem becomes that even when Eve tells Zane the truth, he's not really ready to be able to accept it.

    The distrust between Zane and Eve causes some problems but they soon have more serious issues as they find themselves running from others that seem intent on killing them both. Eve plans to leave Zane when she can, figuring that she needs to find out what went wrong with her mission and she doesn't have time for Zane's crusade to "bring her in". When they get to safety, Eve plans to ditch Zane and move on but these plans change when she finds out that Zane has been blamed for the explosion and the authorities are looking for him. She stays to help Zane and work with him but she still has her reservations about being close to him because Zane tends to affect her brain in ways that aren't good for her concentration. Zane and Eve still want each other (even though they both believe they have good reasons for why it wouldn't work) and their close conditions and stressful situation just spikes the heat between them higher. Things aren't easy for them but Zane and Eve try to do their best to work together to figure out what's going on. Even once Zane believes Eve, there are still issues she has to get past in order for them to move on and the fact that she blames herself for everything that's happening doesn't help. With some help from Zane's co-worker, Zane and Eve do manage to find some clues and figure out who the bad guy is and clear Zane and Eve's names, leaving them free (once Eve comes to her senses) to come together for a well deserved HEA.

    This was a pretty enjoyable story. I liked Eve and Zane despite their faults and was glad to see them work things out and end up together. The story was a good balance of romance and action and overall I liked it very much. The book set up things for Eve's sister in the next book and I'll probably be reading that one when it comes out. I'd recommend this book. :)

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    tina 07-11-14
    tina 07-11-14 Member Since 2012

    researcher, mad off-roader, desert girl

    HELPFUL VOTES
    46
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    367
    41
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    12
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Suspenseful thriller and poignant passion!"

    This new novel by Naughton is gripping, intense, well-written, and passionate spy thriller. Enter the world of career spies, double crosses, terrorism, and two spies that try to find their way back to one another after devastating horrors and intrigue separate them years prior. Naughton does a great job in the pacing and slow unveiling of a realistic terrorism plot and how it affects the lives of so many, in particular the leads. She is setting up what looks like a perfect series.

    The romance is top notch and will stay with you. I can't wait to listen to this again now that I know what happens, so I can better catch the clues. I admit I was off about who-did-it and I do not know why that creates reader delight, but it did!

    We also meet a couple others whose stories will be auto-downloads when released. Hurry, Ms. Naughton.

    This was an excellent audiobook, and Hilary Huber really added to the overall enjoyment with her narration. What makes this a double-whammy? At the bargain price of $7 and change, it is definitely like finding Lindt chocolates in place of your hershey bar.

    Fans of Suzanne Brockman, Lisa Marie Rice and others of this genre will be delighted.
    Get this book and settle in.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-2 of 2 results
Sort by:
  • Susan
    9/25/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Romantic suspense that lost the plot"

    This book starts really well with private security agent Zane seeking revenge on CIA agent, and former lover, Eve, who he believes betrayed his team. Unfortunately once circumstances force them both to go on the run they are taken over by their hormones and indulge in endless internal monologues at highly inappropriate times as they each attempt to fight their irresistible attraction to each other for really stupid reasons which pretty much come down to “I am a secret agent, therefore I cannot have a romantic life”. Nevertheless, Zane may have a fresh bullet wound and serious leg injury, and Eve has a sister who is kidnapped or dead, but this does not stop them getting hot and heavy regardless of the fact that they are being hunted by terrorists and suspected of bombing a city centre. After breaking into a house to hide, they are so busy in bed they fail to notice the five heavily armed terrorists surrounding the house. But our scantily clad duo manage to overcome them with unrealistic ease – Eve while barefoot in a kitchen covered with broken glass, manages to disarm two of them with only a kitchen knife and a bottle of champers. As you do. Then on the run again and these two highly trained professionals fail to notice that Eve has glass shards in her foot until 12 hours later when she tries to wrap it in toilet paper to stop the bleeding! All this leads to another unlikely scenario when they meet some fellow agents in a public park, get attacked by yet more terrorists with rocket launchers(!), their two associates are apparently killed and our supposedly tough and experienced CIA heroine goes into a complete vomiting state of shock for the next 12 hours. We then come to the overly tried and tested plot device of hiding out in a conveniently empty romantic mountain cabin (So why didn’t they hide there in the first place???).

    This book has an intriguing plot of espionage and double-crossing which has the skeleton of a great romantic suspense. Unfortunately the romance dominates the thought processes of our main characters – and not in a good way. I found myself more interested in the sub plot of another agent searching for the sister. The final confrontation reveals a plot so full of holes it was laughable. The baddies, after using bombs, rocket launchers and machine gun toting terrorists to try to dispatch our two, then start bickering among themselves at the end and have to explain their plan in detail to our couple in a vain effort by the author to help the reader understand their motivation.

    This book was narrated beautifully and very well written. It was just too dominated by Mills and Boons style romantic yearnings and a plot that ultimately just did not make sense.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.