We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Daemon Audiobook

Daemon

Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.
Regular Price:$35.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

©2009 Daniel Suarez; (P)2009 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills, and cyber suspense....A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (10408 )
5 star
 (6002)
4 star
 (2816)
3 star
 (999)
2 star
 (339)
1 star
 (252)
Overall
4.3 (7229 )
5 star
 (4248)
4 star
 (1835)
3 star
 (708)
2 star
 (252)
1 star
 (186)
Story
4.5 (7198 )
5 star
 (4588)
4 star
 (1860)
3 star
 (519)
2 star
 (138)
1 star
 (93)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Hunter heber, UT, United States 10-28-12
    Hunter heber, UT, United States 10-28-12 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    72
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    98
    75
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting premise"

    I was skeptical of this story line when I downloaded it, but it turned out to be a good story. Not terribly realistic, but still a good read. I think the best part was that the plot didn't go where I expected it, and instead took a turn in a different direction.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    PJMartin 10-27-12
    PJMartin 10-27-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    131
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I'm sorry, I just don't get it."

    I really don't understand how this book got such high reviewer ratings. It started off very interesting and I was hopeful. I'm now one hour from the end of the book and I can't wait until it ends so that I can legitimately say "I really didn't like this book." It was as if it were written by a geek trying to be cool, or a cool guy trying to sound like a geek. Lots of descriptive violence interspersed with geek speak. Maybe if I were an 18 year old hacker I would have appreciated it more. Narrator was very good, tho.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jeffery P. Lorig O'Neill, NE 10-22-12
    Jeffery P. Lorig O'Neill, NE 10-22-12 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    55
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nietzsche Would Be Proud"
    What did you love best about Daemon?

    A page turner...or ehh...one of those audio books you can't stop listening to. It's a good story with fast paced action and lots of mystery. Perhaps there are some deeper lessons about the partnerships between corporations and governments. It makes some anthropological claims you can agree or disagree with about man's free will. As the story unfolds and the prophetic claims of the Daemon come true, notice your own longing for them to not really be true. That will show you a truer sense of your humanity than what is written. Nietzsche would enjoy this Godless will to power.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alexander New Richmond, WI, United States 10-14-12
    Alexander New Richmond, WI, United States 10-14-12 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    73
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Fiction"
    What made the experience of listening to Daemon the most enjoyable?

    Demon and its sequel Freedom TM take Sci-Fi to a whole new level. This story is fast paced and takes twists and turns that you didn't see coming.


    What other book might you compare Daemon to and why?

    If I didn't know better I would have thought this book was written by Scott Sigler.


    Have you listened to any of Jeff Gurner’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No. He's a good narrator.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Hell yah!


    Any additional comments?

    I want more!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    10-14-12
    10-14-12 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    50
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    278
    33
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Overblown and Disappointing"

    The reviews and blurbs led me to expect a Michael Crichton like book, where the author pushes a researched understanding of a serious issue to a gripping and plausible (with a little suspension of disbelief) thriller. The book seemed to keep its promise at the start, but the story degenerates and becomes more bombastic and less plausible with each chapter. It ends with a semi-coherent plot twist suggesting a battle between corporations and a computer system where governments are no longer relevant, plus a long battle scene involving self-repairing killer race robo-motorcycles suitable more for a teenage fantasy than a novel that is supposed to have a kernel of seriousness. It seemed written more to be a high budget B-movie than a thriller for its thought and craft rather than its big explosions. The sudden, irresolute and poorly developed ending cries out, as another reviewer suggested, "$$equel." I started off feeling engaged, but ended feeling manipulated.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Spinnaker 10-13-12
    Spinnaker 10-13-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    43
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    136
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Terrifying, entertaining, suspenseful"
    Would you listen to Daemon again? Why?

    Yes - the first time, suspense keeps you racing through to follow the story. In subsequent reads you notice details & subplots and reflect on the implications of Suarez's revelations.


    What did you like best about this story?

    First it is a well-crafted and entertaining story. But it also explains so much and so well the terrifying plunge the One-Percenters (and especially the .01 Plutocrats) are driving our society through. Richard Clarke (former National Coordinator for Security and Counterterrorism) has been warning of the dangers through 3 presidents' administrations; Billy O'Brien (former Director of Cybersecurity at the White House) has endorsed the legitimacy of Suarez's warnings, woven into a fiction novel.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Thought you were paranoid walking out of the theater after Alien and Mad Max? Just wait and see how scared you are after watching Daemon!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joshua San Pedro, CA, United States 10-11-12
    Joshua San Pedro, CA, United States 10-11-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable Read"

    Interesting twist on AI taking over the world. More believable than other AI style books. Really enjoyed the book. Good characters and good narration add to the already interesting story. Would definitely recommend.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dean Yorba Linda, CA, United States 10-09-12
    Dean Yorba Linda, CA, United States 10-09-12 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "awesome!"
    What made the experience of listening to Daemon the most enjoyable?

    I never thought cyber thriller would be enticing but the author did a great job keeping it believable as a possibility.


    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    yup!
    unpredictable.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    M. Davis MI 10-08-12
    M. Davis MI 10-08-12 Member Since 2014

    BigDawgOnR1

    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    197
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can.t wait for part 3?"
    Would you listen to Daemon again? Why?

    I'd listen again. Will listen again. it's a good direction for a story. From inside the game; Tron/Duke Nukem' hybrid story with great story telling.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ZenDoggy 10-08-12
    ZenDoggy 10-08-12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    92
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Daemon - a brief review"
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    Yes - and I have. There are potions of the storyline that are clever.


    How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

    Move it along a bit.


    What does Jeff Gurner bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    He does a nice job in the narration.


    Was Daemon worth the listening time?

    Yes - at times I questioned it, but overall I think yes.


    Any additional comments?

    Overall, a good book and a very good listen. Thank you Audible!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.