We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
Daemon | [Daniel Suarez]

Daemon

Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.
Regular Price:$35.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

©2009 Daniel Suarez; (P)2009 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills, and cyber suspense....A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (7096 )
5 star
 (4148)
4 star
 (1865)
3 star
 (674)
2 star
 (227)
1 star
 (182)
Overall
4.4 (4150 )
5 star
 (2522)
4 star
 (1011)
3 star
 (377)
2 star
 (140)
1 star
 (100)
Story
4.5 (4119 )
5 star
 (2577)
4 star
 (1100)
3 star
 (301)
2 star
 (88)
1 star
 (53)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Warren Aloha, OR, USA 02-23-09
    Warren Aloha, OR, USA 02-23-09 Member Since 2005
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    110
    3
    Overall
    "Great concept, disappointing conclusion"

    I enjoyed the concept of the book. Well written, good character development. Very poor wrap-up, however. Lots of loose ends and unresolved issues.

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John Northville, MI, United States 02-19-09
    John Northville, MI, United States 02-19-09 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Off Track"

    Two thirds good, one-third bad...really bad.

    1 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Christopher Waco, TX, USA 02-17-09
    Christopher Waco, TX, USA 02-17-09
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    3
    Overall
    "GreatStoryline-Poor Ending and Dialogue"

    I enjoyed the story--the author selected a very engaging and entertaining subject. However, the believability of the dialogue was poor, and the ending was disappointing. Despite all this, I enjoyed listening to it.

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mark Fort Lauderdale, FL, United States 12-17-09
    Mark Fort Lauderdale, FL, United States 12-17-09 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    292
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    94
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    28
    1
    Overall
    "Stupid, Silly Audiobook."

    Save your credits. Book and narration idiotic.

    6 of 30 people found this review helpful
  •  
    denewbgp 04-17-10
    denewbgp 04-17-10 Member Since 2009
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    1
    Overall
    "an awasome listen"

    A story with so many twist and turns that it always keep me wanting for more. If only the end wasnt so much of a cliffhanger :|

    0 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 451-455 of 455 results PREVIOUS14546NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.