We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Daemon | [Daniel Suarez]

Daemon

Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.
Regular Price:$35.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

©2009 Daniel Suarez; (P)2009 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills, and cyber suspense....A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (8253 )
5 star
 (4845)
4 star
 (2169)
3 star
 (788)
2 star
 (254)
1 star
 (197)
Overall
4.4 (5218 )
5 star
 (3182)
4 star
 (1266)
3 star
 (487)
2 star
 (164)
1 star
 (119)
Story
4.5 (5182 )
5 star
 (3270)
4 star
 (1364)
3 star
 (385)
2 star
 (100)
1 star
 (63)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    SA Alabama 02-13-10
    SA Alabama 02-13-10 Listener Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    203
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    "Long Live the Daemon"

    Who do you chose? An artificial intelligence with no emotional drive, or the selfish Govt already in place. This book is awesome. You start off thinking how evil this Daemon is, and then about halfway through you start to understand the Daemon's point of view. By the end, I could see myself accepting the Daemon's offer. Great book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jose G. Meras Houston, TX 02-03-10
    Jose G. Meras Houston, TX 02-03-10 Member Since 2014

    Jose M.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    53
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    186
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    1
    Overall
    "Great"

    Awesome book, but Freedom (the sequel) is better. A very promising writer.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robert T. Muir Tacoma, WA USA 02-02-10
    Robert T. Muir Tacoma, WA USA 02-02-10 Listener Since 2008

    Mycroft

    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Hard science fiction for the 21st century!"

    Remember Hari Seldon from Foundation? Remember Colossus from The Forbin Project? You'll find echoes of them both in this two volume (Daemon & Freedom(TM)) narrative. Fascinating and riveting account of a possible new digital world.

    I have to say that Jeff Gurner's reading is amazing! The range of dramatic voices and vocal effects really drew me into the characters. It was almost radio-play like.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    OldDogEyes in CO Denver CO 01-28-10
    OldDogEyes in CO Denver CO 01-28-10 Member Since 2015

    OldDogEyes in CO

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    4
    Overall
    "Great listen...."

    Right down my alley... got me thinking about this whole cloud computing movement that we are in today... Great first book Daniel!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Eje 01-23-10
    Eje 01-23-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    133
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Super story"

    I live and work with IT. This book is intriguing and fascinating. From a technical stand point this is a very well written and research book. The technical aspects are very correct in the book with few if any factual errors how things works. I read many books based on technology that have had numerous flaws because of lack of knowledge or understand about the networking and computer technology how it works. But this is not the case with this book. There are of course some aspects that might not be plausible today but they are not far off what could be achieved so as a tech specialist this was fun read. I loved this book the story is intense and it was hard for me to put down this book. Narration is very good (at times reading slightly to fast) with great sound effects. I would recommend this book highly. Already downloading the next book and hope to see more from this author.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joe Renton, WA, United States 10-28-09
    Joe Renton, WA, United States 10-28-09 Member Since 2002
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    50
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "WOW, blew my socks off.Great Book"

    Huge fan of snow crash and the traveler and other, but this book reminds me of the original star trek.....futuristic subject matter but like Aesop's fables the map can be overlaid today with real insight. Cannot wait for the sequel...and yes a HUGE disappointment when it ended.......BUT I WILL WAIT.....hey Audible where is his first book.....if as good as this one lets get it here.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Norman Philadelphia, PA, USA 08-23-09
    Norman Philadelphia, PA, USA 08-23-09 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    40
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Like, Gibson and Stephenson? Here comes Suarez"

    Set in a day after tommorrow setting Daemon Like Snow Crash and The Traveler before it paints a familar picture filled with modern and next-gen technology. The productions use a single narrator who is supplemented by a computerized voice when speaking for the titular Daemon. The story not without it's problem which don't detract from the plot is fast moving and leaves a backdoor for the future volume which hopefully will resolve the tale.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Heather S. Michelson 07-11-09 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "fasinating! had to keep listening"

    Kept my attention and would like to hear the rest
    of the story!

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ellen Vines 06-26-09
    Ellen Vines 06-26-09 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    53
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Very engaging book!"

    This book managed to keep my attention the entire time I listened to it. I also loved the narrator and sound effects. One of the best books I have listened to in awhile.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John C Cleveland, OH 06-10-09
    John C Cleveland, OH 06-10-09 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    60
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Powerful start, seem silly mid-book"

    The beginning of the book is fantastic and very compelling. As it continues it looses luster, and the whole concept of the novel seems ridiculous (super smart AI unleashed by a dead guy to rule the world). I thought this was initially a hook, and that there would be an explanation or twist... nope. 10 hours I'm going to pull the plug.

    2 of 10 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.