We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Daemon | [Daniel Suarez]

Daemon

Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.
Regular Price:$35.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

©2009 Daniel Suarez; (P)2009 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills, and cyber suspense....A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (8249 )
5 star
 (4843)
4 star
 (2167)
3 star
 (788)
2 star
 (254)
1 star
 (197)
Overall
4.4 (5214 )
5 star
 (3179)
4 star
 (1266)
3 star
 (486)
2 star
 (164)
1 star
 (119)
Story
4.5 (5178 )
5 star
 (3269)
4 star
 (1361)
3 star
 (385)
2 star
 (100)
1 star
 (63)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Melissa San Francisco, CA, USA 04-12-10
    Melissa San Francisco, CA, USA 04-12-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Definetly worth a listen"

    The narration and style of this book do take a while to get used to. All the voices of the different characters are exagerated into sterotyped caricatures of how they would actually sound, although this does help to allow the listener to tell them apart in this fast paced story.

    The story however began to really grip me just a couple of chapters in and I found myself facinated, finishing it in just a couple of days.

    My main complaint would be that the author often goes into way too much detail, not only in the discriptions of the technology, but in the settings and action of the book as well. This became tiresome at times, and it would've been nice if he'd allowed a little to be left to the imagination instead.

    The end of the book was annoying too, as it left you hanging in the least satisfying way. I still haven't decided whether I will read the sequel yet, as I am not so sure I liked the direction that the book was moving in the last few chapters, but overall, I did think that this book was a great first listen, both thrilling and thought provoking.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Christopher Apopka, FL, USA 04-01-10
    Christopher Apopka, FL, USA 04-01-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Remember... Techno-thriller, not reality."

    I loved this book. Great narration. Great story. The few people who wrote bad reviews on this book forgot the fact that this is a sci-fi/techno-thriller book, not real life. A few people complain about the narrators voices being too stereotypical. How is that different than any movie or TV show ever made??? And as for the ending... it did leave me hanging, as if I didn't get all the answers, but that's what the sequel is for...

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Paul Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada 03-23-10
    Paul Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada 03-23-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Fantastic Tech Journey"

    An amazing tech tale! Well read, perfect dictation and completely captivating. A must read (listen) for all!!!

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Daniel Round Lake Park, IL, USA 03-15-10
    Daniel Round Lake Park, IL, USA 03-15-10 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    2
    Overall
    "Great thriller for anyone interested in tech"

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. A thrilling story that kept my interest the entire time. The whole book is based around computer technology, which made it great for a geek such as myself. But I think Suarez did a good job explaining the computer lingo in a way that even someone who is not technologically savvy could understand. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes thrillers, but especially to people interested in tech.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carole Pivarnik Virginia, USA 03-14-10
    Carole Pivarnik Virginia, USA 03-14-10

    Watercolor Explorer

    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    106
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Frightening and compelling"

    As an IT worker, I thought the author did a great job making the Daemon scenario plausible. The characters and story were very enjoyable...I wanted more more more at the end, so I'm glad there is a sequel.

    Nitpicks: Whoever edited the book missed a few things; every once in awhile, I heard some improper grammar. There is something annoying about the narrator, although I can't quite figure out what it is. However, he does voices very well and the story is so good, I was willing to put my unquantified annoyance aside.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Don Three Rivers, US, Canada 03-14-10
    Don Three Rivers, US, Canada 03-14-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Great Techno Thriller"

    This a great techno thriller. Daemon sets up the characters and Freedom TM finishes the plot line. For those not familiar with computer terms there is a character in the book that needs to have terms explained. There are several characters (with their plot lines) in the book to keep the story moving along (and keep your interest peeked.)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    B. Hicks Alberta, CA 03-10-10
    B. Hicks Alberta, CA 03-10-10 Member Since 2009
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    Overall
    "Amazing techno thriller"

    This book uses current technology, events and situations to deliver a vision of what could very easily happen. The naration is top knotch, the producers picked just the right people. Best book I've read in the past 6 months and I'm already started the sequel.

    I do want to address something a previous reviewer said, regarding rape. Yes, there is a scene of the rape of a 17 year old girl. However, this scene is used to build the character of the one behind it. If every book with mentions of rape were to be given such negative reviews, there would definitely be a lot less material out there. It does not in any detract from the story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    T. Pick 02-28-10
    T. Pick 02-28-10 Member Since 2012

    Computer programmer in the Bay Area of California.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    75
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Exciting techno-thriller with great narration"

    Best audiobook I've heard to date, with fantastic narration and gripping story. The technical details were right on and plausible. Occasionally the story slipped into cliche but overall a very enjoyable experience and left me wanting more. Fortunately there's a sequel!

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wayne Schenectady, NY, United States 02-16-10
    Wayne Schenectady, NY, United States 02-16-10 Member Since 2015

    Say something about yourself!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    74
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    15
    Overall
    "GREAT with a big G"

    This was truly a great listen. I read other reviews and almost missed this and the Freedom sequel. I am not a gamer but love the world created here and can not wait for more. This is true Sifi with a realworld feel. 5 stars and more.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Marc Wheatland, MI, USA 02-15-10
    Marc Wheatland, MI, USA 02-15-10 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Hard to put down."

    I picked up the book after hearing about it on TWIT. I don't often write reviews but this book was really good, modern and plausible as hell. When i finished Daemon i wanted more. Now seeing there is a sequel made my day.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.