We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Dark Harbor | [David Hosp]

Dark Harbor

From the opening chapter of the electrifying Dark Harbor, one thing is clear; this is the clarion call of an exciting new talent. Highly touted debut author David Hosp crafts an engrossing novel in the tradition of John Grisham, John Sandford, and David Baldacci.
Regular Price:$27.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

From the opening chapter of the electrifying Dark Harbor, one thing is clear; this is the clarion call of an exciting new talent. Highly touted debut author David Hosp crafts an engrossing novel in the tradition of John Grisham, John Sandford, and David Baldacci.

Scott Finn survived a childhood running errands for crime kingpins to become a six-figure lawyer at a prestigious Boston firm. Now the sky's the limit...until his colleague and former lover Natalie turns up dead in Boston Harbor, her heart surgically removed. She initially appears to be the seventh victim of "Little Jack", a serial killer reminiscent of Jack the Ripper. But suspicion quickly turns to Scott, who must dig deep into Natalie's life to discover the secrets she kept.

The suspense builds to a crescendo as this stunning thriller travels at breakneck speed toward a shocking conclusion.

©2005 Richard David Hosp; (P)2005 Recorded Books, LLC

What the Critics Say

"Compelling characters pulse through attorney Hosp's surprisingly engaging fiction debut." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (499 )
5 star
 (133)
4 star
 (234)
3 star
 (86)
2 star
 (29)
1 star
 (17)
Overall
3.9 (231 )
5 star
 (67)
4 star
 (106)
3 star
 (39)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (10)
Story
4.2 (229 )
5 star
 (100)
4 star
 (83)
3 star
 (38)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (5)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Ed Saint Augustine, FL, United States 04-10-07
    Ed Saint Augustine, FL, United States 04-10-07 Member Since 2006

    Retired former magazine editor who is working harder than ever as Mr. Dad to his 11-year-old daughter.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2450
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    410
    219
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2307
    0
    Overall
    "Predictable yet still good"

    This was a good story, read by a good narrator, with mostly predictable outcomes and a reasonably satisfying conclusion. Fiction is usually more preposterous than real life, so I am a little non-plussed by those who wrote negative reviews on this work. This author is not John Grisham-caliber yet, but I will listen to more of his books if and when published. And if you like John Sandford or Jeffrey Deaver, you will like this author. Trust me.

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    James claremont, ON, Canada 11-10-05
    James claremont, ON, Canada 11-10-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    33
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Disappointed"

    I'm surprised by some of the reviews on here. I was disappointed by this audible book, I found the main protagonist faintly irritating, the plot thin and obvious. Slobbish male cop teamed with beautiful female cop who's career hangs on this one case, what a cliche! Can't recommend I'm afraid.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Visalia, CA USA 03-11-12
    Amazon Customer Visalia, CA USA 03-11-12 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    58
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Slightly Gory but Riveting"

    The story carries you along splendidly with twists and turns along the way. There are several gory sections in the book which, if you are squeamish can be fast forwarded through. I think the main character, Finn, will be fun to follow in the author's subsequent books. I recommend this book to make a road trip fly by.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    K. Masheter Deal Southwest, USA 02-21-12
    K. Masheter Deal Southwest, USA 02-21-12 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    49
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    266
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fabulous 1st in series choice"

    This was a very worth while 1st in series purchase ... the author, David Hosp, is new to me and I am very pleased with his style of writing for this genre - not so graphic as to scare the pants off of you but still captivating & engrossing ... the narrator, George Guidall, keeps your attention and makes you sit on the edge of your seat at the exciting parts - I'm a fan of Mr. Guidall's voice work for audiobooks ... I liked the characters so much I have already downloaded the second book in this series ... if you remember the excitement of old time radio dramas this book will have you spell bound till the end ... I hope Audible can get the 4th book in this series soon ... darn good book!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Karen Kinards, SC, United States 11-18-11
    Karen Kinards, SC, United States 11-18-11 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    152
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I already bought the sequel"

    The book started with three separate plots and sets of characters, but they soon merged in a very imaginative way. I really liked the plot, didn't guess the ending, and loved every twist all the way to the end of the book.
    Scott Finn is a great new character and I've already downloaded the next audiobook in the series.
    I know George Guidall is a great narrator - I love the way he does the Walt Longmire series, but I didn't think he was perfect for this book. The Boston setting and educated characters would have been better served with a younger, more sophisticated voice. I had to keep reminding myself not to picture them the way he made them sound.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ruth Redding, CA USA 10-04-11
    Ruth Redding, CA USA 10-04-11 Member Since 2009

    Say something about yourself!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    53
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Dark Harbor"

    Excellent story! Grabs from the beginning to end! David Hosp is a great mystery writter.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    cyndie 09-30-11
    cyndie 09-30-11 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "New David Hosp fan"

    I didn't think anyone could be as good as the Michael Connellys, the John Grishams, or a score of my favorite authors, but I am a huge fan of David Hosp. Great character development. I really like these people and get a suprising chuckle from them. Good story with all kinds of twists and turns. George Guidall is wonderful. Look forward to the next one, hopefully soon.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robert E. Scarcelle 01-15-09 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    136
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    868
    37
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    1
    Overall
    "Good Listen"

    A little predictable at times but kept me interested throughout. I liked that the "hero" was not squeaky clean as they are too often. The overall enjoyment factor was drastically elevated by George Guidall's narration. I rate it a 3.5 but rounded to 4.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Daniel 04-03-08
    Daniel 04-03-08 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    42
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    33
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Can anyone write an ending?"

    This is not a bad book for a while. It has some clunky writing (like the detectives ham fisted handling of the case and her irrational suspicion of the main character) but the big problem comes at the end. Note to authors: pitched gun battles in mythical fortresses might have been fine for 1940s comics but they are not a satisfactory ending for modern readers. Incredibly disappointing ending but it takes several hours to get to it.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    James P Bronson, FL, USA 12-18-05
    James P Bronson, FL, USA 12-18-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    24
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Good listen"

    I enjoyed this book and plan to listen again in a few months! Had some neat twists and ended the way I wanted it to! It was worth the money to me!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 11-20 of 34 results PREVIOUS1234NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.