We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Dark Harbor Audiobook

Dark Harbor

Regular Price:$27.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

From the opening chapter of the electrifying Dark Harbor, one thing is clear; this is the clarion call of an exciting new talent. Highly touted debut author David Hosp crafts an engrossing novel in the tradition of John Grisham, John Sandford, and David Baldacci.

Scott Finn survived a childhood running errands for crime kingpins to become a six-figure lawyer at a prestigious Boston firm. Now the sky's the limit...until his colleague and former lover Natalie turns up dead in Boston Harbor, her heart surgically removed. She initially appears to be the seventh victim of "Little Jack", a serial killer reminiscent of Jack the Ripper. But suspicion quickly turns to Scott, who must dig deep into Natalie's life to discover the secrets she kept.

The suspense builds to a crescendo as this stunning thriller travels at breakneck speed toward a shocking conclusion.

©2005 Richard David Hosp; (P)2005 Recorded Books, LLC

What the Critics Say

"Compelling characters pulse through attorney Hosp's surprisingly engaging fiction debut." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (594 )
5 star
 (170)
4 star
 (272)
3 star
 (99)
2 star
 (33)
1 star
 (20)
Overall
4.0 (318 )
5 star
 (100)
4 star
 (140)
3 star
 (54)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (13)
Story
4.3 (313 )
5 star
 (156)
4 star
 (101)
3 star
 (46)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (6)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Ragna Phillipsville, CA, United States 09-21-11
    Ragna Phillipsville, CA, United States 09-21-11 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    26
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    282
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "not in the same league as Baldacci"

    Boring, trite and luckily was on sale for $4.95. Don't be taken in on the comparison to Baldacci.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jody Polk City, FL, USA 12-09-07
    Jody Polk City, FL, USA 12-09-07
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Definitely Grisham Caliber"

    I have been searching for new a David Hosp audio book since I read Dark Harbor and am thrilled that he has a new one on Audible now. Can't wait to read it. You will not be disappointed in Dark Harbor. It is at the top of my all time favorite's including Grisham, Patterson, etc.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    James claremont, ON, Canada 11-10-05
    James claremont, ON, Canada 11-10-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    33
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Disappointed"

    I'm surprised by some of the reviews on here. I was disappointed by this audible book, I found the main protagonist faintly irritating, the plot thin and obvious. Slobbish male cop teamed with beautiful female cop who's career hangs on this one case, what a cliche! Can't recommend I'm afraid.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Daniel 04-03-08
    Daniel 04-03-08 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    58
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Can anyone write an ending?"

    This is not a bad book for a while. It has some clunky writing (like the detectives ham fisted handling of the case and her irrational suspicion of the main character) but the big problem comes at the end. Note to authors: pitched gun battles in mythical fortresses might have been fine for 1940s comics but they are not a satisfactory ending for modern readers. Incredibly disappointing ending but it takes several hours to get to it.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Paula Overland Park, KS USA 10-05-15
    Paula Overland Park, KS USA 10-05-15 Member Since 2012

    Enjoying one good listen after the next!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1693
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    748
    286
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    296
    26
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable, if not Quite Perfect"

    A few flaws in character development, a few pronunciation problems in the narration; but overall, a modestly engaging mystery. Scott Finn doesn't seem to REALLY come from the street background the author proclaims -- seems a bit naive at times. And the cops? Well, the female was unprofessional if not unethical once or twice and the rest of them, not too memorable. Let's don't even talk about the lawyers! That said, I enjoyed this one. No book has to be perfect. . . and this one is far from it. Still, well worth the time and credit.

    5 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    carlos101 07-01-13
    carlos101 07-01-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    25
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    137
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Stupid and predictable"
    Any additional comments?

    Too many convenient coincidences. Oblivious cops. Bad guys who can be everywhere, undetected and unsuspected. A disappointment. George Guidall excellent, as always.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sue McCallister Visalia, CA USA 03-11-12
    Sue McCallister Visalia, CA USA 03-11-12 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    80
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Slightly Gory but Riveting"

    The story carries you along splendidly with twists and turns along the way. There are several gory sections in the book which, if you are squeamish can be fast forwarded through. I think the main character, Finn, will be fun to follow in the author's subsequent books. I recommend this book to make a road trip fly by.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Karen Kinards, SC, United States 11-18-11
    Karen Kinards, SC, United States 11-18-11 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    210
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I already bought the sequel"

    The book started with three separate plots and sets of characters, but they soon merged in a very imaginative way. I really liked the plot, didn't guess the ending, and loved every twist all the way to the end of the book.
    Scott Finn is a great new character and I've already downloaded the next audiobook in the series.
    I know George Guidall is a great narrator - I love the way he does the Walt Longmire series, but I didn't think he was perfect for this book. The Boston setting and educated characters would have been better served with a younger, more sophisticated voice. I had to keep reminding myself not to picture them the way he made them sound.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ruth 10-04-11
    Ruth 10-04-11

    Say something about yourself!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    40
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    67
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Dark Harbor"

    Excellent story! Grabs from the beginning to end! David Hosp is a great mystery writter.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    cyndie 09-30-11
    cyndie 09-30-11 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "New David Hosp fan"

    I didn't think anyone could be as good as the Michael Connellys, the John Grishams, or a score of my favorite authors, but I am a huge fan of David Hosp. Great character development. I really like these people and get a suprising chuckle from them. Good story with all kinds of twists and turns. George Guidall is wonderful. Look forward to the next one, hopefully soon.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.