We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Dead Men's Boots: A Felix Castor Novel, Book 3 | [Mike Carey]

Dead Men's Boots: A Felix Castor Novel, Book 3

Before he died, Felix Castor's fellow exorcist John Gittings made several calls asking for help, and if Castor had answered them, John might still be alive. So when a smooth-talking lawyer comes out of nowhere to claim the remains, Castor owes it to John's unhappy ghost - and even more unhappy widow - to help out. If only life were that simple.
Regular Price:$39.28
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Before he died, Felix Castor's fellow exorcist John Gittings made several calls asking for help, and if Castor had answered them, John might still be alive. So when a smooth-talking lawyer comes out of nowhere to claim the remains, Castor owes it to John's unhappy ghost - and even more unhappy widow - to help out. If only life were that simple.

A brutal murder in King's Cross bears all the hallmarks of an American serial killer supposedly 40 years dead, and it takes more good sense than Castor possesses not to get involved.

He's also fighting a legal battle over the body - if not the soul - of his possessed friend, Rafi, and he can't shake the feeling that his three problems are related. With the help of the succubus Juliet, paranoid zombie data-fence Nicky Heath, and a little judicious digging, Castor just might have a chance of fitting the pieces together before someone drops him down an elevator shaft or rips his throat out. Or not.

©2009 Mike Carey (P)2012 Audible Ltd

What the Critics Say

"Every bit as good as the better-known Jim Butcher, Carey hits his stride with his third hard-boiled supernatural thriller." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (3 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.7 (3 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (3 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • ruth
    rustington, United Kingdom
    1/26/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fix is running a close second"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Definitely recommended.


    What other book might you compare Dead Men's Boots to, and why?

    Faint hints of a British Dresden


    What three words best describe Michael Kramer’s voice?

    unauthentic, charismatic, sardonic


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    If only life permitted such a thing!


    Any additional comments?

    I am beginning to think that Fix has to be one of the best male protagonists in urban fantasy. 'Tis true that Dresden is still at #1 but Fix is running a close second. Mr Carey has solidified his world in this book and our somewhat flawed protagonist continues to 'grow'. I loved this outing of Mr Castor and can't wait to get my hands on the next one. Highly recommended.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Deborah
    Nottingham, United Kingdom
    4/13/13
    Overall
    "Supernatural"

    Once again Fix battles demons, weres and ghosts, as well as ever day human psychos in his own inimitable and reluctant way. Sometimes selfish, often lazy and occasionally guilt-ridden, our hero's efforts to help the widow of an old friend and fellow exorcist lead him in to danger. Thank heavens (or should that be hell?) for the delicious scary Juliet, a succubus trying hard to give up her soul sucking ways and a great character.



    If you have read the preceding Felix Castor books and enjoyed his dry outlook you will not be disappointed.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • David Ross Kinnaird
    3/15/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fan of the Books? Don't bother with the audio."
    Would you try another book written by Mike Carey or narrated by Michael Kramer?

    Dead Men's Boots is one of my favourite Felix Castor stories. Funny, suspenseful and well crafted.

    I lasted an hour with the audio-book before removing it from my Kindle. This is dire.

    American narrator Michael Kramer's feeble attempt at a generic 'English' accent (which at times makes Dick Van Dyke's infamous Yank-ney brogue seem like a exemplary exercise in phonetics) deprives the reader of any of the subtleties of Carey's description, and of his barbed Scouse wit.

    The result is a good book ruined by a poor and distracting reading. Dire, as I said.

    Readers (or listeners) to a first-person narrative NEED to commit to the lead character - their eyes and ears, and their voice in the unfolding tale. When that commentary is poorly interpreted in such a conspicuously false manner, that commitment is impossible.

    I had high hopes of this audio-book, but found it unbearable

    Fans of Carey and Castor should avoid this, and Mr Kramer should seek an appointment with a decent dialect-coach.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Castor, though his wit, charm and personality are lost in this terrible reading.


    Who might you have cast as narrator instead of Michael Kramer?

    Anyone who could provide a consistent, convincing English accent. A Liverpudlian, preferrably - as the fist-person narrator's voice borrows a great deal from the inflections and nuance of the author's own.


    Any additional comments?

    Why employ an American actor who clearly CANNOT maintain a decent English accent - his phrasing and intonation waver from sentence to sentence, and is clearly (and poorly) rendered - to narrate work by a writer with such a distinctive British (specifically Liverpudlian) voice.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Daryn Hughes
    1/18/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story. Less stars for performance."

    Great American narrator but mispronounces English phrases and place names a lot. I am loving the Felix Castor character.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.