We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Daemon Audiobook

Daemon

Regular Price:$35.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

©2009 Daniel Suarez; (P)2009 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills, and cyber suspense....A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (11059 )
5 star
 (6376)
4 star
 (2999)
3 star
 (1067)
2 star
 (359)
1 star
 (258)
Overall
4.3 (7839 )
5 star
 (4607)
4 star
 (1984)
3 star
 (783)
2 star
 (270)
1 star
 (195)
Story
4.5 (7806 )
5 star
 (5003)
4 star
 (2002)
3 star
 (558)
2 star
 (147)
1 star
 (96)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    JCL Coarsegold, CA USA 12-09-12
    JCL Coarsegold, CA USA 12-09-12 Member Since 2004

    Live near Yosemite National Park. Listen to Audible books while hiking.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    37
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    60
    50
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    9
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent Thriller"

    Highly recommended! If you like adventure thrillers, you will like this novel. The author wrote with authority about computer systems and gaming, which gave the plot credibility. Of course, now that the author has given the world his idea, can it be long before the gamer/computer establishment tries to implement it? The ending leaves questions: What's next for the female Black genius who was blinded? What's next for Ross? What's next for the Major? What's next for Sebeck? Perhaps the author has a sequel in mind? Hope so!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    william chalfont, PA, United States 12-08-12
    william chalfont, PA, United States 12-08-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Followed up with the sequel (Freedom) right away"
    Any additional comments?

    I am not a complete tech geek nor do I normally read anything that could be considered Sci-Fi. That being said I thought the story was incredible and somewhat plausible. I HIGHLY recommend !!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Raphael North Bergen, NJ,07047 12-08-12
    Raphael North Bergen, NJ,07047 12-08-12 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too much gaming"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Maybe if you can skip the gaming part


    What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

    The win of the machine over the humen


    What about Jeff Gurner’s performance did you like?

    He was OK


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    12-05-12
    12-05-12 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Super, insightful, must read"
    If you could sum up Daemon in three words, what would they be?

    Insightful Scary Sobering


    What other book might you compare Daemon to and why?

    It is a stand alone book


    Which character – as performed by Jeff Gurner – was your favorite?

    John Ross


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    made me Angry


    Any additional comments?

    It is a must read and afterwards you will want to become a hacker or buy a gun or both for self preservation.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    D. McCleary Oakland, CA 12-04-12
    D. McCleary Oakland, CA 12-04-12 Member Since 2011

    Badcowboy

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I finally got around to listening and glad I did"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Techie friends would love this, but even non technical friends would find it enjoyable as most of the very technical stuff is explained well.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jeffrey Windhorst 12-02-12 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    33
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fun ride"
    What did you love best about Daemon?

    First off I thoroghly enjoyed this book. That being said, if you are looking for a deep story with timelessness that will be appreciated for generations this is probably not the book for you. If however, like me you are simply looking for a fun fast paced and timely thriller then this book will likely be just the ticket. The character development was just deep enough to draw you into the characters without slowing down the story. The story itself was very unique and clearly though out and planned very well. I love the way the author makes it so easy to believe in this autonomous computer virus that can kill at will! Creative, fast paced, shocking and fun fun fun!


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    !! SPOILER ALERT !!

    I liked Loki the best. Sure he was a "bad guy" but sometimes we find ourselves enjoying the bad guys right? I think I like him the most becasuse he acted as the face and body of the virus and was eventually in charge of that wild chase scene!


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    I usually listen to audiobooks during my daily commute. A select few books will find themselves being listened to as I sit on the couch with the dog. This was one of those books! I kept wondering what was going to happen next and never wanted to stop!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Sugar Land, TX United States 11-25-12
    Amazon Customer Sugar Land, TX United States 11-25-12 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    114
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Must! I can't stress that enough"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Daemon to be better than the print version?

    sounds effects and voice acting really surrounds you in this story. well done


    What did you like best about this story?

    the fact that this could really happen with our current technology is so striking. really pulls you in


    What does Jeff Gurner bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    He does such a great job. I've read the 2nd part of this series and Kill decision. He has done an outstanding job. Now I'm wondering what other books he has read just to get the same level of experience.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Daemon.. its only a matter of time...


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pauly Morefuss 11-24-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    63
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    359
    25
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Cool, Hip, Smart"

    This clever story is further strengthened by a superb reader.

    An appealing aspect of this book is its talented use of the expositional technique of "incluing". Throughout the story, the technological information we need for effective comprehension is skillfully positioned and presented to smoothly maintain the action and storyline without sudden stops to explain or clarify.

    Hang on for a riveting experience.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David Cupertino, CA, United States 11-22-12
    David Cupertino, CA, United States 11-22-12 Listener Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "one of my favorite books."

    getting story a little unnerving how close some things are to reality. can't put it down.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Doug Luberts Los Angeles and San Francisco, CA, USA 11-22-12
    Doug Luberts Los Angeles and San Francisco, CA, USA 11-22-12 Member Since 2016

    VFX Editor/Assistant Editor/Digital Artist

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another Tour de Force from Daniel Suarez"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Daemon to be better than the print version?

    Suarez continues to be my favorite author in the contemporary tech/SciFi genre. Weaving reality-based tech data, geopolitics, and conjecture into a fast-paced, and extremely engaging narrative.

    I read Suarez's books and think that someday, very soon, people will look back at the work and say, "They thought he was writing fiction."


    What other book might you compare Daemon to and why?

    Kill decision, and Freedom (TM)


    Which character – as performed by Jeff Gurner – was your favorite?

    Heinrich Boerner ... "I do so enjoy my work."


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.